We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morags Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Morags Lodge to your Saves list
Morags Lodge
Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Amazing dinner and breakie on offer for a reasonable price. Dinner was £7.5 and was the biggest meal I've had over here.

Bathrooms were exceptionally clean as were the rooms. We stayed in a 6bed dorm which was spacious and had extra bathrooms outside in the corridor. Apart from the floors being very squeaky it was a great room.

Played trivia and had a live musician to entertain as well as a games room, piano and it's own bar.

Short walk to the town for dinner if you so wish, ate at the lock Inn which was exceptional

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank-you for review - we are delighted you had a great stay... and that you confirmed our meal portions are indeed monsterous! We hope you enjoyed your onward trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    51
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
34
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights will on a haggis tour and were very pleased with our accommodations. We stayed in the shallow grave room which had 3 bunks all fitted with their own sockets. We also had a bathroom which I found very convenient. The food at this hostel was wonderful and rather cheap for the portions that you were served. The staff were wonderfully friendly and happy to help you out. There was also a bar here that served cheap drinks which was a bonus. Top place, highly recommended and a big thumbs up

Room Tip: We had the shallow grave room which had sockets on each bed. Someone told us the other rooms didnt h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here as part of a Busabout tour, the hostel was really cool, provided a great hot Haggis meal and put on a music show and trivia night at the bar. The showers are hot and clean and the beds are comfortable enough for a few nights' sleep.
Not much happening in the area around the hostel, best to stay for a couple of nights only and keep going. Some rooms had great views!
Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The staff are amazing, the bar is downstairs and great, the shower was hot and strong (enough) and our whole group got to be in the same room. Breakfast and dinner were cheap and delicious. The beds are clean and the rooms spacious with the bathroom an en suite so you don't have to run down the hall. Wifi is free and fast, the common areas are clean and comfy - I have no complaints!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in a family room with private bathroom. The bunk beds were great, strong steel structures and one with a double bed base, therfore suitable for a family with 5 kids (we were 4). The hostel and staff were very welcoming, the only issues was a poor wifi signal in the room, but plenty of space in the main hall to use one's PC. We had both dinner and breakfast, which although simple were excellent and excellent quality:price ratio. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The lodge was clean enough but a party being enjoyed by a younger crowd downstairs was a bit of a downer for our tired party of 6 who wanted a good nights sleep. Adequate room and beds but was glad to move on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was my very first stay in a Hostel and to be honest I wasn't too sure what to expect, however we were absolutely delighted with our stay at Morag's. The accomodation is flexible enough to cater for different group sizes and budgets, but as it was just the two of us we opted for a double room with private bathroom.

It was the end of September 2013 and there was a 'bit of a chill' in the air, but on arrival we noticed that Morag's had the heating on in the public areas - there was a lovely warm, cosy feel about the place.

Our room was clean and warm, the bed was comfortable and the power shower the next morning was wonderful.

We opted to dine in for both dinner and breakfast, but there is a self catering kitchen if you want to do your own thing. As it was a Sunday night we had a wonderful Roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and the continental breakfast the next morning was lovely.

There were a couple of Haggis tours in and 4 'retired' Munro baggers cooking there own so we opted to eat our dinner in the bar with a 'light refreshement'

There are lots of comfy big sofas dotted about to 'surf the net', chat to (new/old) friends or to read quietly.

What I enjoyed about Morag's was the relaxed air that it had about it, the staff were friendly and helpful and even though it was busy we thoroughly enjoyed our stay...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morags Lodge

Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Morags Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morags Lodge Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morags Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.