We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Glen Way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonas Bed and Breakfast

Sonas Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonas Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Sonas Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Inverness-shire, Fort Augustus PH32 4DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Glen Way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Sonas is situated within easy-walking distance of Fort Augustus on the north side of the River Oich. It is a very nice and silent B&B and there are many restaurants nearby to have dinner. The rooms at the B&B are clean, breakfast is very good and the owners are very friendly. If you have a little time on your walk along the Great Glen Way you should do a boat trip at Loch Ness. If you have to stay at Fort Augustus you should choose this B&B, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senlis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

At the second we arived at Sonas, we found two smiley faces: Lorna and Jimmy.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is very good. But above all we did feel like home with friends. We highly recomand Sonas if you have to stay in the Fort Augustus area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed one night just passing through Fort Augustus we decide to stay the night. Lorna and her Husband were very welcoming when we arrived. The beds were very comfortable. The room was clean and tidy really well look after. You can see that Lorna take great pride in the running of her B&B. Breakfast was brilliant and set us up for the day.The WIFI was also a plus for planning out journey for the following day. Thanks Lorna for you hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We landed in Fort Augustus by accident--literally, having had a minor but disabling vehicle accident some 20 miles away. Happily, the ever-accommodating Scots came to the rescue; Robert at West End Garage started ringing up places and found us a room at Sonas, which proved to be a delightful "emergency" stay. The beds comfy, our host, Lorna, exceptionally accommodating (as we dragged in quite late, she immediately started phoning the pubs to find a place that would feed us...a kindness that we deeply appreciated!), and breakfast was excellent. The rooms are well appointed, beds comfy; a trifle small but so cute and comfortable that that minor aspect was not an issue. Fort Augustus is a delightful small town-not terribly touristy, with a fascinating and quite impressive lock system and a nice selection of pubs and small stores to linger in. Sonas is just a couple minutes walk from the locks and very well situated to walk about town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lorna was a very gracious hostess and the room was great. We had a comfortable lounge to use as well. And,, the breakfast was fantastic. Three nights in Sonas made the place we stayed the next two nights look just adequate!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lorna made us the most welcome B&B experience in Scotland and the best Scottish breakfast. The B&B is located "just right" for forays around and the personalized advice from Lorna helped fine tune our itinerary. Thanks from Seema, Sudhir, Rajen, Suzane and Babita

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

With one night's stay in Fort Augustus required at very short notice, one phone call by my wife landed us the last room available at Sonas. The price was very competitive - and it was also the 4-day Diamond Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend, and contingency plans were forthcoming for us to get into our room should our journey of several hundred miles lead to a late arrival. Lorna is possibly the most organised person I have ever met, arranging WiFi access, advising on places to eat, taking breakfast orders and helping us settle in quickly. The room (and en-suite) soon turned out to be like the Tardis and I can't recall ever having such a wide range of hot drinks available. Similarly, there's a good range of complimentary shampoo/conditioner/shower gel in the bathroom. We both had a wonderful night's sleep. The cooked breakfast is to a very high standard, and there's also a good choice of just about anything else you could want for breakfast. What else? The place is spotless throughout, the gardens are beautiful and there's ample parking on the premises - which is good, because the village is within easy walking distance and the car got a well-deserved rest. Finally, even after we'd left and needed some assistance, Lorna was still willing to lend a helping hand. We've stayed in a wide range of B&Bs, I reckon this one will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonas Bed and Breakfast

Address: Inverness-shire, Fort Augustus PH32 4DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sonas Bed And Breakfast Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonas Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.