We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodges but terribly run with unauthorised payments.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lodges on Loch Ness

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Foyers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodges on Loch Ness
Save
You added Lodges on Loch Ness to your Saves list
Turns | South Loch Ness Side, Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodges but terribly run with unauthorised payments.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked a hen weekend at lodges on loch ness and the couple were great and helping us plan our activities and taxis into Inverness before we arrived.

Unfortunately our lodges were double booked and when we were unpacking a family were not that they weren't in our lodge and it was awkward which was made even worse when we could not get hold of the owners.

The owners came down to apologise and noticed that we had decorated the lodge (on the wood part) with hen banners and photographers. They agreed this was ok but asked if we would not put any blue tac on the wallpaper which we agreed.

Had a lovely night in the hot tub and rooms were great. We weren't given enough towels or the correct linen for the spare sofa bed and this was replaced the next day.

The starter pack was very basic, we were left with one dishwasher tablet, an empty washing up liquid and one toilet roll. Certainly not enough to keep 8 girls going for 3 days.

When we left we received a phone call that we had not left the lodge in a respectable state. We had left dishes etc but there was no cleaning utensils to clean up with. Our rubbish bin was never emptied once even though it is said to be done every day.

The owners then took money out of our account for the extra cleaners it took to clean the lodge oh and their taxi fares from Inverness which came to the grand total of £250.00. When we challenged this they admitted that they took too much money out and refunded £12.00 back into our account. We highlighted this with our bank as an authorized payment. They lied and said that we were aware that £250 was the deposit for the lodge for damages which they assess after the stay. Between 8 of us we thought it would just be easier to pay it although we did not spill or break anything in the lodge, a few pots and pans to clear up and some glasses to put through the dishwasher does not equate to £237.00. Very convenient that the taxi fares happened to come to that price. They must be very nice employers who pay for their staff to get to work; mine certainly don't.

We asked for receipts and invoices but they said they did not keep a record.

Would never reccommend this place to anyone, which is a shame as it is such a lovely lodge and if it wasn't for the terrible after service we would have all gone back with our partners and children.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgesfoyers, Owner at Lodges on Loch Ness, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
As owner I would like to make clear some points regarding this review.

(1) We did not "double book" the lodge. There was a misunderstanding with some other guests who managed to access the wrong lodge on arrival thus when "DONS123" arrived found someone at the lodge. This matter was quickly sorted and they were able to have their break as normal, "double booked" would mean we had no accommodation at all for them..

(2) Banners & photographs.. If any one would like me to email the pictures we took after the departure of "DONS123" please feel free to contact me direct. I will be happy to let you see just what kind of abuse of somebody's property they felt was ok to carry out in the name of fun. Also the marks on the wood and WALL the blu tac left behind.

(3) Self catering is exactly what it says. Whilst we only offer limited soaps etc, do we ensure that there are plenty toilet rolls and there is always the correct amount of linen. We do offer a Tesco pack away service, this is to cater for the things you would normally take with you..

On the morning of departure "DONS123" was called by myself and I explained that the lodge state was far below the expected departure standard, and if she was still in the area she might like to come back and we could go over my concerns and points. It was then made apparent to me she had in fact left her "friends" to clean up as she had to have her father come and collect her due to family issues.. As per T&C's the main renter is the person who is responsible for the lodge. We would as I am sure anyone will agree assume that the main renter should ensure that the property is kept and left in a reasonable standard and not left to a 3rd party to make good.

We do not, and would never take funds without clients knowing. DONS123 was told that there would be charges applied due to us having to get extra staff in that day to deal with the mess and that at the time was fine by her. It was only after she had complained to her bank that we then knew she did not agree with the charges made. The banks findings clearly fell in our favour as we have had no request back from her bank for the funds following their request for the details of the charge and the reason for it.

I hope reasonable guests can see this complaint for what it is. Nothing more than someone who has done wrong and is now having to deal with consequences of their actions, and as part felt it fair to not only abuse our property but then come here to try and give us a bad name. As said by DONS123 we did everything to be of help with taxi's etc as we would for any guest. It's disappointing when people act like this, in an attempt to put people off.

Please feel free to contact me on 01463 239961 or via email on info@lodgesonlochness.com should you have any concerns regards this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in lodge number 13 for 2 weeks in May and enjoyed every minute of our stay, though the weather was not as it could/should have been in May. It was rather cool, felt more like January really and so the quality of the accomodation was very much appreciated. The lodge was very clean, very comfortable and had everything and anything that you might want or need and then some. The first 2 days we didn't use the jacuzzi outside because we felt that the outside tempature wouldn't allow this, however, when Kate convinced me that I should really give it a try I was brave and jumped in and yes, she was right, it was really just 2 steps to get in and it was wonderful. After that first experience, I used the jacuzzi every single day, weather or no and loved it. The views onto Loch Ness are stunning and although we did have neighbours most of the duration of our stay, it still was very quiet and relaxing. We do travel regularly and generally do not tend to go back to places that we have seen, as there are so many other places yet to be discovered. This was the first time in Scotland for either of us, but even after 2 weeks of heavy sightseeing, we still didn't manage to see all we wanted to see, so we have already decided that we have to go back again and I would certainly stay in the same accomodation, it would be impossible to find anything better than this I'm sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Recently returned from a weekend at Lodges on Loch Ness where 8 of us stayed for a hen weeekend but dont let that put you off. It is not a rowdy resort - quite the opposite.

