We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely New Years Eve Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foyers Bay Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Foyers Bay Country House to your Saves list
Foyers Bay Country House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Foyers IV2 6YB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Foyers B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely New Years Eve Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We did not stay here but went for a set 4 course dinner on New Year's Eve. We had read reviews about the male owner being rude , well I find that hard to believe. We got a very warm welcome from both the hosts, they tendered to our every need. The male host is also the chef and his food was lovely, my husband had steak and said it was cooked perfectly. I had a veggie dish and it was lovely,such a large portion I could not finish it all. The chocolate pudding was to die for. Very tasty indeed.

We love the setting of this place , if we are in area again we said we would come and stay here.

Highly recommend for some lovely very reasonably priced food.

We much prefer small cosy well run hotels like this that give you the personal touch to large chain hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    9
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
4
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.

The location was perfect and beautiful, we had the loch view room. There are some comments about the road condition. Some part of the road is a single track road and the last few hundreds of the road which goes to the hotel is a bit muddy. But I think you should expect this as you are going to a country house! This was not a big deal for me.

The mattress of the bed was terrible. We had back pain every morning. This is something I think the owner should consider it as I found in some other comments complaining about the bed.

The area was quiet, although you can hear people talking and laughing when they are sitting in the lobby easily! So if you want to sleep soon at night, that's a bit of a problem.

The food was very good. The steak was perfect.

You can walk to the Foyers Fall from the hotel easily which is highly recommended. It is a very beautiful and spectacular landscape when you reach to the waterfall.

If you are using Satnav, the post code doesn't guide you to the hotel exactly. The junction which goes to the hotel is about 50m North of the Foyers Medical Centre.

I would have rated the hotel very good if the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August. This is a lovely hotel in a lovely spot on the quite side of loch ness. We were asked to order our food at around 5pm which we did willingly. The food is cooked alongside you in the conservatory. The food was delicious and the owners and lovely and friendly. Breakfast was also lovely and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived (very late 21.30) nothing was too much trouble, even kindly serving us a very generous cheese platter with excellent, very reasonably priced red wine. David was very helpful with suggestions of how to spend our time there and even lent us map books. What was an excellent surprise too was the food, best scallops I have tasted in years, just cooked to perfection, also highly recommend the chicken stuffed with haggis, just delicious. Some people have commented about having to order dinner in advance, well I hardly call an hour that much in advance! The hotel was full the night we dined there and having time to prepare everyone's orders made total sense to me, maybe some people are used to eating processed food and don't appreciate meals prepared from scratch take time! Location was also so peaceful with lovely views of the Loch and so much better than staying in Fort Augustus, which is definitely worth a visit, but just much more bustle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I spent a night in Foyers Bay House recently, and have to say, it was a perfect stay. Wonderful host! Kate was very friendly and was always ensuring we were very comfortable and happy. David was a joy to talk to and we learnt a lot about whisky from him. The room (room 1) was lovely, comfy bed, great shower, shared balcony overlooking the loch!
We had dinner in the conservatory, where the setting was perfect and the food was great!
All in all a wonderful night away!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This has a wonderful location with fine views of Loch Ness from the dining room and bedrooms. It is a well run hotel with all the usual small hotel amenities. Room had access to a balcony area on the first floor. Dining was a particularly good experience in a friendly atmosphere, great views and good food both in the morning and evening.
There is much to do in the surrounding area and easy access to Inverness. We would return at any time of the year and recommend this small hotel for comfort and food to all our friends.

Room Tip: Consider the superior rooms as ours was perfect in amenities and size. Ask the owners for driving t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a rather strange experience and I'm still not quite sure what to make of it. Enthusiastic but rather stressed welcome by the female owner, completely ignored by the male owner. Room was OK, bed OK, clean. Breakfast was good and well cooked, dinner was average and we were asked to order in advance as it can get 'very busy' (the hotel takes 16 guests and there were never that many in the restaurant for dinner!!). We stayed for 2 nights and had dinner there both nights purely due to the remote location up a narrow gravel track which we didn't fancy negotiating after dark.There was an almost permanent sense of panic but there was clearly nothing to panic about. The owners have apparently been there for over 6 years so it is reasonable to conclude that they should have this cosy little businesss down to a fine art - regrettably not! Given the amazing views from the restaurant, in professional hands this place could be a gold mine. We were unimpressed by the male owner who (remembering that he totally ignored us on arrival and couldn't be bothered to say goodbye either) saw fit to interupt our conversation with some other guests on 2 consecutive evenings and proceed to dominate the conversation through what was almost a monologue on both occasions. There was, I'm afraid, a sense of it all being a bit false and unnatural.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foyers Bay Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyers Bay Country House

Address: Foyers IV2 6YB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Foyers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyers Bay Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Foyers Bay Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyers Bay Country House Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foyers Bay Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.