We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland Club, The Abbey, Fort Augustus, Scotland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aonach Mor at the Highland Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aonach Mor at the Highland Club to your Saves list
Aonach Mor at the Highland Club
Fort Augustus Abbey | Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highland Club, The Abbey, Fort Augustus, Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at The Abbey Garden Apt for five nights between Christmas and New Year. We found the apartment to be spacious, well equipped, clean and very comfortable. The location and scenery were fantastic, in fact we wished we could have stayed a few more days. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Fort Augustus and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Abbey Garden Apartment. We are really pleased you enjoyed your celebrations with your family over the Christmas and New Year period. We hope to welcome you back sometime to Fort Augustus and the beautiful Abbey. Thank you once again for your review and our very best wishes for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Amazing place to stay. Beautiful place and scenery, right on the Loch. We had a two bedroom, two story apartment that was amazing, new and clean. Perfect for 3 adults and 3 kids. Location couldn't be better for exploring Fort August, the Loch and the Highlands.

Room Tip: Clara was great about emailing to help us find the right room for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review of Moat House 1 at the beautiful Highland Club, I am really pleased that it met all your needs. It was lovely to meet you all on your arrival. Thank you once again for taking the time to write us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful in every way. Quality finishing and well equiped made for a very relaxing few days. 4 of us stayed with out 18month old son for 3 days at a cost of £400. That works out at £33 each per night which is an absolute bargain. With lovely scenery and restaurants close at hand it is easy to relax and enjoy your time in a beatiful part of Scotland. Moat House 1 can sleep 6 as one of the sofa's converts to a bed. Will we stay at the Abbey again? Oh yes!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Moat House 1 at the Highland Club. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loch Ness sometime soon. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed one week with two 13 year old girls and it was really perfect. A wonderful place to stay seven days inhouse but also a lot of possibilities from Bow Arrowing over Tennis to Cricket. You can make Whisky Tours, you can walk around without using a car, you an enjoy the perfect apartment with everything you need, including english DVDs and a big Flatscreen for rainy evenings. So do it yourself you will never regret it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Abbey Church at the beautiful Abbey. We hope to welcome you and your family back sometime. With best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just stayed a week in the Aonach Mor apartment. Wonderful place to stay with fabulous welcome and extra touches to make the stay special. A luxurious apartment in fantastic historic setting. Lots to do in the area with easy access to Isle of Skye and Cairngorms and with the football, tennis, games room and swimming facilities thoroughly kept our young son and ourselves entertained. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Owner at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hello Laura, thank you so much for the lovely review and also for the recommendations in the guest book in our apartment, I am sure future guests will be very appreciative for the tips. Thanks again and hope to see you all again soon. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed a week in Ravenwing and loved it. Very nice, clean apartment with everything you need from washing machine to two TVs, from the kitchen to the Tennis Court..
The location is beautiful and quiet, great for trips to Inverness or Kyle of Lochalsh.

So: Absolutely recommended - great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Owner at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We are really pleased you enjoyed staying in our apartment and hope to welcome you all back sometime soon. Thank you & best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

From the moment you enter the drive to Fort Augustus Abbey you realise that this is somewhere different.
On entering the building you encounter the cloisters which give a sense of history and charm, the architechtural features are complemented by the snooker/reading room and the delightful setting for the swimming pool.
Our apartment was superb, the owners having clearly spared no expense with the quality and quantity of the furniture and equipment provided.
There are a few minor negatives: our apartment's view was somewhat bland (had no view of the loch or hills), the complex would benefit from a reception/bar (there is the Boathouse, but this is fundamentally a restaurant) and clearly some of the other guests weren't able to follow the simple rules with the booking system for using the pool.
Overall a marvelous place to spend a relaxing week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. Also for your comments about the swimming pool where from today regular checks have been put in place to ensure that the rules around the booking system are being followed. Thanks again and hope to see you back sometime in the future. Best, Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonach Mor at the Highland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonach Mor at the Highland Club

Address: Fort Augustus Abbey | Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonach Mor at The Highland Club Scotland is within the incredible environment of the Grade I listed St Benedict's Abbey and sleeps from 1 - 8 people. We care for over 40 apartments, one, two and three bedroomed. Every apartment is fully equipped, overlooking either the beautiful Abbey grounds or stunning Loch Ness. We are not just a booking agent, we own one apartment and are on-site every day to care for the apartments and our guests.There are 20 acres of grounds, tennis, cricket pitch, football pitch. The Club Lounge has a full size snooker table, table tennis, table football and free Wi-Fi. There is also an adventure playground, barbeques, picnic tables and a superb waterside restaurant. Our accommodation will give you an unforgettable holiday or short break. Fantastic INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, sauna and steam room and fitness room now available to guests. The lovely village of Fort Augustus is just a two minute walk, central in The Highlands for touring. Wheelchair access is available in some apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aonach Mor at the Highland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonach Mor At The Highland Club Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.