We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly B&B in a nice area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corrie Liath B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Corrie Liath B & B to your Saves list
Corrie Liath B & B
Market Hill, Fort Augustus PH32 4DS, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly B&B in a nice area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We only had time to stay one night here, but can thoroughly recommend it. The warm and friendly welcome is second to none. We had a good sized room for £60 pounds which I think is good value at the end of July.

The location is excellent, a short (5-10 minute) walk into the town for the restaurants. As for touring, from here it is easy to reach the touristy north side of Loch Ness, the more beautifully scenic and quieter south side of the loch, or use it as a base for great walks and scenery going south and west.

If you value a friendly welcome, pleasant rooms and a good breakfast, you'll get them here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Fort Augustus makes a perfect base for visiting our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    27
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lauder, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Only stopped for one night as we were doing the Great Glen Way. Andy and Caroline made us very welcome. Room was good size, very clean and comfortable. Caroline showed us where everything was and organised breakfast then left us to do our own thing. Next to main road but very quiet, hardly noticed the traffic even with the window open, (we like fresh air!). Breakfast was just fine, very tasty. All in all, couldn't fault either the accomodation or our hosts. Would come back again. (stayed 17/08/12)

Room Tip: We had room 2, en-suite. Even though it faces the road, was still quiet. View is great over to the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Yes we are in a fairly quiet position with lovely views. An added bonus is that we have very few midges!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ugine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very nice and welcoming people. We stopped for 1 night in Fort Augustus on our way to Skye. The B&B is next to the main road but it is quiet, and at a walking distance from the town. (which is very nice and quiet with the loch Ness and its restaurants)
The breakfast is very good. In the garden, you can find a beautiful "hut" where you can have a barbecue or drink a glass of wine with a fire at the center.
Just a nice place! 5 rooms for the whole family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Many of our guests have enjoyed the barbecue hut this year, it has been very popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Corrie Liath for one night on our drive from Edinburgh to the Isle of Skye to see a bit of the Caledonian Canals. We opted to stay in the smaller double room with the private bathroom located just across the hall as it was on offer for £55 (can't beat that in August!). The room is a bit small, but we had enough room to move about, it was very clean and tidy with a small private television. We did not mind walking across the hall either, all other guests have their ensuite bathrooms so no worries about having to share with other holiday makers! The bathroom looked to have been re-done recently, quite a few nice modern touches and plenty of space!

The breakfast options were lovely: haggis with toast, pancakes, Scottish breakfast, continental or salmon and toast. We did not stay in any other place that had such a great range of options, and the location of the B&B was lovely, only a 10 minute walk into Fort Augustus. We would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Some of our guests appreciate our comfortable but smaller room as it is a reasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay. The bed was very comfortable, good shower, nice complimentary touches ie fresh bottles of water and toiletries. Lovely garden and the swedish hut is brilliant! Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, it's always so nice when a family really make the most of their holiday by doing so many activities. I think we shall be in Scotland for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Thank you so much to Caroline and Andy who made me and my family feel so welcome! Wonderful breakfasts with home made preserves were an excellent way to start the day. Our room was clean and comfortable and an excellent place to come back and recharge our batteries during the day. It is just a short walk to the town where there is a variety of places to eat and a good base point to use so you can visit the rest of the highlands. Caroline and Andy were always at hand to answer any questions and recommend things to do around the area we can't wait for them to open a place in South Africa we would love to visit them they are such lovely people and amazing hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add your review. It is always such a pleasure when guests really make the most of their holiday and enjoy what the area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Corrie Liath B & B on our way down from a wedding in Inverness.
We received a very warm welcome from Andy and Caroline.
We were able to make use of the BBQ hut in the evening, and being South African, this was a true touch of Africa all the way in Scotland!
Pancakes for breakfast, with homemade jam. Lovely.
Our room had a lovely view of the mountain.
We will definitely be back.
Thank you

Room Tip: Room on the front of the house, has a lovely view of the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your time with us, we live in a very beautiful spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corrie Liath B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corrie Liath B & B

Address: Market Hill, Fort Augustus PH32 4DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double rooms from £55 per room per night including breakfast. Situated in a quiet location on the edge of the village and just a 10 minute walk to the centre where you will find plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops. All rooms have a lovely view, either of the local mountains or of our garden which has lots of birds including pheasants, partridges and woodpeckers. All our rooms have recently been renovated and have their own bright modern shower room. All rooms have free wifi, tea and coffee trays, complimentary toiletries, flat screen tv with dvd player, a selection of dvds and books and a hair dryer. We offer a choice of four different breakfasts served at flexible times. If you prefer we can swap breakfast for a packed lunch. We have an unusual hut in our garden for the use of our guests to relax in, ideal for friends to get together. We have plenty of off road parking and bicycle storage. Everyone is welcome, including walkers, cyclists and bikers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Corrie Liath B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corrie Liath B & B Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corrie Liath B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.