We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if Fort Augustus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Cottage

Rose Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Cottage
Save
You added Rose Cottage to your Saves list
Fort Augustus, Fort Augustus PH32 4BN , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Co Durham, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if Fort Augustus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Rose Cottage for a couple of nights last weekend and had a great time. The cottage is in a great location just a couple of minutes walk from the centre. The room we stayed in was perfect, it was clean, modern and very comfortable. We were well looked after by Karen who was friendly and helpful at all times. We had a great breakfast each morning which set us up for the day ahead exploring the beautiful Scottish countryside.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you are in this area and looking for a b&b you must stay here wow absolutely fantastical in every aspect, warm friendly great huge breakfast. Karen was an excellent host second to none, nothing was too much trouble. Our kit was dried including our boots. This b&b is right on the path of the GGW so don't pass it bye

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerpen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This lovely B&B is located a little up the hill on the edge of Fort Augustus with a beautiful view (on clear days even Ben Nevis is visible!). Karen, the host, is a friendly and attentive person who is happy to give amazing advices for day trips, if needed so. I wouldn`t had have such a wonderful time in this area if it wasn`t for her recommendations!
The cottage itself is very neat and clean. I loved the bed and the fireplace in the living room most. The breakfast is good and tasty and served in a lovely, airy and bright room (even when it is rainy outside).
I´d definitely go back there any time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Located just on the edge of Fort Augustus two minutes from the Tourist Information Centre is a B&B not too be missed. Karen our friendly host greeted us pointed out the B&B facilities and local attractions, happy to answer any questions we had to make the best of our short stay in Fort Augustus. The B&B is a modern purpose built property which is spacious, wonderfully clean and warm with all the mod cons. The location and comfortable bed afforded us an excellent nights sleep and refreshed by the en-suite facilities in the morning we headed down to an excellent breakfast overlooking a lovely garden where we could watch the birds and see the chicken who had laid our breakfast eggs ! How much better does it get ? Although not graded with Visit Scotland this accommodation is easily 4* making it fantastic value for money. l have stayed in Fort Augustus several times but from now on l will make sure l stay here ! It ticks all my boxes and ideal for one night or a base for several days , you won't be disappointed !

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms are fine you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed at the Rose Cottage for three nights at the start of our Scotland tour. It was the first Bed and Breakfast of our trip and, if we have any single complain, it is that the Rose Cottage set our standards and expectations so high that they were almost impossible to match by any of the other B&B where we stayed afterwards.

First, the location. The Rose Cottage is located in Kilmuir, in the Black Isle, on the north margin of the Moray Firth. Kilmuir is a small and quiet village located opposite to Inverness across the firth, and it is certainly one of the most beautiful spots and pleasant places to stay in the area. Inverness is a short drive away (~10minutes), and Kilmuir makes for sure a much more pleasant place to stay than the Inverness centre, except if professional reasons or lack of self-transportation advise otherwise. The Rose Cottage, as most of other Kilmuir houses, is located just at the margin of the firth and 3m away from the shore, which adds up to the beauty of the place.

Second, the accommodation. While most en-suite bed and breakfast offer just one tight room with an adjacent small cabin bathroom, the Rose Cottage offers a large, comfortable, complete and well decorated suite, with a private access, which includes one double bed and one single bed, two sofas, table and chairs, fireplace, a small adjacent kitchen and a spacious bathroom. The table, which we used for breakfast, is located near a large window that offers a fantastic side view over the firth. Behind the fireplace, two large windows offer a beautiful and pleasant view of a small backyard garden, which looks like a miniature tidy forest. The quality of this space was unmatched by any of the other B&Bs we stayed at Scotland, most of them at a similar or higher price.

Third, the breakfast. Carol, the owner, usually leaves part of the breakfast in the room kitchen in the eve, and some freshly made stuff at the doorstep in the morning. As an option, guests may have the breakfast served at the main house, but within a restricted time period due to her own job schedule. Given the tight schedule, we preferred to have the breakfast at our ease in the room. Now, if you read this information as I did the first time, you are probably not too much impressed with a “continental breakfast left in the fridge”. Well, a clarification is required at this stage. What Carol leaves in the kitchen is not a breakfast, but a sumptuous and tasty meal prepared on nicely decorated plates, including a good quality cheese assortment, cold meats, excellent fruit, eggs, small pies or quiches and, of course, the usual milk, cereals, yoghurt, coffee, tea, etc. Add to this the freshly baked bread and muffins and you get one of the best breakfasts you may experience in Scotland. Last but not least, during the three days we stayed there we always had a different combination of these elements, making the breakfast a new experience each day. Simply unbeatable.

Last but not least, the owner. Carol is a charming lady, with a deep knowledge about the area and, since our first contact by e-mail, she always was friendly, helpful and informative. When we arrived we were greeted with a very warm welcome. Carol gave us advice about trips in the area, places to visit, restaurants, all conveniently adjusted to the weather forecast in each day(!). In some days, we had a small hand written note in the morning left at the doorstep with an update or complement to the suggestions we had the evening before. And, while Carol makes a remarkable effort to please her guests, it is also clear that all this is achieved quite naturally and never being intrusive.

In short, the Rose Cottage is a fantastic place and unbeatable in the area. If you plan to visit the Inverness area, do not miss it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We chose not to stay in Inverness preferring to be out of the town but not too far away. How lucky we were to find Rose Cottage just over the Kessock Bridge in Kilmuir right on the Firth of Moray. It's a little hard to find but well worth the effort.

Carol the owner is a charming woman with lots of good advice about the area. The accommodation itself is actually more like a large studio apartment. There is a small kitchen so that you could self cater if you wished. The bedroom & lounge area is large, well furnished & very comfortable.

Carol provides an excellent continental breakfast & we found it to be a welcome change from the full Scottish breakfasts we had been having every day during our tour of Scotland.

The tariff for Rose Cottage was less than we paid anywhere else yet the quality of the accommodation was far superior to most. I wouldn't hesitate to strongly recommend Rose Cottage to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage

Address: Fort Augustus, Fort Augustus PH32 4BN , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rose Cottage Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.