We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondrous setting and ambience; terrific hosts, meals and, yes, whisky!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foyers Bay Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Foyers Bay Country House to your Saves list
Foyers Bay Country House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Foyers IV2 6YB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Foyers B&B and Inns
Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wondrous setting and ambience; terrific hosts, meals and, yes, whisky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

I fear that Foyers Bay House may have permanently spoiled us for B&B stays. Few places and hosts could measure up to such delightful accommodations.
My adult son and I are desert rats from the dry US Southwest, so the lush greens of the Scottish Highlands, along with mists, fogs, drizzles -- and even soaking downpours -- were more of a treat than an inconvenience. We had trepidations about traveling in mid-October, and indeed some of the weather before and after our stay would have been a real spoiler. But the dates we were in Scotland, and especially three days and two nights overlooking Loch Ness, were enchanting.
Never have I seen such vistas of autumn leaves, forests carpeted by browned-off ferns, plump sheep grazing on emerald meadows, a roaring waterfall, and in the distance a placcid lake that surely would soothe even the most prehistoric monster. Yet I saw it all within a short walk from Foyers Bay House -- and amazingly there were vantage points where it could be seen all at once.
We had the luxury of being the only guests at the homey B&B, so we enjoyed the best room (with balcony) and more than a normal share of attention from owners David and Kate. Their dinners were great -- most restorative after long days of traipsing around and sightseeing.
While I'm far from a connoisseur of spirituous beverages, I promised myself that I wouldn't leave Scotland without sampling a few (or more) of the country's best brands. It turns out that I'd come to the perfect place. David is super-knowledgeable about the whisky (don't spell it with an "e" unless it contains corn squeezin's, like bourbon), his bar is well stocked, and there is no better classroom for sampling than the parlour, where guests are warmed by a fireplace's gentle flames and, best, sips of pure amber.
Maybe our stay was magical and couldn't be repeated, but we'd sure like to try. Meanwhile, may YOUR visit be just as extraordinary.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    9
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
4
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Booked special offer for a night. David and Kate made us most welcome. Evening 3course meal was lovely -home cooking. Room was great -with balcony, especially when we woke up in morning and saw right down the loch -18 miles. We were only ones there and had a good natter with them with some drinks. All in all a lovely relaxing break in great surroundings and company, and a wee walk to the falls after breakfast capped it off.
Would definately recommend

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

A little hard to find ,the signage tends to blend in too much with the surroundings. But what a suprise when we found it, Set in its own landscaped grounds very well maintained with a fantasic view of the Loch. The hosts David and Kate were very pleasant without being intrusive and very helpful and good company and extended a warm welcome thoughout our stay. The house itself was very homely and welcoming rooms were very clean with excellent facilities. The food which David cooks himself was outstanding and seemed to get better every meal time all in all you get what you pay for and you could not ask for anything more from a hotel I would give 4 star for accomadation with 5 star food. thank very much for wonderful stay and will definatley return . Sean & Christine Northumberland

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Nice location in the East Loch Ness costal route, that's almost dishabited... but overview is amazing, specially going forward to Fort Augustus. Room was clean and the Scottish beaf fillet at their restaurant just delicious !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helens
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

My partner and I have stayed in hotels all around the country and this is by far the best one.
The house is clean and well presented and the views are amazing!

Kate and David are the perfect hosts- ensuring your needs are met at all times- we felt so relaxed and comfortable!

The room we stayed in was lovely- with a great view of the beautiful Loch Ness. The bathroom was brand new and sparkling clean.

Words can't describe how amazing this gorgeous house is... we will definatly be going back- very soon!

Thank you Kate and David- we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

After a long drive from the north of Scotland, we followed the clear directions to Foyers Bay House. We were warmly greeted, shown to our quite pleasant rooms and given a wonderful meal. The host is quite knowledgeable about Scotch whiskeys and shared this with us during the meal. A hike on the nearby trail to the falls in the summer twilight and then watching the light disappear from the beautiful gardens and Loch Ness from our bedroom window finished the day. I found the grounds, accomodations and food to exceed my expectations. The hosts could not have been more gracious. Quite a nice experience before we plunged into Glasgow the next day. If you are going to Loch Ness, stay here for cozy stay.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

My two boys and I were on holiday to Ireland, Scotland, and England. When we got to Loch Ness, we didn't have any reservations anywhere, and were about to give up and sleep in our car. It was late in the evening, and we were tired and hungry. We happened upon Foyers House. The owner was out walking her dog when we stopped and asked for a room. She was so gracious and put us up in one of the cabins that wasn't even ready for use. Well, that's what she said anyway. We found the cabin to be very ready. It was a 3 bedroom w/bath and kitchen and a living room on a hill out back overlooking the Loch. We absolutely loved it!
Even though the kitchen was closed, she made my boys some sandwiches and provided me with a much needed drink!
We will never forget the hospitality that they accorded to 3 weary travelers! We will definitely be staying there again, but next time, we'll make reservations! I can't say thank you enough.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foyers Bay Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyers Bay Country House

Address: Foyers IV2 6YB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Foyers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyers Bay Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Foyers Bay Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyers Bay Country House Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foyers Bay Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.