We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts par excellence, amazing wildlife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craik Na Dav B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Craik Na Dav B & B to your Saves list
Craik Na Dav B & B
Loch Ness, Invermoriston IV63 7YA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT FOR £5 OFF
Oxford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Hosts par excellence, amazing wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The perfect combination of factors in a B&B is rare - but Manda and Linsey get it spot on in every respect. They were fun, friendly, and immensely knowledgeable about the incredible wildlife and the Loch Ness area in general. From our warm welcome (huge pot of tea and homemade shortbread) to our all-too-soon departure the next day, they pulled out all the stops. Breakfast was great, too - little touches such as a choice of homemade jams and marmelade really made it special.
The B&B is set on a hillside with forest behind, so there's a wealth of wildlife, which is what drew us there in the first place.We were enthralled by our viewings of a pine marten a couple of inches [!] away through the lounge window, and the red squirrel's nut-gathering and burying activities the next morning. And of course, we shouldn't forget the flocks of chaffinches, robins, bird that fall foul of the 'profanity' software, etc. etc. - we could have sat there all day, and tore ourselves away with difficulty. Such a pity that we were only there for one night - a longer stay in the future is definitely on the cards!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Catherine
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, and such a kind one ! We really enjoyed meeting you and Mark and I glad you enjoyed your viewing of a Pine Marten, Red Squirrel and the varieties of birds - even the small long tailed finch-like ones lol
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
206
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner, 7 year old daughter and our very big dog baloo stayed here for three nights and from the moment we walked in we were greeted in a warm and welcoming way. The owners couldn't of helped and made us feel any more welcome it was like staying with family. The b & b was immaculate and situated in a idyllic setting with a pub a 1 minute walk away and close to lots of the things to do. There is not one thing we can fault it on great for dog owners and we ll definitely be back to stay with these amazing people.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Sarah
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We really enjoyed meeting you all and Baloo who is a lovely gentle giant and great with Daisy.
Take care of each other
Lindsey & Manda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Chose Craik Na Dav on a spur of the moment, one night away treat. It exceeded all expectation and we were made to feel at home immediately. Greeted warmly with a huge pot of fresh tea and AMAZING home made shortbread (which we polished off on our drive back to reality). Lindsey&Manda were such awesome hostesses and we sat with them in their lounge and chatted away as if we had known them for ages. The room was immaculate and so comfy, the views from the bedroom made us excited for our day of recommended walks, which didn't disappoint. Breakfast was delicious and we took advantage of porridge & a fry up-Walking fodder- which we're still full from. Unfortunately, because they were so great, we will be going back!! Just sad we didn't go for longer. Nothing was to much trouble. If only you were guaranteed this where ever you went!! Brilliantly located with wildlife in abundance & peace & quiet away from the usual hum drum. Thank you so much to you both and not forgetting Fraser, Angus & Skye and the lovely warm welcome we got from them too!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Suz and Dan
What a fab time we had chatting with you and thanks for writing such a lovely reveiw for us. I hope you enjoy making the shortbread yourself and look forward to meeting you again soon.
Take care of each other
Lindsey, Manda & The Westies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Thank you so much for our warm welcoming stay :-) would highly recommend. Rooms very exceptionally clean and tidy and the beds comfy. Breakfast was soooooo good. lots of laughs and waggily tails. Just waking up in the morning was a breath taking experience with expectional views. Made us feel right at home with lots of lovely tea and short bread YUMMY. Amazed that we were aloud to take our two pooches and our two year old little girl. Lots of interesting sights and walks to do. Very peaceful and quiet you must visit Craik Na Dav!!!! Lindsey and Manda are great hosts and looked after us very well and even watched the doggies whilst we went out for some supper. Simply the best BnB i have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Sarah
Thanks so much for writing a review for us and we really enjoyed meeting you all, and your puppy was such a sweetie too.
Take care of each other and we hope to see you all again soon.
Kind regards
Lindsey, Manda & The Westies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My friend and I recently spent four nights at Craik Na Dav. Great B&B with clean comfy rooms, excellent breakfast with lovely hosts and an ideal location for the Great Glen Way. One of the best B&Bs I have stopped in and amazing value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Gareth
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review for us and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your walks around the area.
Take care
Lindsey, Manda & The Westies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

we have just spent 4 nights here and found it very comfartable place to spend a few days.lindsey and manda are graeat hosts and lovely people and albert my dachshund was so well looked after especially after he hurt his paws out walking.they even looked after him 1 night whilst we went out which was much appriciated.lovely peacefull setting but a great place from were to explore loch ness and surrounding area.place is lovely and clean and breakfasts were fab,would recommend staying here to anybody and will visit again when in the area.....o yes it was my birthday while i was there and a lovely cup cake waiting at breakfast with a candle which was a lovely thought...thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Alan
I am so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us and hope Albert's paws are now fully recovered. Was really nice to chat with you and hope you make it back to stay one day soon.
Best wishes
Lindsey, Manda & The Westies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

On arrival, a friendly greeting with delicious homemade fruit cake and shortbread to accompany a pot of tea that was just lush after a day’s walking with my best mate Finley, a gregarious Gordon Setter. After a bite to eat we retired to an immaculate and comfy double room with all mod cons, including a dog-bed. At over 6 foot and topping 15 stone, the en-suite in my particular room was a bit of a tight squeeze for me, but hey, preening and vanity aren’t high on my list of needs and once ablutions are sorted I’m outta there. Apart from that, nothing negative about the place or service. Oh, and five woofs from Finley!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzmanda, Owner at Craik Na Dav B & B, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Nick
Hope you and Finley enjoyed the rest of your walk and that the weather was kind. I am sure that one day you, too, will make your dream of having your own B&B happen.
Best wishes
Lindsey, Manda & The Westies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craik Na Dav B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craik Na Dav B & B

Address: Loch Ness, Invermoriston IV63 7YA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Invermoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you a warm welcome to our home in Invermoriston on the banks of Loch Ness. We are dog friendly, have three fantastic Westies of our own and will welcome well behaved dogs. We have ample off road private parking and facilities for bicycle and equipment storage. With homely surroundings and hearty breakfasts our aim is to help you enjoy a relaxing break and make the most of your stay with us. All the rooms are en-suite with tea / coffee making facilities, Free WiFi, IPOD dock, alarm clock, TV, DVD player with a selection of DVDs available to watch and hairdryer. There is also a "wee dram" of whisky for you to enjoy. We cook your selected breakfast just for you at the time you request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Craik Na Dav B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craik Na Dav B & B Invermoriston, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craik Na Dav B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.