We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Expressway Drive, Manchester, TN 37355 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Manchester, TN)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Manchester
illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stopped here on our drive home from Florida to get some sleep. This has to be the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. The room was disgusting. The floor in the bathroom looked like a dirty mop ran over it and the walls looked as if the dirty mop splashed up on the wall. There were holes in the walls next to all the outlets. There was mold on the ceiling. I didn't even really sleep. We arrived there around 9:00pm and we woke up at 2:30 in the morning and just got in the car and kept driving. There was no reason to stay since I couldn't sleep in such a dirty room. I wouldn't even take a shower there because the bathroom was so gross and dirty. There was no way I would put my bare feet on that floor. I have no idea where the "professional" photos came from, but the rooms certainly are nowhere near that clean. I didn't even want to walk on the floor with my socks.
My advice is to keep on driving and find somewhere else to stay. You would never get a good night's sleep here because you won't even want to get under the covers in the bed. I would NEVER stay here again. My kids even said to me that they would rather sleep in the car.
They have free nreakfast but based on what I saw in my hotel room, I could only imagine how their food is kept. The thought of eating the free breakfast at that dirty dirty place just made me sick to my stomach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Care at Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Chrishan,

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    18
    18
    30
See reviews for
38
21
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from FL after Spring Break. We were limited on where we could stay because we had our small dog with us. The first place we stopped at didn't have any vacancies, so we drove over to the Country Inn. They only had a handful of rooms left & the only room that had 2 beds was a smoking room, but we had to have it because there were 4 of us. The front desk lady gave us room freshner to spray, which was nice of her. It actually didn't smell that bad of cigarettes though. The room was clean & we were at the end of the hall on the first floor by the outside door, which made it easy to take our dog out.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My Wife was visiting family for a funeral in Mahchester earlier this month. I chose a cheaper rate and hotel online when I made her reservation for the weekend. She call upon arrival late at night to say she would sleep in her car before staying at the facility I chose. I was very frustrated since we rarely travel apart. Fortunately, I did remember us staying at this Country Inn & Suites on a previous trip and called them to see if they could possibly help. Their staff was extreemly helpful and considerate of her traveling alone. They gladly made special arrangements to accommodate her needs and ease a stressful situation. Her room was clean, spacious and had very comfortable queen beds. I appreciated their kindness to my wife and will always repay them with our business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here on the way to Florida. The first suite we were assigned had multiple stains on both the carpeting and the bedspreads. The couch had a broken front panel below an arm rest. If that wasn't all, the kicker (literally) was a visible human footprint on the living room wall.

The second suite we were assigned after a requested change had more mold between the peeled wallpaper in the bathroom than a research lab.

This location falls below the standard set by Carlson Hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
First let us state how much we appreciate you bringing these types of situations to our attention. It is because of guests such as yourself that will help us make the necessary improvements to our establishment so this will not continue to happen. Also we are sincerely sorry for your experience with us. We know the expectations guests have while coming to our property and we did not succeed in giving you the expected experience. We will share this information with our management team so we can make the improvements needed and we hope that if you are ever in our area again to please stop by and give us an opportunity to show you how seriously we take these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We decided to stay at this Country Inn & Suites hotel recently on our way back to Wisconsin. The bed (king) was fine but all the king-rooms are on the front side of the hotel which is right next to the HIGHWAY. The front desk had a sign that stated this but we didn't think it would be that bad. Boy were we wrong. I think the room could have been sound-insulated better but it appears to be an older hotel retro-fitted as a CI&S. The bathroom had mold starting in the shower ceiling area....UGH!!!!!
On the plus side...the staff was very nice and they have a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay where the hotel is RIGHT NEXT to a highway!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a planned visit for two days over Christmas. I was very happy with the hotel. It was clean and had very comfortable beds. They served a free hot breakfast which was also very good. The service from everyone was fantastic! I can highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room, you can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The room was $60 and at first glance, seemed like a great value. The room was quite large and unlike most rooms in this class of hotel, had two queen beds instead of doubles. The deficiencies made themselves clear after we had settled in, however. The large in-room refrigerator creaked and banged. There was black mold in the bathroom -- over the shower area and over the door. The breakfast was fine and the staff were helpful, but serious housekeeping needs to be done since black mold generally does not appear overnight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Charles,


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Ron Click
Hotel/Marketing Mana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manchester
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 19 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Manchester
Comfort Suites Manchester
#2 of 19 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester
3.4 mi away
Super 8 _ Manchester
Super 8 _ Manchester
#8 of 19 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN

Address: 126 Expressway Drive, Manchester, TN 37355 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Manchester, TN)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're staying in town for business or pleasure, the Red Roof Inn & Suites Manchester, TN is conveniently located off I-24. Nearby attractions include The Bonnaroo Music Festival, Arnold Air Force Base, Coffee County Fairgrounds and the Coffee County Convention Center. Take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access to upload all your festival photos, take a dip in the outdoor pool and indulge in our hot tub. Be Our Guest at the Breakfast buffet before you begin your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Country Inn
Country Inn Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.