We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware if you're mold-phobic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Manchester

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Manchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Manchester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Expressway Drive, Manchester, TN 37355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Manchester
1 review
“Beware if you're mold-phobic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the way to Florida. The first suite we were assigned had multiple stains on both the carpeting and the bedspreads. The couch had a broken front panel below an arm rest. If that wasn't all, the kicker (literally) was a visible human footprint on the living room wall.

The second suite we were assigned after a requested change had more mold between the peeled wallpaper in the bathroom than a research lab.

This location falls below the standard set by Carlson Hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Manchester, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
First let us state how much we appreciate you bringing these types of situations to our attention. It is because of guests such as yourself that will help us make the necessary improvements to our establishment so this will not continue to happen. Also we are sincerely sorry for your experience with us. We know the expectations guests have while coming to our property and we did not succeed in giving you the expected experience. We will share this information with our management team so we can make the improvements needed and we hope that if you are ever in our area again to please stop by and give us an opportunity to show you how seriously we take these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    9
    14
    18
See reviews for
21
15
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We decided to stay at this Country Inn & Suites hotel recently on our way back to Wisconsin. The bed (king) was fine but all the king-rooms are on the front side of the hotel which is right next to the HIGHWAY. The front desk had a sign that stated this but we didn't think it would be that bad. Boy were we wrong. I think the room could have been sound-insulated better but it appears to be an older hotel retro-fitted as a CI&S. The bathroom had mold starting in the shower ceiling area....UGH!!!!!
On the plus side...the staff was very nice and they have a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay where the hotel is RIGHT NEXT to a highway!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a planned visit for two days over Christmas. I was very happy with the hotel. It was clean and had very comfortable beds. They served a free hot breakfast which was also very good. The service from everyone was fantastic! I can highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room, you can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The room was $60 and at first glance, seemed like a great value. The room was quite large and unlike most rooms in this class of hotel, had two queen beds instead of doubles. The deficiencies made themselves clear after we had settled in, however. The large in-room refrigerator creaked and banged. There was black mold in the bathroom -- over the shower area and over the door. The breakfast was fine and the staff were helpful, but serious housekeeping needs to be done since black mold generally does not appear overnight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Manchester, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Charles,


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Ron Click
Hotel/Marketing Mana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I needed to stop in Manchester for the night (I was done driving for this day in a truck and trailer I’m not intimately familiar with, and getting dark adding another challenging element to the drive) so started looking online at reviews. I have a generally favorable impression of CI’s, so wanted to check this one out. I wasn’t sure what to make of the property from other reviews, but walked in and the price was right for what I was hoping to expect.

The property is shopworn. Scuffed paint on walls, some deferred maintenance in some spots. The bed I’m on is squeaky (though otherwise comfortable). Some cleanliness issues such as a stained window curtain and spots (that are not scuff marks) on the wall. I’m also disappointed by the lack of a curtain shear on the window (just the black-out curtain, so it serves the purpose of privacy, but lets no light in). Decor is not terrible, but a bit basic. Though I don’t expect trendy out of a chain that has a name with “Country” in it, the decor -in spots- leans to more “motel-ish” than hotel in the rooms.

I was a little put off (though not a major dealbreaker) by the absence of a recliner type chair. The only place to sit in my room is the activity desk. For me traveling solo not a huge deal, but if you had a few people or wanted a more cushy chair not an option here.

The bathroom in my room is slightly odd as the door somewhat blocks the access to the toilet, but it’s not a terrible size. That said, old style linoleum/formica (instead of a more modern granite style), and the linoleum is HEAVILY worn. Mirror is without any decorative frame and is desilvering. Out of date drop-down ceiling tile instead of a regular plaster ceiling.

Room itself is a decent size and the AC/heat unit appears to be working well. Lighting is adequate in room.

Breakfast was standard to what I had seen at the other CI I stayed with hot items, so good from that front. However, the other CI offered actual ceramic plates instead of the plasticware here.

For the moderate walk-in price, it is certainly tolerable for the night. However, property is in need of remodel/refresh, which puts it into a bit of a vicious circle. For the condition it’s in, the property cannot ask higher prices, but could use that revenue to do needed remodel and repair.

Room Tip: Note the sign at the desk that reminds you all king rooms face the interstate. Also consider asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Traveling with pet,Club Carlson member,requested 2nd floor, arrived told 4rooms for pets all ground level.first room had shower cap hanging down,rust showing,bed box squeaked,carpets dirty,2nd"pet room" bed had appeared used,carpets dirty.Was told owner does not like pets and rooms not up to par.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Manchester, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear James,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast was terrible! There was mold in the bathroom. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and hard. The fridge was unplugged, we did not notice this until the next morning. Not one employee smiled or said anything to us. The whole experience overall was terrible.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Manchester, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Ma'am

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your problems with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.


Sincerly

Ron Click
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Manchester

Address: 126 Expressway Drive, Manchester, TN 37355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites Manchester 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Country Inn
Country Inn Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.