We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rooms at Elmbank

Save Saved
You added Rooms at Elmbank to your Saves list
Rooms at Elmbank
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rooms at Elmbank
West Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UW, Scotland (Formerly Elmbank Bed & Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean & comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on a scenic trip from East coast to North coast. Although no longer supply breakfasts there is a fruit plate which is perfectly ample. Kate is a lovely lady, very welcoming. Would definitely stay here again & would recommend to others.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Situated in Lewiston and perfectly placed if you're walking The Great Glen Way. The accommodation is a self contained building adjacent to the main house. The room was very clean and contained everything you might need, including wifi and sky tv. A nice hot shower with fresh towels restored the spirit, and feet, in preparation of the next days walking.
Location was nice and quiet and there is a great restaurant/pub just a short walk along the road.
Host very welcoming and courteous.
Finally the price was very reasonable. Best b&b we stayed in on our 6 day trip.
Don't hesitate to book this one.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the bank holiday, taking both rooms & must admit I've never stayed in a better b&b! The set up is perfect as the rooms are separate so it's more like a self catering cottage at the cost of a B&B!

An additional bonus is that the bed us very comfy!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

I was up for maggies bike and hike and needed somewhere we could collapse at the end of 54 miles. The rooms are a separate cottage beside the owners house with a lovely bbq area out the back. There's a lovely conservatory area at the front as well.

They set up an extra camp bed for us and were really accommodating and we ended up staying two nights. Very comfortable and a lovely set up for our little group. there's also masses of places to go and eat very close by, and a great base for hiking or loch ness monster hunting. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunblane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed in this quiethaven during the time that i worked on the tunnelling project in Glendoe Hydro electric scheme. It was such a pleasure to come home after a hard to this lovely haven. I really appreciated the fact that although I was getting up at 0530 to go to to work my breakfast table had been meticulously prepared for me Gary and Nina were the perfect hosts and made you feel so welcome I will return and enjoy it more during my own leisure time

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I stayed one night at Elmbank while touring in Scotland. This is the best B&B we visited during our trip. For 50GBP, we had a good sized room with DVD player (and DVDs), a heater that really warmed the room (important when it's snowing!), internet access, a nice breakfast, and a lovely host.
The rooms are in a separate small building so you have your privacy.

You can walk to a nearby restaurant and you are 5min away from the castle by car.

Only minus: the bed we had was not fantastic if you have back ache.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Elmbank was a very pleasent stop over for me on my Lands End to John O'Groats Cycle ride. Nina and Gary were excellent hosts, I was made most welcome, from the offer of a "cold beer" to a copy of "private eye" for my onward journey. I needed an early start the next day and Nina was fanatastic, not only by getting me away on time, but also with a healthy breakfast of porridge. I also was very pleased to get their local advice on my route so that I could avoid the A9 and take a safer route bypassing Inverness. The hill out of Drumnadrocit was a tough start to the day but worth it for the fantastic view.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rooms at Elmbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms at Elmbank

Address: West Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UW, Scotland (Formerly Elmbank Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elmbank is a traditional Scottish dwelling house situated less than a mile from the village centre. With the River Coilte across the road from the house and panoramic views to the hills above, Elmbank provides a peaceful and relaxing location for a stay in the Scottish Highlands.We have a private annex within the gardens - ideal for groups of 4 people-with ample guest parking available.Accommodation comprises of a twin and double room both with en suite facilities. Each room is equipped with Sky television, ipod dock , DVD player with a selection of films and Wi Fi is available. A hospitality tray with kettle, tea, coffee is provided. The rooms are well appointed and furnished with views out over the gardens and hillside beyond. A popular feature is the comfortable conservatory, where you can relax while looking out onto the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rooms at Elmbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms At Elmbank Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooms at Elmbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.