We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lovat Brasserie

The Lovat Brasserie
The Lovat | Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
+44 1456 459250
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $61
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 40 Seater Brasserie with modern surroundings is open for breakfast, lunch & dinner, 7 days a week - offering local produce, presented with care, creativity & flair.
Glasgow, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

All homemade, delicious. Even the garlic had been hand picked that morning to use in a fabulous salsa-type side dish. My elderly parents had their special requests catered for and my baby girl was treated like an actual princess.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    50
    16
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The design is just o.k. But the service was wonderful. The menu was described in detail and the selections were varied and interesting. We were a group of eight and everyone loved their entire meal. Because I have a sweet tooth I have to say their sticky toffee pudding was delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

From the moment we walked in the whole experience was faultless.
Staff had good knowledge of the menu both food and wine and were really accommodating with my gluten intolerance.
Food was well presented, full of flavour and reasonably priced. We really enjoyed our meal, would recommended to anyone visiting loch ness. 10/10

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the best meals in Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The design of the Brasserie is nothing to speak about. The food is simply great. Easily holds its own with some of Edinburgh's highest rated and most expensive restaurants. Note, we went when the hotel's more upscale restaurant was closed but I highly suspect that the Brasserie shares the same chef. If the restaurant is open go to their restaurant but if you can't get in and the Brasserie is still using the same chef from the restaurant, the Brasserie is just great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Wide ranging menu using local fare. Great service. As a group of 4 we had a range of starters, mains, desserts, coffee - everything was well presented and tasted amazing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lovat Brasserie also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to The Lovat Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lovat Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.