We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, comfortable and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morags Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Morags Lodge to your Saves list
Morags Lodge
Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cosy, comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stayed in the cold snap, and boy it was warm. So cosy, great dorms- good sized beds. Excellent catering facilities too, everything you could need.
Free tea and coffee, free internet access on the laptops that anyone could use. Breakfast and evening meals were available too- I had the Kung Po chicken and it was bang on- nicely priced.
Great bar, lively barman. He was a real character too- kept the 2 tour groups entertained. Something happening every night so you wouldn't get bored. As my first hostel, I do believe I have been spoilt as I don't think anyone could do it better.
On top of all that- the location was first class- went in all that snow and it was breathtaking. Recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    51
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
34
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

its location was ideal for loch ness, it was a near and clean place, it had good night - bar scene - live music .. good breakfast.. nothing to complain about will recomment it to anyone who wishes to travel inteh vicinity and definitely value for money as compared to other places

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stayed here for one night with my 2 young children. The room was clean, warm and secure. Had a comfy double bed with a bunk bed and ensuite bathroom. The atmosphere was very friendly and had everything you could need. We stayed at a quite a few hostels during our stay and this was definitely one of the best. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Also had a lovely pub dinner at the Lock Inn

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Great reception and staff were really friendly. Great couches in reception with free wi-fi. Breakfast did run out one morning and is quite limited considering you have to pay extra for it. Lots of tour buses in their so quite busy, but staff managed it very well at reception. the bar was fantasitc but my room which was "shallow grave" Was a nightmare for noise as the bar and smoking area is right below and I couldn’t sleep each night before 3am until they turned the sound off. People in my tour in the other rooms had no issue however so just make sure you dont get the same room. Free wifi didnt work in my room but free in reception with computers to use. I would recommend not eating dinner there as the food was good but you will get a better feed in a pub in town for the price

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We needed to stay one night enroute to a wedding in skye and chose Morag's Lodge due to its location and value for money. On our arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff and were shown to our double ensuite room which was clean and comfortable. The shower was excellent. Breakfast was very good value at only £2.50 and the atmosphere in the hostel was really friendly. There were no problems with noise whilst sleeping despite the hostel appearing to be pretty full. Location is very good with lots of parking and a short walk into the centre of Fort Augustus - we would recommend the "Lock inn" for a good feed!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed just one night but it was the kind of place you would happily stay longer. We just needed somewhere quiet to sleep for the night but there seemed to be loads going on at the hostel. Depsite there being a lively bar the room was quiet and we were able to get a good nights sleep. The staff were helpful and we were travelling on bikes which we were able to lock away safely for the night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

It's a good hostel but my partner left the room at 9.00 am, as it was a free day on the tour, to have breakfast and was told that it finished at 9.00. It costs extra for breakfast and you are required to pay for it on arrival. There was no mention of the time on arrival so we asked if we could get our money back as we are on a very tight budget, as most backpackers are. The lady told me that 9am is a standard breakfast finishing time around Europe and the UK and that they had put food out for us so therefore we could not have our money back.
Breakfast was toast and cereal and milk, all of which can be re used the next day. This happened to 8 other people on our tour as well.
We have been travelling around Europe and the Uk for 3 months and every hostel has had breakfast to at least 10 and most to 11.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
We have reminded all staff to inform guests at check-in what our meal times are and have infomation panels in each bedroom with more detailed information. Unfortunately due to lunch preparations we are unable to offer breakfast beyond 9am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morags Lodge

Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Morags Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morags Lodge Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morags Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.