We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best of falls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Falls of Foyers

The Falls of Foyers
Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Foyers
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not the best of falls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Bit disappointed with the falls, they were not as long as I expected. After seeing the many wonderful falls on the Isle of Skye I was expecting something of equal proportions,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    96
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nestled amongst greenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

They are located close to Inverness and we saw them during the Rabbie's highlands tour. There is a short trail (500 mts) from the road which leads to the falls. There are two view points to enjoy the falls and you get a better view from the lower view point. The falls may not be huge but the natural beauty surrounding them make them a must visit site.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The drive from Fort Augustus to Foyers had amazing scenery. Once at Foyers there is a short walk to the falls. Although it was raining when we went, we still enjoyed seeing the falls. It was a lovely walk. On our return we used the local shop to buy postcards and souvenirs. There is also a cafe and public toilets.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Fairly tidy steps most of the way, and the falls, when you get there. are spectacular. Just a tip - when you reach the first viewpoint, don't bother to go down any further as it isn't much different at the second viewpoint!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“well worth a trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

on our way home we took the advice of a friend to use the road to the south of loch ness. not as quick as the road to the north but far more beautiful. we came across the falls not knowing they were there and just decided to try them. you drop down the valley via some wooded steps. about 10-15 mins later you're at the top of the falls. travel a few more minutes more and you're at the base of the falls. excellent views and more trails to try. sadly we didn't have the time. i'm sure we'll give it a more comprehensive look next time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Falls of Foyers also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 
Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Falls of Foyers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falls of Foyers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.