We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value for money!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodges on Loch Ness

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Foyers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodges on Loch Ness
Save
You added Lodges on Loch Ness to your Saves list
Turns | South Loch Ness Side, Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional value for money!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the lodges for a week at the beginning of December (my second stay this year). The place is amazing, the lodges are out of this world ( I can't believe that some people have complained about a bit of missing exterior paint, jeez!!!). The staff are more than friendly, kind and approachable. The whole place is just very laid back, which in my opinion is how a place like this should be run. I had numerous conversations with Callum ( the owner) and he has always done right by me. In short, great place, amazing views, lovely staff, great relaxing holiday. We will definetly be returning soon!! Thanks to the owners, see you soon.
Danny

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgesfoyers, Owner at Lodges on Loch Ness, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Danny, thank you for your kind review. See you again soon. Kind Regards Callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just back from a trip to the Lodges.

Amazing views over Loch Ness, defiantly the best place in Scotland. You can't beat waking up to amazing views.

Lodges are very well laid out, well stocked with cook wear and towels. These lodges are self catering and once you stock the fridge with food and wine you need not leave the place.

When we arrived the Hot Tub was as the right temp, quick shower, glass of wine and in the tub.

The lodges are lovely and warm. It started to get a bit colder at night and rain, we lit the fire and snuggled up on the couches.

I had the best nights sleep i have every had away from my own bed. The master bed is HUGE. You need to call a Taxi to roll over to the other side. I love a nice comfortable bed and this did not disappoint

Owners are really friendly and were on the end of the phone if we had any problems. Checkin/Checkout was easy and painless.

Will visit again in the near future and will not hesitate to tell my friends

Room Tip: if in a party, put dibs on the master bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

excellant cabin, good location, facilities good, ideal for family and friends, dont be put off by the rule book! it is a bit much with all the extra charges if you make noise etc etc etc....the elec and gas isnt cheap but overall well worth it as its a superb holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked for a long weekend for a family celebration. Firstly the positives. The location is stunning, overlooking the loch. The lodges are spacious and well equipped. However as the weekend wore on and since we have become increasingly less impressed.

Having booked on line no e-mail acknowledgement was recieved confirming the booking until they were contacted to confirm that the booking was in order. Despite promising an e-mail reminder 6 weeks before the balance was due this was not done, we found ourselves reminding them that the balance was due. At the time these seemed relatively minor oversights however as things proceeded they became symptomatic of the way in which this company deals with their customers. Bear in mind that these lodges are marketed as luxury and are expensive, therefore a high level of customer care is paid for and expected.

On arrival the lodge looked good, all was in order. However, a number of issues became apparent. The exterior paintwork was in poor condition with the balcony rail left half painted. In one toilet, the sink plug was not working and the steam facility in the shower was not working. The plug and steam room were verbally reported the next day and was left with we will get someone to look at it, no one appeard. The digi box was not working, we fixed this ourselves. Each item on its own was an inconvenience however they do add up and were not in line with a luxury service.

The spa bath most definitely does not seat six in any degree of comfort, three and it is full.

The main complaint is the fuel bill. The additional payment for fuel is buried in the small print, so read it carefully, Also the way in which this is done is very poor. We noted our electricity readings however no access was possible to the gas meter. The payment was due from our account shortly after leaving. We asked for a statement itemising the fuel bill before any money was taken. This was promised but never arrived although they claim to have e-mailed it, a request to send a copy has had no response. The money was taken without any statement a month after our stay. The biggest suprise was being charged nearly £50 for a weekend of gas and electricity, nearly half of our normal monthly bil at homel.

If you look at other reviews the manner in which the fuel bill is buried in the small print, the size of the bill and the way it is taken have been raised by other customers. It is obvious they are not listening to their customers issues.

We will not be returning as the attitude of the company is poor and not a luxury service. Not worth the luxury price tag.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgesfoyers, Owner at Lodges on Loch Ness, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Alma5051, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that we missed the plug issue and that the steam room was not working. Unfortunately we are no differant to any one else when it comes to awaiting replacments for things and in this case we were awaiting a part for the steam generator. I understand your disappointment at this, the steam room is now fully operational.
However with regards to your futher coments I have to express dissapointment to the content. Firstly you are giving the impression the the spa bath is for 6 people. The spa bath is a double ended bath located off the master bedroom designed to 2 people should you wish. The HOT TUB to give it it's correct discription is designed for 6 people and will seat 6 people quite comfortably so I think it's a little unhelpful to make comments as you have that are clearly not true.
Secondly we make it quite clear in our T&Cs that utility usage will be charged and how it will be charged. To book online as you did in this occation you must tick that you have read and agreed this information. The T&Cs will if printed cover one side of a sheet of A4 paper, and there is no small print nor is anything hidden in small print. We charge the gas and electric at cost price and it is simply a case of you pay for what you use.
If any one who has read this review has any questions regards the content please feel free to contact me personally via email on info@lodgesonlochness or by telephone on 01463 239961