The lodges are extremely well equiped with our one having a large outside bbq and a hot tub. The bathrooms were clean, large and the showers were great. Towels were also provided.

The lodges are situated about 15-20mins outside Inverness but local taxis will pick you up and take you into Inverness (around £35-£40). Inverness has some great live music venues and good restaurants so would recommend a trip into Inverness at some point,

The views from the lodges are great. We had an unrestricted view right over the loch and had the weather been a bit better it would have been perfect.

The hot tub is on the decking which means that you can sit, enjoy a glass of wine and look for Nessie. Large enough for about 6 comfottably or 8 if you are good friends :o)

Would recommend these lodges to anyone looking for a somewhere that feels like the middle of nowhere but if actually very close to a large town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

These lodges are as they look on their website - luxury and well looked after. Very clean, lots of room, 3 double bedrooms, 3 ensuites, one with jacuzzi & shower and one with steam shower. The hot-tub is well maintained and the view is fantastic.

We really enjoyed our stay and it was cold and snowing at the time, the summer would be even better!

You would have to keep an eye on small children as it is a long drop over the decking although the fencing is safe around it. The lodges are located on quite a steep hill, but not a problem if you have your own car.

The views are fantastic, good nessie spotting location!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have just ended a two week stay in Fairview Lodge, the only non timber Lodge on the park.
Fairview sits away from the other lodges in its own private space on the hillside, it has ample parking & level access but most importantly it has wonderful views of Loch Ness & the mountains beyond. The hot tub, outdoor seating area, 2 of the 3 bedrooms & the lounge, dining room & conservatory all face the Loch & allow you to watch the weather change throughout the day - the most dramatic of sights - could easily kill a fortnight weather watching alone!!
The Lodge itself is well furnished with lots of living space, the downstairs comprises a large kitchen / dining area, a separate Dining Room, Lounge, Sun Room, WC & Utility Room. Upstairs are three large bedrooms all with En-Suite Bathrooms. There are plenty of comfortable sofas to relax on & TV / DVD players in all the main rooms.
The kitchen is fitted to a high standard with all the usual appliances, dishwasher, washing machine & tumble dryer.
The house is heated with underfloor heating which is great on some of the colder mornings.
The Lodge makes a great base for exploring the rest of the highlands, we made trips to the Isle of Skye as well as Cromarty, Inverness, Edinburgh & the Cairngorms. The closest pub (20 mins away) the Dores Inn serves wonderful food right on the Loch shore (again - superb view!). Fort Augustus - 20 mins the opposite way - is a really busy little town at the end of the Loch - very friendly.
This really is a stunning location & even though we have had rain, sunshine & snow we have made use of all the facilities, including the BBQ & hot tub!
We have all had a great time & would definitely recommend Fairview Lodge to others - the owners made clear nothing was too much trouble and gave us an extremely friendly welcome - see you soon!!
PS - you MUST also have breakfast at the Foyers Waterfall cafe (5 mins up the hill via lovely wooded paths). There is a shop next door then you can literally pop across the road to the Foyers Falls - famous for a reason.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were married on 1st October and my husband had booked lodges on loch ness as a surprise for the first week of our honeymoon.
What can I say, we had an amazing week, the location was stunning and the lodge was fantastic, very clean, spacious, lovely and warm and romantic.
We made full use of the hot tub outside during our stay and just enjoyed the peaceful location of the lodge. There are some nearby waterfalls which are worth the walk.
I would love to return and certainly hope to in the near future.
We shopped on the way to Loch Ness and mainly cooked on the BBQ all week as the weather was lovely. We did eat out once at the nearby Dores Inn which was also very nice.
We would like to thank the people that manage the lodges for looking after them so well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had booked a lodge for 4 nights over the new year and I have to say it was the best experience ever. Although we didnt see the owner when we arrived we managed to have short friendly chats the following days when we saw them.

When we first got into the lodge it was stunning, well decorated and very clean, there was even an xmas tree put up for the festive period (a nice touch). There were 2 bedrooms both with en suites and the size of the downstairs bathroom was unbelieveable. There is also a log effect gas fire which is nice and heats up the lodge very quickly, particularly makes the mezzanine seating area toasty!

The views from the lodges I believe are the best on this side of the loch, absolutely amazing. The hot tub outside was definately the best part of the stay, not even the rain or snow stopped us from jumping in. The area also offers some nice walks around foyers, there is the waterfalls at foyers which is nice to view and a good walk to take in the views.
The waterfall cafe a few minutes walk away from the lodges was also a nice place to relax after our walks with nice friendly staff and quick service.

The only gripe I would have is the charge for gas and electricity which we didnt realise before we got there. In all fairness we understood the charging for it and the rate they set is reasonable, it all falls down to whether you leave everything on all the time or not.

Overall I would say it is definately worth the money, friendly staff, friendly community and stunning views... unfortunately we did not see Nessie this time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodges on Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodges on Loch Ness

Address: Turns | South Loch Ness Side, Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Foyers
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lodges On Loch Ness Hotel Inverness
Lodges On Loch Ness Foyers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodges on Loch Ness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.