We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hill Cottage Log Cabin - Fort Augustus = Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hill Cottage
Save
You added Hill Cottage to your Saves list
Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4BN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hill Cottage Log Cabin - Fort Augustus = Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed two nights (Thursday & Friday) at Hill Cottage Log Cabin in Fort Augustus while attending a wedding on the Saturday. The service was excellent from Mark & Sally (The owners) and the Cabin was great value for money. The cabin had everything we needed and we ate breakfast at our own convience as everything was provided in the cabin within the price. The bed was just luxury to sleep on and with no noise around at night ( Cabin in a remote area with great views away from the main road ) the sleep quality was so quiet. The cleanliness of the cabin was top notch and always cleaned every day with all breakfast / toilet amenities changed/replaced daily. The location is set well back off the main road the (A82) and in such a remote area the views are amazing. The cabin is a great choice for a couple, 2 friends travelling together, business, families or even a solo traveller.
We also brought our own laptop where we were able to us the free wifi provided during our stay.
Two things that I must mention. Firstly as a family we were travelling with a 15 week old baby. Mark & Sally were always happy to help with anything we needed like a travel cot or steralising bottles/warming bottles etc. The cabin was so warm and cosy. Mark & Sally were always happy to help.
Secondly when we checked out of the Log Cabin we left a mobile phone in the cabin under the bed. We didn't realise we left it there. At the time we were at a wedding in the village and Mark tracked us down and got a message to us to call them to arrange to pick it up or post it back to us. We returned to the Cabin within 15 minutes of getting the message to pick up the mobile phone. This is just how helpful Mark & Sally were.
Wither you stay in the Log Cabin or the cottage you wont be disappointed. I highly recommend this venue for a stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My friend and I stayed several nights at this little cottage toward the end of a 2-week trip to Scotland. This location was my favorite of the many places we stayed (Ft. Augustus was relaxing, but not my favorite location we visited during our first trip to Scotland). We kept a relaxed schedule -- we spent one lovely rainy day curled up in bed until early afternoon - and Sally was very thoughtful and also relaxed about stocking the self-serve, fresh breakfast options at a convenient time for all of us. Mark and Sally are wonderful hosts and set the tone for the cottage. The walk to town is 5-10 minutes down/up roads and a short path. I would mention that if you arrive via bus with too much luggage in tow (as we did), checking ahead of time for a ride up would be a good idea, particularly if it's your first visit and you aren't sure of the location.

Mark is a talented artist, and I ended up purchasing a painting of Eilean Donan Castle that was in the cottage and grew on me throughout the visit! He very helpfully packaged it for me -- the glass frame did break in transit to the US, but the painting was undamaged and is now wonderfully reframed and hanging in my office.

Many thanks for a wonderful visit & for your hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very reasonably priced, luxury with privacy, top location, greeted by Mark and Sally on arrival who were really approachable whilst respecting our privacy, breakfast was excellent and set us up for days out, definitely sold on the log cabin concept. I'd return in a flash.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

having cycled all day it was a joy to find that we could chill out and rest in the log cabin then go out to the local pub as everything is within easy distance.sally and mark were most helpful and cannot praise them enough for their hospitality.suffice to say,i'm sold on the log cabin idea.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in the cabin which was delightfully quiet and private. It was nice to be able to have breakfast whenever we wanted, since the makings were all set out for us in the cabin the day before. It was also great to be within walking distance of restaurants and pubs so we didn't have to drive home after having a pint with dinner! The hosts Mark and Sally were very friendly and helpful. Definitely a different feeling after staying in hotel rooms in big cities, much more peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights and we were very impressed with the cabin and also found
the owners ( Sally & Mark ) very helpfull. A very laid back and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in September and wow! It's so nice to have your own log cabin and be free to come and go as one pleases! The views are fantastic looking straight across the mountains. The cabin is clean and tidy with tasteful decour.Breakfast is provided in the cabin so you can take in bed if you so please! It's just a short walk from the village centre and the owners,Mark and Sally are very friendly and knowledgeable as far as where to go and what to see.
We will definately return !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Cottage

Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hill Cottage, stay and relax in this peaceful setting with excellent views across Glen Mhor, and the Inchnacardoch Forest .The village of Fort Augustus is a five minute walk away, with its pubs and restaurants.Take a stroll to the village and admire the picturesque Caledonian Canal and views across Loch Ness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hill Cottage Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.