We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morags Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Morags Lodge to your Saves list
Morags Lodge
Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were a fair bit older than the usual hostel client (a pair of 50yr old cyclists) but we felt just as welcome as anyone. We paid slightly more for sole rights to a four bunk room with a good bathroom. Had to ask to hire a towel for the princely sum of £1. You have access to a good guests' kitchen and a cosy bar. Friendly staff (including the barman who kindly opened reception - usually closed 2-4, from memory - to check us in) and a nice atmosphere. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank-you for your review - we are glad you had an enjoyable stay! We welcome guests of all ages and hope that you will be back again some day to enjoy more of our Highland Hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    51
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
34
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Food was excellent and servings were huge, breakfast had a better selection to that of other hostels I've been to (boiled eggs, porridge), beds were really comfy and rooms well equipped. Staff was very friendly too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank-you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed our "monster" meal portions. We take pride in our home-made evening meals and have now added baked beans to our breakfast menu! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This has been one of my favourite hostels so far! I stayed in an 8 bed female dorm with and ensuite. The room was clean and beds were comfy with plenty of power points.
The dinner and breakfast are great but they do cost you extra. The bar is fun and the staff are friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank-you for your review - we are delighted to be one of your favourite hostels so far and hope to remain so! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hostel seems newly refurbished, it has nice, comfortable common areas where wifi signal works perfectly. My bunk bed was very comfy and there's a dryer room, very handy with scottish weather. Breakfast and dinner is delicious and and the bar is filled with local beer. Stevie is a great host and scottishly funny. I would come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank-you for your kind review - we are happy that everything was to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Had a great time at Morags, stayed here as a bus tour group. Smooth check-in and clean rooms. The bar is quite good and there are people like Stevie and Dan who make the place lively. The dinner and breakfast are good and reasonably priced. Located close to shopping area and definitely recommended place to stay. They also organised a cruise for us in the Loch Ness.. amazing. The only downside is - wifi doesn't work upstairs.

Room Tip: Trainspotting is the room where I stayed and my guide says it's haunted!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank-you for your review Rohan. We are very happy to hear you had a great stay with us - even if you did stay in the haunted room ;0) Regarding the wifi - at the moment it is available in public areas only to encourage socialising but this is a point we are reviewing. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Enjoyed the stay in Morags, the facilities were very clean and tidy. Dinner and breakfast were great, and showers were generally behaving :) Also great cheap beer in the bar. Only negative is that WiFi doesn't work upstairs. Otherwise very good.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are happy you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed your meals. At the moment we have wifi in the public areas only to encourage more socialising but this is a point we are reviewing so thank-you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Absolutely wonderful place! Great staff who know how to party! The food was awesome, and great value for money. Having a bar in the hostel is a huge plus. I'll be back soon :)

Big thank you from St Chris.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank-you for your review Greg - our team aim to please! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morags Lodge

Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Morags Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morags Lodge Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morags Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.