We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobbits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Ness Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invermoriston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Ness Holiday Park
Save
You added Loch Ness Holiday Park to your Saves list
Easter Port Clair, Invermoriston IV62 7YE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hobbits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Fantastic stay, great alternative to camping, warm,clean and comfortable and not expensive. Toilet & showers clean & tidy, staff very friendly and helpful. Great stay , looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for leaving such a great review - sorry it's taken us so long to say so.
Really glad you enjoyed the stay, and we hope you can join us again in the 2014 season after all our winter upgrades and refurbishments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    10
    4
    14
See reviews for
29
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed 2 nights in Hobbit number 10.... although basic the hobbit was a perfect alternative to a tent...... the location was absolutely perfect....a 10 minute drive to Fort Augustus and only a few minutes to Invermorriston where there is a pub, a local store and a craft shop. The views from the Hobbit are absolutely amazing and the hobbits are situated right on the Loch!. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon after making a booking earlier that day.... we were very disappointed to discover that all the on site facilities would be closed for the duration of our stay... when asked for a reason why... we weren't offered any sort of an apology but were told that they simply had no staff!!! why couldn't I have been informed of this over the telephone when I made my booking!? I wasn't even able to purchase a pint of milk to make a coffee..... after a long drive I was disappointed to have to go back to Fort Augustus to buy our dinner....as our original plan was to go and get supplies the following day!! The toilets were ok.... but only 2 of them.....and the showers were warm, powerful and clean!

This has the potential to be a fantastic campsite........ the location and the accommodation were fantastic.....but with all hobbits fully booked and about 15 camper vans parked up I don't understand why they wouldn't open the shop/ bar?

This is the quote that made us choose to stay at the park from the website -
"With recent investment in our on-site facilities, including improvements to the bar and restaurant (breakfast baps available) and a new play park for the children, the addition of the first Hobbits in Scotland provides a delightful holiday experience on the banks of Loch Ness"

I suggest that this be removed from the website as it is clearly untrue and misleads potential guests!

