We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, lovely hostel, but beware of party nights!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morags Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Morags Lodge to your Saves list
Morags Lodge
Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great room, lovely hostel, but beware of party nights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The location of this hostel is very convinient and we stayed here for one night on our drive through to Skye.

The hostel is 5 mins walk into Fort Augustus which is a lovely little town on the edge of Loch Ness. The canal locks are worth a visit when boats are going through.

The room was fantastic. We had a private room with ensuite. The bathroom was great and the bedroom consisted of a double bed and a bunk bed.

The kitchen area is quite small but most people dont seem to cook as the hostel offers a cheap evening meal. Beware though, there isnt much room to sit once everyone arrives all at once for he set meal time.

There is also a nice quiet bar, but again beware, on certain nights this turns into a massive party. i think we fortunately just missed the tartan toga party!

Overall this is a clean, modern and well equipped hostel with everything you would expect. It is just not quiet and secluded like many other hostels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    51
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
34
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is up there with the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Talk about Highland hospitality! I felt at home as soon as I set foot inside. Staff are super friendly, the 4 bunk bed room with ensuite I stayed in was spotlessly clean and the shower was great. The fresh and updated lounge features two sections (TV vs just comfy seating), complete with a piano. The hostel bar has cozy wood paneling and is a great place to relax with fellow travelers, with good drink prices.

Since I was travelling in a group in chilly Feb, we all ordered dinner made for us both nights - highly recommended. The haggis stuffed chicken was tasty and the meals were also reasonably priced. I also paid the few extra pounds for breakfast each morning, which was fresh and tasty.

I'd recommend this place to solo travelers as well as youngish couples (or adventurous, sociable elders - no discrimination here!) and groups of friends. Book private rooms early in the peak summer season and you pretty much can't go wrong!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hostel was fantastic, such a great place to stay with lots of fun and interesting people around.. It is a haven in an otherwise beige and expensive tourist town and the hostel bar is by far the cheapest and funnest place to spend an evening. The optional evening meals here are an absolute must - I had roast beef with all the trimmings and the infamous haggis chicken which were both excellent and loads of food for only £7.50, an absolute bargain and very tasty. Beds and rooms were great, with just enough space for 6 of us and ensuite bathroom. The hostel staff were fantastic and manage to organise the chaos (this place is always full) with no problem at all. Definitely stay here if you can and you must book early!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Today was our last day on a Haggis Adventures 5 day Highland Fling with our competent super guide, Scot who took care of 29 mixed nationalities and ages with ease.
As for my request for a private room at Morag's, I was pleasantly surprise to be in a new room with a big power shower.
Everything was clean, the reception personnel was very attentive to our needs and even took care of our much needed laundry. For £ 6.00 my clothes were folded and dry in the evening when we returned from our tour.

Dinner for 2 nights was good and not expensive. For £7.25 we had chicken breast with haggis stuffing and cream.
Alternate was a vegetarian pie.
Day 2, Meat lasagna with green salad on the side. Portions big and satisfying. Just like home cooking.

I have always been an independent traveler but I joined Haggis 5 day Highland Fling because I wanted to see more than Edinburgh and Scot brought us to a brand new hostel in Oban, then Mary Saucy and then Morag's Lodge.
All were excellent but my favorite is Morag's.
Will definitely come back again on a 10 day tour with Haggis Adventure with my daughter.

Thank you again to Haggis management and Scot for a job well done. Our group loved him. Scot is an asset to the Haggis team.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Morag's Lodge for two nights, 17th/18th May 2013. This is by far the best hostel we have stayed in! The staff were excellent, huge thank you to Julia for being so helpful and friendly. The four bedded bunk rooms we had were all en suite, plenty of space, very comfortable beds and hot powerful showers. The kitchen/dining area was good, there is also plenty of comfortable seating areas and a good sized bar. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone loooking for hostel type accommodation in the Fort Augustus area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I would definitely recommend staying here. Staff were really welcoming & friendly.The atmosphere was lively and fun and the hostel bar is great craic. The hostel itself was warm (we arrived on a freezing evening so really appreciated the heat!), clean (great showers - in the bedrooms!) and very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and WOW! The rooms were your typical hostel style, 6 share with ensuite. But.. The staff were friendly and the food was absolutely INCREDIBLE! You must try the haggis stuffed chicken, the most amazing tasting thing I think I have ever tasted. The location is good too if you are a walker there are some great tracks around. There is an attached bar which is reasonably priced. Love love this hostel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morags Lodge

Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Morags Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morags Lodge Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morags Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.