We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Loving it at the Lovat"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lovat, Loch Ness

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Lovat, Loch Ness to your Saves list
The Lovat, Loch Ness
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Loving it at the Lovat"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Lovat Arms. This was our second time at the hotel and was as good if not better than the first experience.
Everything is to an extremely high standard and deserves more stars / rosettes than it appears to have. The location is excellent for a short break of the scottish islands and Islands. During our stay we also visited Skye- a must for anybody. We stopped for lunch at The Three Chimneys, which was lovely. The food served in the Lovat Arms was arguably as high a standard.
Highly recommend this hotel and charming rooms.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    123
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
104
414
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We had 1 night at this hotel and the location is great. Good spot for a break.

We did however awake to being covered in bites from something in the bed. The duty manager did not seem sympathetic and tried to insinuate that it was something we had done - "did you open the window" and "the sheets were clean yesterday". A genuine apology was all that was required.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We stayed at The Lovat for 3 nights and we wish we had been able to stay longer. From the moment we walked through the doors, the warm welcoming atmosphere of the hotel enveloped us and we immediately relaxed after our long drive. We had a lovely spacious room with beautiful views over Fort Augustus and the loch and it was clear that careful thought had been given to what would make their guests feel at home. We ate in the brasserie each night of our stay and the food was excellent. We never bored of the menu and, having stayed on a DBB basis, it was outstanding value. A particular bonus for us was how accommodating they were of our 11 month old son. It was the first time we have been away on holiday as a family and they made it so easy for us. They ensured his highchair was in place at the table before we came down for breakfast and even provided us with baby cutlery and a cup for him. They were happy to cook special meals for him and they were delicious (I did have to check them for "quality control"!) with there even being a sprig of parsley on his dinner! The staff were all incredibly friendly and professional and Caroline is doing a fantastic job of running this beautiful hotel. I cannot fault anything about the hotel and we are already planning our return visit, hopefully later this year!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We stayed in the modern 'wing' of the hotel. The double bedroom had an ensuite shower wet room which was amazing. Plenty of hot water and space to shower!
The hotel had an eco theme to it. Loads of eco conscious information, such as the composting and the bird table with lots of happy (and fat) birds surrounding it.
Breakfast in the morning was traditional Scottish with an emphasis on using local produce.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
Overall an excellent relaxing stay. We would definitely come again and recommend the Lovat Arms to others.
amenities

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

This is now our second stay here and it is just simply superb. I have never stayed in a hotel where every aspect is of an exceptional quality. We were always made to feel welcome and the hotel has a warm and friendly atmosphere. The facilities provided are of a good quality, the food is consistently of a very high standard and the rooms are pleasantly furnished and comfortable. I do actually understand their concept and what they are trying to achieve and that feeling is fed throughout the entire hotel. Its simply wonderful.

We have just returned having spent 4 nights here and we have a brilliant time. We ate in the Bistro on 3 of these nights and on each occasion we received wonderful food (huge compliments to the chef), friendly service and drank wonderful wines. We would never normally relax in public areas but we sat by the fire in the lounge most nights after dinner and relaxed. I usually find that most hotels dont ever get everything right, but these guys are not far off it. If you want to stay and experience the whole package - comfortable surroundings, warm friendly welcome, efficiency, scrumpious food then this is the only place stay. Their attitude is so right and they all work hard to get it spot on.
We hope to either come back later this year or next but we will definately book again. Finally I can thoroughly recommend the packed lunches!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

I use a wheelchair and travel independently. The Lovat Arms is one of the best places I have stayed at in terms of its accessibility and additionally the staff are very friendly,professional and attentive. Fort William is an excellent touring base and I would recommend the Lovat Arms to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosyth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

My husband and I had a lovely weekend break in Fort Augustus last weekend. (We even went up to Loch Ness to meet Nessie!) As I am currently preganant, we just wanted a little bit of relaxation in a place with lovely views. This is what we got from the Lovat Arms Hotel.

The staff were fantastic and catered to our every need. They were friendly, jovial and couldn't do enough for us. They checked each food item was okay for me to eat, due to my pregnancy, without me having to ask. This was very much appreciated. They even provided extra pillows on the bed for my bump! :-)

The food was exceptional and the hotel itself was lovely. The restauant was very modern. Following a scrumptious dinner, we then moved into the comy seats by the coal fire in the more traditional part of the hotel, for a relaxing evening.....we loved it!

We stayed in one of the studio rooms which was perfectly suited to our needs. The wet room and underfloor heating in bathroom was great.

The staff made us feel very special and we had a fantastic experience. Thanks especially to David and Tracy! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lovat, Loch Ness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.