Room Tip: Choose hobbit number 10 so that you don't have people on either side.... as the bar is never ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed by the lack of open facilities on the site during your stay. You are quite correct that this should have been explained when you called to book your accommodation, and for this I apologise.
There were staffing issues throughout the summer of this year, and your advice to remove the paragraph about the extra facilities has been actioned now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and i along with out 2 young daughters stayed at the site in a Motor home for two nights in early may. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and told to pick a spot wherever we liked as they were not busy. I was informed that the Bar and Resteraunt would be closed for both nites of our stay witch was a little dissapointing but we made the most of it and had a BBQ. We parked up next to the loch to make the most of the stunning views. The washing facilities were close by and of a reasonable standard. The toilets were a bit draughty but the showers were warm, spacious and there was plenty of hot water first thing in the morning. Our four year old loved the kids play park on site and was very happy to run around there for an hour after a long road trip. We enjoyed our stay and would use the site again on a return trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
And you would of course be very welcome to drop by and stay with us again too. We've gotten in all new toilet and shower blocks over the winter break so hopefully these won't be half as draughty as the ones you had last year - you'll have to pop back and let us know how improved they are.
Glad your girls had such a great time too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Hobbit number 2 for 4 nights in April. We are keen campers but felt it was too cold for our tent and found the hobbits a good alternative. I had read reviews previous to going so we weren't disappointed to find out the bar was closed. We took our camping stove, bbq and plenty of food and drink. We found the toilet and shower blocks adequate for our needs and there was always plenty of hot water for washing dishes. Push taps can become a little annoying but saves water so hey. The hobbits are set right on the banks of loch ness with spectacular views , we had a great time huddled round or bbq "fire pit" with a glass of sparkly hoping for a glimpse of Nessie. Had lunch on one occasion in the Invermoriston hotel 1.2 miles away, there is also a post office ./ convenience store. In Drumnadrochit which is about a ten minute drive there was a co-op, takeaway, tourist information and gift shops. The hobbits were comfortable for two as the other two sleeping areas could be used as seating areas. We were pre warned about the possibility of tripping the electricity fuse however we had no issues with using the fridge , heater and laptop at the same time. There no blinds for the windows on the door however this wasn't a concern for us as once the lights were out it was pitch black so I doubt anyone looking in could see very much. I only had contact with the male owner who seemed very pleasant . My husband described the female as efficient during check out. Overall we had a great time and would return as prepared and stocked up on supplies as we were on this occasion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for your review of your stay in our Hobbits last year (and sorry it's taken us so long to say so!). Glad you had an enjoyable time. We've actually spent a lot of time over the winter into refurbishment and should have all the sites facilities up and running from March 2014 onwards, so hopefully when you come next you'll not have to be quite as prepared as you were this year - but it'd be great to have you back and get some feedback on the improvements we've made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My partner & I booked one night in a hobbit as a break during a weeks camping. No one at recption on arrival had to phone for someone to come to book us in. Friendly recption. Beatufull views from the Hobbit over the loch and a lovley dry sunny evening. Toilet & showers were clean but water intially freezing until it warmed up. We are both seasoned campers & caravaners and used to the outdoors. We wer woken initally jus tafter 11pm by the very lound sound of something gnawing/scraping & fully bits of wood off the bottom og the hobbit. Due to decking surrounding the hobbit we could not get in to see the cause (obviously a rat as far as we are concerned). It eventually stopped after us being outside with lights on & much banging on the hobbit floor & walls! This recurred several times overnight with the culprit refusing to stop no matter how much we banged on the hobbit or how much noise we made. I did not get back to sleep at all - expecting an unwanted visitor to make its way in at any point given the noise. This was coming from under a boxed in area just inside the doors which had obviously been opened before as only 1 screw remained ( despite holes for 3 & it was not counter sunk as all others were) When we handed the key back to the same man in the morning he applogised only, Another male with him said it would be a PINE MARTIN that they got to get rid of the RAT!!!! I have never heard of pinemartins trying to eat there way into any accomodation but Rats - YES. No offer of a refund or any recompense for our terrible night. We spent the rest of the week camping & had far quiter nights even in a tent. Also mattress covers on all beds were very staIned. I turned the mattress over on the double bed - the other side was cleaner but there was much hair & dust when I tunred it. Home made blind on window but nil to cover doors for privacy. Others can easily walk past the front of the Hobbit & there are many boats on the Loch passing. We ended up covering the doors with carrier bags to afford us some privacy overnight! The site is directly on the loch side with forrests nearby so there will always be some vermin expected. But I do not, ever, expect to be kept awake by vermin trying to join us overnight - never mind the
risk to health from rats urine - Weils disease. Rats are incontinent & constantly urinate everywhere they go! I would not recommend the Hobbits until the problem is properly addressed by the owners. All that was said was he would go & have a look at it after we left - not when we were still there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
I am really sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant time during your stay at the hobbit. The unkempt and dirty condition of the Hobbit internally is not acceptable, and so we apologise for this. We have taken on board your comments regarding the windows at the front of the hobbit and these needing to be covered to offer some privacy. As of this winter we are covering all hobbits main windows with mirrored deflections so that people can see out and benefit from the extra light, but those outside cannot see in.
We have not had any other instances of complaints regarding animals or rats trying to gain access to our hobbits and no rats have been sited on the site at all, and there was evidently no means of the animal gaining access to your sleeping area as the animal remained outside, so I apologise for the disturbance this caused you, but we have not had a reoccurrence of this issue and so assume that this is not an ongoing problem for visitors to the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice location, Warm welcome. I didn't ever see the pub/café open....Shop not very well stocked... Dirty toilets and showers. The hot water only lasted 1 minute and then had to wait 3 minutes to get more.... Won't be in a hurry to go back.

Room Tip: Hobbit was ok, but no curtain on the door. So you went to sleep not knowing if you were being watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the park, and we're sorry to hear that you were unimpressed with the site. Based on your feedback we have removed the website's mentions of the additional facilities of the shop, bar and pool room. These are all being refurbished and fully stocked during our closed months over winter ready for the new season, alongside some brand new shower blocks and toilets which will be installed at the same time. This should hopefully help with the temperature of the water as well.
We hope that on the back of our investments and improvements you might try our park again in 2014 and see the transformation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely View over the loch but showers and toilets disgusting cobwebs in male toilets and water coming up through shower drains. The shower had to be constantly pushed to stay on which was a pest. No curtain or blind on door which should be a must as anyone could be looking in. The hobbit it's self was lovely and clean. We ended up going swimming so we could have a clean shower. Don't think we will be hurrying back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Apologies to you for the unsatisfactory stay you had at Loch Ness Holiday Park earlier this year. The park was left on a number of occasions this year with the wardens and it appears that standards dropped substantially during these periods. The Park now has a new staff of wardens who have all been trained.
We are also investing, on the back of your comments in completely new shower and toilet blocks for the 2014 season, and this should solve the water temperature issues you faced.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know where we could make drastic changes to the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Ness Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Holiday Park

Address: Easter Port Clair, Invermoriston IV62 7YE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Invermoriston
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Holiday Park, located in an enviable and unique position on the banks of Loch Ness, promotes a sense of community comparable to any Scottish village. It boasts a location abundant with beautiful and varied land and lochscape, a rich history and flourishes amidst the range of interests within the encompassing area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Holiday Park Hotel Invermoriston
Loch Ness Holiday Park Invermoriston, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Ness Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.