We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking the Great Glen Way with a dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bank House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bank House B&B
Save
You added Bank House B&B to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Station Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4AY , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Walking the Great Glen Way with a dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We received a warm welcome and were shown to a beautiful spacious room on the 1st floor. There was even a bed provided for the dog. Our hosts provided fresh coffee and lovely homemade cake.Breakfast was excellent. Hosts were very friendly and chatty. B&B has recently been sold so hope the new owners can keep up the very high standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Highly recommended. We spent one night at this B&B on our way to Skye. Definitely would spend more time there if we could! Found it by chance. It was a very pleasant surprise! Really feels like home. Sheila and Andy are extremely friendly and nice hosts. They gave us a very warm welcome. Sheila advised us about best places for lunch and this was so useful as we didn't know anything in that place. The B&B itself is very tidy and nicely decorated, very pleasant place. The breakfast was great and nourishing, and the chocolate cake was awesome! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We arived here with our newborn baby girl from glasgow for a well deserved break. for augustus itself is a gobsmacking views and lots to do.

The bank house bnb could easily have been a 5 star hotel. taking to a beautifull room where awaited us was incredible chocolate cake with tea and coffee. a very clean fresh king size bed ( we could just have jumped in and went too sleep. the next day at breakfast there was choice than anyone could ever want. i had porridge with fresh local fruit and yogurt. the staff here cant remember the names, are extremely pleasent and welcoming. all three of them are a credit too thereselfs.

And the view of loch ness from our room in the morning... well i dont know any words too descrbe that. that is something you have too see for yourself.

We will be back this year and looking forward too it. Niamh Davie & Laura

Room Tip: All rooms have there own unique view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Sheila and Andy's B&B is fantastic. They are gracious hosts, fascinating to talk with, great food, very comfortable rooms. It was wonderful to walk into this lovely town, along the canal and the south end of Loch Ness, and find our B&B so close to everything. The next morning we had a short day of walking on the Great Glen Way. Our hosts suggested we spend the morning in Fort Augustus and take a boat ride on Loch Ness. This worked out perfectly, and we were happy to learn more about Loch Ness. Thank you so much.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great b&b with clean comfy rooms, excellent breakfast with a good choice and lovely hosts.An ideal location for c2c great glen way etc. Must not forget Rachels first class cakes upon arrival with a fresh cup of tea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Easy-to-find location where we had a warm welcome from Sheila, with tea and homemade cake. Loved that we came home to this every day of our stay! Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated rooms (we had the Turret Room, a bit of a deluxe room which Sheila charged us no extra for, our friend had Dunvegan). The breakfast was first class every day, and of a standard the Hilton cannot match for quality nor for variety. Local touring advice from Dave at breakfast time was very welcome and greatly improved our enjoyment of the area. Heartily recommend staying here. Amazing value, too - we felt Sheila could and should charge considerably more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Lovely B&B, the rooms were beautiful-we had a great view of the canal in the turret room. A minute away from local amenities-very central location. The owners were so lovely, gave us good advice about the area and cooked us a lovely breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bank House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House B&B

Address: Station Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4AY , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently taken over Bank House and are in the process of making some changes. We offer a warm welcome in Fort Augustus with good home cooking, drying facilities and spacious ensuite rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bank House B&B Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.