Kind Regards
Callum Munro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is our fourth time staying at Lodges on Loch Ness! Certainly wont be our last! We arrived quite late on the Friday night to a lovely warm lodge. Woke in the morning to great weather and fantastic views from the hot tub! As we had dogs with us we took them on a great forest walk at Inverfarigaig which took about 2 hours. Also headed down to Landmark near Aviemore which is great fun for kids of all ages!! Tried to book for New Year but unfortunately "fully booked". Definitely be back in the summer for a week or two!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon overall we enjoyed our stay the surroundings are stunning. the lodges are spacious and equipped with everything you might need the bed was extremely comfortable and enjoyed the jacuzzi bath and hot tub. The negatives to the lodges are the decor is slightly dated and needed some general repairs for example the steam room was not working and we hadn't been informed of this the owners were aware but hadn't bothered to address this prior to our visit towel rail in bathroom had come off wall and not replaced, handle on bedroom drawer also broken tv very old and poor sound quality, hottub instructions not very clear. These may only be minor things but the lack of care to address these problems now makes me think in a few years time the lodges will become run down.
regards surrounding amenities there is very poor choice of places to eat out.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked a hen weekend at lodges on loch ness and the couple were great and helping us plan our activities and taxis into Inverness before we arrived.

Unfortunately our lodges were double booked and when we were unpacking a family were not that they weren't in our lodge and it was awkward which was made even worse when we could not get hold of the owners.

The owners came down to apologise and noticed that we had decorated the lodge (on the wood part) with hen banners and photographers. They agreed this was ok but asked if we would not put any blue tac on the wallpaper which we agreed.

Had a lovely night in the hot tub and rooms were great. We weren't given enough towels or the correct linen for the spare sofa bed and this was replaced the next day.

The starter pack was very basic, we were left with one dishwasher tablet, an empty washing up liquid and one toilet roll. Certainly not enough to keep 8 girls going for 3 days.

When we left we received a phone call that we had not left the lodge in a respectable state. We had left dishes etc but there was no cleaning utensils to clean up with. Our rubbish bin was never emptied once even though it is said to be done every day.

The owners then took money out of our account for the extra cleaners it took to clean the lodge oh and their taxi fares from Inverness which came to the grand total of £250.00. When we challenged this they admitted that they took too much money out and refunded £12.00 back into our account. We highlighted this with our bank as an authorized payment. They lied and said that we were aware that £250 was the deposit for the lodge for damages which they assess after the stay. Between 8 of us we thought it would just be easier to pay it although we did not spill or break anything in the lodge, a few pots and pans to clear up and some glasses to put through the dishwasher does not equate to £237.00. Very convenient that the taxi fares happened to come to that price. They must be very nice employers who pay for their staff to get to work; mine certainly don't.

We asked for receipts and invoices but they said they did not keep a record.

Would never reccommend this place to anyone, which is a shame as it is such a lovely lodge and if it wasn't for the terrible after service we would have all gone back with our partners and children.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgesfoyers, Owner at Lodges on Loch Ness, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
As owner I would like to make clear some points regarding this review.

(1) We did not "double book" the lodge. There was a misunderstanding with some other guests who managed to access the wrong lodge on arrival thus when "DONS123" arrived found someone at the lodge. This matter was quickly sorted and they were able to have their break as normal, "double booked" would mean we had no accommodation at all for them..

(2) Banners & photographs.. If any one would like me to email the pictures we took after the departure of "DONS123" please feel free to contact me direct. I will be happy to let you see just what kind of abuse of somebody's property they felt was ok to carry out in the name of fun. Also the marks on the wood and WALL the blu tac left behind.

(3) Self catering is exactly what it says. Whilst we only offer limited soaps etc, do we ensure that there are plenty toilet rolls and there is always the correct amount of linen. We do offer a Tesco pack away service, this is to cater for the things you would normally take with you..

On the morning of departure "DONS123" was called by myself and I explained that the lodge state was far below the expected departure standard, and if she was still in the area she might like to come back and we could go over my concerns and points. It was then made apparent to me she had in fact left her "friends" to clean up as she had to have her father come and collect her due to family issues.. As per T&C's the main renter is the person who is responsible for the lodge. We would as I am sure anyone will agree assume that the main renter should ensure that the property is kept and left in a reasonable standard and not left to a 3rd party to make good.

We do not, and would never take funds without clients knowing. DONS123 was told that there would be charges applied due to us having to get extra staff in that day to deal with the mess and that at the time was fine by her. It was only after she had complained to her bank that we then knew she did not agree with the charges made. The banks findings clearly fell in our favour as we have had no request back from her bank for the funds following their request for the details of the charge and the reason for it.

I hope reasonable guests can see this complaint for what it is. Nothing more than someone who has done wrong and is now having to deal with consequences of their actions, and as part felt it fair to not only abuse our property but then come here to try and give us a bad name. As said by DONS123 we did everything to be of help with taxi's etc as we would for any guest. It's disappointing when people act like this, in an attempt to put people off.

Please feel free to contact me on 01463 239961 or via email on info@lodgesonlochness.com should you have any concerns regards this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodges on Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodges on Loch Ness

Address: Turns | South Loch Ness Side, Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Foyers
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lodges On Loch Ness Hotel Inverness
Lodges On Loch Ness Foyers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodges on Loch Ness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.