We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & friendly Highlands getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caledonian Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caledonian Hotel
Save
You added Caledonian Hotel to your Saves list
Fort William Road | by Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean & friendly Highlands getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Very friendly, family run hotel. Excellent breakfast accompanied by lovely fresh white linen and shiny silverware. Room was of good size and very clean and tidy. Only fault was the bed of which the mattress was quite hard but the pillows were extremely soft - personal preference but we struggled to sleep, partly because of hall door banging any time other guests went to or from their rooms. Other than this, quiet and welcoming highland hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

i have never seen such happy smiling staff in all my 46 years... the waitresses at breakfast x dinner always had a wonderful smile on their faces. johanna x chris the owners were so nice, chris does the bar at nights from 5pm, he has everyone feeling so at home, johanna does the cooking x what a wonderful cook she is, she x the girls also do the rooms, they are spotless, very clean .. would recomend the haggis starter x the steak was done to perfection, iam not too keen on veg, but i ate the lot, so tasty.. we will be back again x again... thank you all for a wonderful stay.. angela x stephen rodger..x

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Moorlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Back for the 5th MG Club trip. Stayed from Saturday till Wednesday. Toured the West Coast to Inverewe Gardens and Nairn on the East side as well as the Road to Nowhere. (Ask Chris for directions) Caledonian was well up to standard, pleasant welcome as ever. Great value the best in Scotland. Bar prices very good, entertainment by Jim Terry and the local musicians great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We initially booked “The Caley” for a single night. However because the hospitality was found to be truly wonderful and homely we ended up extending our stay for the 5 days left of our holiday!

This small family run hotel is in an ideal location just a couple of minutes walk from the Loch Ness, where we had a fast and exhilarating ride on the rigid inflatable boat (RIB) – highly recommended.

The accommodation is just what you need, nice clean and comfortable rooms with a modern shower room. The breakfast and evening meal is excellent and the service and welcome you get is one of the best we have experienced. There is a small bar area where you can relax and unwind at the end of the day to sample some of the local whiskeys and chat to some of the locals who often come in. Once a fortnight they have local musicians who come in and liven up the atmosphere with traditional Scottish music. The husband and wife who run the hotel are very friendly and very helpful, if you need anything or need advice where to visit.

The only criticism was we were made to feel so welcome we didn’t want to leave. Will we visit and stay again, that’s a definite!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

I know - it doesn't look much from the outside, but don't be fooled. The hotel is spotless, the service is personal and friendly, the position is perfect, and the food the drink tops the list of plus points in our opinion. It is honestly 5* food at 2* prices.
Maybe internet access would be the only addition I would make, to search the area for things to do, I know it would be welcomed.

Conclusion excellent all round!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

This 3 star hotel excells at what it sets out to do. No spas, massages, pools or other expensive trimmings but good clean, well appointed accomodation. There is a large dinning room, a comfortable lounge and a bar which attracts outsiders. Prices are set at a very reasonable £40 B&B plus £22.50 for dinner but this is reduced dramatically to £50 D, B&B for stays of more than 3 nights. Bar prices are the fairest in town with all beers (cask ales) and Guinness priced at £2.50 a pint.
Our room was small but we were the last booking. This was compensated for by a good sized, newly appointed bathroom, not just a shower room.
During our 5 nights we were entertained variously by a saxophonist, folk violinists and a rendition of Robbie Burnes in true Scots vernacular. Chris the co-owner seems to have an endless source of musician friends.
No complaints but one suggestion. There could be more maps and guide books available for guests to peruse in the lounge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Moorlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This is our 7th annual trip to Scotland with our MG car club. The 4th trip to this hotel. We took over the whole of the hotel as well as 2 rooms in the Cedar Gates B and B 200yards up the road. We stayed on a Bed Breakfast and evening meal tariff. Once again service was excellent, the bar ideal and the food well up to standard. For me the Caledonian is still the best value hotel in Scotland. The rest of my party must agree as i am being asked already to book again in 2011

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: Fort William Road | by Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Highland Hotel has been run by MacLellans of Mallaig Bheag since 1978. Over the last 30 years the Caledononian Hotel has built up a large number or visitors who stay at least once a year. They find the Caledonian Hotel is an ideal base to visit the rest of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caledonian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.