We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lovat, Loch Ness

Save Saved
You added The Lovat, Loch Ness to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fort Augustus
Sydney
1 review
“Fantastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were on a trip from Lands End to John O'Groats so sadly only one night in this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and the rooms were great. The town is lovely and we did some lovely walks in the morning and watched the canal lock being opened. The staff were truly welcoming from the moment we arrived. Dinner was unexpectedly good - even our 3 children were happy and they had put little packs of colouring pens and treats on the table for them. We even got cookies for our car journey back to Glasgow. I left my jacket behind and the staff emailed and sent it on to Edinburgh for me - above and beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    99
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
81
352
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Well done to Caroline and her Team, we had a Lovely stay with you all. Thanks for showing us such warm Scottish hospitality and lots of helpful assistance with our many excursions into the neighbouring countryside. Hope we can visit you all someday soon in the not too distant future...ps Great Breakfasts!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were very impressed by the level of service. The food was very good - we have some dietary issues and they were well set up to offer alternative options. Lovely hotel, with very nice common areas and an excellent and well-appointed bedroom. We'll certainly be back when next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 nights here Loved it at the Lovat
We had 22 good view of the loch and surrounding hills
Very large bathroom separate shower and bath
Comfortable bed and sky tv on wall
Staff very nice and informative
Breakfast and dinner excellent great choices
Would love to come back
Thanks to staff

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I didn't think this level of service existed. The care and attention - dammit, there's no other word for it - the LOVE that Caroline Gregory and her team put in to looking after guests is remarkable. Yet it's so under the radar, there is nothing boastful or intrusive or flashy here. It's just so effortless, pleasant and helpful. As for the hotel, it's divine. Tasteful and authentic decor, wonderfully comfortable rooms, honest, homemade, yet elegant food. I can honestly say out of all the hotels in Scotland, the UK and beyond, many with more stars and fame, the Lovat tops the lot. Just wonderful. Luxurious, yet Sophisticated in its simplicity. Oh and I got married here - my guests are all still raving about the place! If you're a bride to be and considering the Lovat as a venue, call off the search, this is the one.

Room Tip: Go for the grand suite if you can, it's sublime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Felt this was expensive b & b in a supposedly better room but I found pokey. Bathroom was massive! Staff were pleasant enough. Food was OK but nothing special. Very surprised how watered down the orange juice was at breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeeGee1, Owner at The Lovat, Loch Ness, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor.

It would be interesting to learn of the upmarket B&Bs you have frequented that offer what we do: 2 rosette Restaurant, Brasserie, Bar, 28 bedrooms, lift as well as on-site beauty treatment.

Bedroom – yes, some of our bathrooms are larger than the bedroom but during the refurbishment in 2007 this was our only option.

Orange juice – we offer a freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast– all I can suggest is that on this occasion a staff member has poured the juice without shaking the carton. Since your comment, all staff have been informed about this potential issue so thanks for bringing it to our attention. Can I ask if you informed anyone at the time because I am sure we would have rectified the issue immediately.

Best wishes,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our first night in Scotland after flying in from the U.S. The location is excellent, right on the shore of Loch Ness. Fort Augustus has some nice pubs and restaurants. The hotel was super - the staff were friendly and welcoming - dinner and breakfast in the brasserie were both excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lovat, Loch Ness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.