We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darroch View B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Darroch View B&B to your Saves list
Darroch View B&B
Darroch View, Invermoriston IV63 7YA , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Darroch View was a good place to stay.

We had the Twin room which was a just tad too small. But this wouldn't put us off staying here again (in the double room). The room had about 2 foot at the end of the beds to get past each other to the bathroom. Things did get quite cosy. Our cases were parked in the middle of both beds to save space.

The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was clean with a Power shower & towels changed daily. There was Sky TV, free Wi-Fi & Coffee making facilities in the room.

The breakfast was hearty with Hayley making whatever hot breakfast you wanted on request. Fruit, Cereals & Toast were also available.

We ate at the Glenmoriston Arms hotel which was 4 mins along the road.

Overall, we would stay here again as Hayley was such a fresh face, made us both very welcome & the breakfast's set us up for the day.

Room Tip: Request the double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Greeted by Hayley who was lovely and couldnt have been more helpful. Room was super, spacious and very comfortable although the shower was not great. Hayley was happy to phone ahead to book us a table for dinner the next night. Breakfast was excellant and good size portion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here a month ago for a couple of nights (sorry just getting around to review Hayley - but we finally in new house and now have internet connection!). It was our 3rd visit to Invermoriston but our first stay at Darroch View. What a little gem! - B&B and Hayley both! :)
Knowing Invermoriston we found the place no problem but yes, to the uninitiated it is tucked away off the main road but if you keep your eyes peeled you will see the sign. Upon arrival we got a lovely friendly welcome from Hayley. We were the only ones staying there and had the double room upstairs which was plenty roomy with a great little en suite bathroom with shower. It was a bit chilly (in the Great Glen) when we were there so the lovely hot shower went down well. When the heating kicked in the room was fabulously warm.
For the room rate you could ask for no more. The bed was comfy and Hayley's breakfasts set you up for the day. View from the breakfast room is gorgeous and if like us you like a good blether, Hayley's your girl! :)
There's everything you need for a good stay/good night's sleep and I'm sure if you're new to Invermoriston Hayley will set you right on what to see and do. As we are 'old timers' we know the area well and were quite happy to just bimble about enjoying the relaxed pace and the fabulous scenery.
Unfortunately on this occassion the Glenmoriston Arms (hotel) had not yet opened for the season and it was sorely missed by us! We have eaten and drank there previously and have had no complaints, however The Bothy in Fort Augustus and Fiddlers in Drumnadrochit proved to be worthy replacements.
We would defintely stay at the Darroch View again if we were in the area and it was available (looks to be pretty busy this year!) - but hopefully our stay in the Loch Ness area will be more permanent sooner rather than later ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed in April while walking Great Glen Way , can't fault it ,great position .clean , friendly and really good room. Breakfast enough for two great stuff , would stay again if in area. The setting of the BandB was delightful with only a short distance to the local hotel where a pint and a meal didn't go amiss.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you want a nice place to sleep near the mountain, it's the place you have to go! The hosts was awesome, breakfast was good and our lunch for the day was good too. No need to shop for food, free wi-fi, thanks for everything. If you want a good restaurant go to the hotel near the B&B, the meal was really good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Having arrived after walking 18 miles doing "The Great Glen Way", we were greeted by a very welcoming Hayley. Darroch View is a very clean, comfortable and first class B&B. The free wifi and Sky tv was a real bonus but forget that for a minute, the real gem here is Hayley herself. Her willingness to go the extra mile and be as helpful as she can, to make your stay as pleasant as possible is just brilliant!!! The packed lunch was also very nice, and loads of it, you may need an extra ruck sack!! Whatever your in this area for this is the B&B to stay at. Thank you again Hayley.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nong Khai, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Walking the Great Glen Way - Hayley was a very friendly host and made us feel at home the minute we stepped over the door. We had a lovely big room which was spotless and very comfortable. There was only one place in town to eat, the Invermorison Hotel which did great meals and was just a short walk away from the B & B. Would highly recommend Hayleys packed lunches. Scrummy and it kept us going all day - fantastic value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darroch View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darroch View B&B

Address: Darroch View, Invermoriston IV63 7YA , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Invermoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darroch View is situated in a lovely location within easy walking distance of the Great Glen Way. We offer a warm and friendly welcome. All rooms are en-suite. Each room has Satellite T.V., tea/coffee making facilities ,free WIFI and hairdryers. The dining room is situated downstairs, where guests can enjoy great mountain views of whilst enjoying their breakfast. Guests will be welcomed anytime after 3pm or earlier by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Darroch View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darroch View B&B Invermoriston, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darroch View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.