We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stopover whilst walking Great Glen Way "a treat"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lann Dearg Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invermoriston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lann Dearg Studios
Save
You added Lann Dearg Studios to your Saves list
Dalcataig, Invermoriston IV63 7YG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect stopover whilst walking Great Glen Way "a treat"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Excellent accomodation , great value for money, good breakfast and friendly host. Would definetly stay here again and will recommend to family and friends. Location good

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
79
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Cadiere d'Azur, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

That's lovely studios with great accomodations and very pleasant host.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

came here for our honeymoon, stayed in the studio apartment, which was lovely, clean and had the basic facilities required for self catering. located with beautiful scenery, and just a short walk away from loch ness, and there is a waterfall just a short walk away from the apartment.

we have stayed here twice now and pat and val are the perfect hosts, thankyou for making our honeymoon such a special time,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is indeed a hidden gem, found via trip advisor and I stayed there for two nights while walking the Great Glen Way. It is well placed for this purpose as the route passes the driveway. The studio was exceptional and much thought and attention has gone into making the experience a memorable one. As a single traveller I paid a supplement, however it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I did not know such places existed. Everyhting, and I mean it, everythting was thought through and foreseen, from a folder with print-outs of walks with very clear directions, to a torch when going out in the evening to recycling box outside the studio. The kitchen is separate which is great. We stayed in a small studio but the room was large enough with a huge bed to fit both of us with our luggage. Heating is on on demand, the feeling is that you just need to get yourself there and start enjoying yourself straight away, you may as well not bother to plan what to do in advance as there is everhgtung in the brochure that you need, in great detail. Even the appliances manuals, a sign of a very thorough mind but a bit strange ;-). it's more of a hotel than a B&B!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

That title probaly doesn't do Lann Dearg justice. We stayed from 16-18 July, just as a 'getaway' weekend. We were looking to book one of the smaller studios but they were taken. However, for a small additional charge we stayed in the larger studio on the upper floor. At time of writing we paid around £150 including breakfast for both of us over two days.

The studios were developed from a large, former farm outbuilding about seven years ago, but you would think they'd been built only recently, so well appointed and clean are they.

The upper studio is the full length of the conversion, so it's very roomy, with a very comfortable bed, lounge area, TV, wi-fi, DVD, separate kitchen and spacious shower room. Large windows with views to the wooded hillside opposite.

Everything has been thought through methodically and the decor is airy and light. We didn't have good weather, unfortunately, but you could imagine the sun streaming in through the large glass facade to the front.

We paid an additional amount for breakfast on the Saturday and Sunday mornings. The dining room is in the main house where Val and Pat live. Val does a mean cooked breakfast and there's cereal, coffee, toast etc. You can, if you wish, pay extra to use the cooker in the studios, although the rest of the kitchen equipment, including the microwave, is available at no additoonal charge.

Location wise the studios are situated about 5 miles north of Fort Augustus, in Invermoriston. Fairly easy to find although you need to look out for the road they're on as it's off the main road to Invermoriston before the bridge.

All in these studios are well priced, comfortable and in a good location for Fort William, Inverness, Isle of Skye etc. Eilean Donan castle is also close by and very much worth a visit.

If you aren't going to use the studios for self-catering (and perhaps are townies like us) be aware that Fort Augustus and Invermoriston have limited choices in terms of places to eat and tend to stop serving quite early. As a last resort we thought we'd try the chip shop at Fort Augustus at 9pm on the Saturday evening (before the pubs shut) but it was closed.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Perfect accommodation in a peaceful location. The top floor apartment with its fantastic window is much more spacious than we expected. The bathroom is great and the living/bedroom area is decorated to a high standard and very comfortable. We stayed on a self-catering basis for two weeks so we were happy to find a fully equipped kitchen with everything we possibly needed. The place was spotlessly clean, we felt like nobody had ever been there before. The hosts, Val and Pat, are very friendly and helpful but almost invisible if you need your privacy. We can recommend this studio to everyone as a great base for exploring the Highlands.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lann Dearg Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lann Dearg Studios

Address: Dalcataig, Invermoriston IV63 7YG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Invermoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lann Dearg Studios is a purpose built property containing three Studio Apartments, all of which have been updated by the new owners for the 2015 season. Each studio accommodates 2 people in 4 star comfort. Located in the tiny unspoiled village of Invermoriston on the banks of the River Moriston with its old stone footbridge and waterfalls, and a ten minute stroll from the shores of Loch Ness in the Highlands of Scotland. Available either as B&B or self catering. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lann Dearg Studios Invermoriston, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lann Dearg Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.