We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay, would have liked it to have been more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferness Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Ferness Cottage Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferness Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Ferness Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Drumnadrochit, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“one night stay, would have liked it to have been more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

we stayed for 1 night as we were doing a bike ride but would have liked it to have been for longer. very clean, room and beds very good, breakfast lovely. we stayed in 19 different B&B's on this trip and this was one of the nicest. 2 pubs near by for meals, one 5 mins walk, one 15 mins walk both good. nice village with good gift shops and things to see.
thank you for a very good stay.
Debbie, John and James.

Room Tip: both rooma are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay. The owners were charming and made us feel very comfortable. The room was really clean and so was the modern bathroom. They recommended a great pub and gave us advice on places to visit in scotland.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My daughter and I breezed in around 8 p.m. after a long day of exploring in the Highlands. It was really by chance (and at the recommendation of a neighborhood boy) that we picked Ferness Cottage over any of the other ones nearby. We were well cared for from the moment Adrian opened the door until he helped direct me out of the parking place across the street the next morning. Our double room was bright and clean, and everything worked (this wasn't our experience in every B&B during our trip). He gave us a complete accounting of where we could fill our stomachs nearby and aimed us in the right direction. Breakfast was tailored to our liking, with something other than the traditional English breakfast (which we were tired of) on the menu. After breakfast, Adrian and wife Trish patiently answered every question I put to them about health care and education in the U.K. All of our needs were carefully anticipated and the accommodations were comfortable. My only disappointment was lack of time to tarry longer and enjoy more of what Drumnadrochit offers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed there last year with a friend. The breakfast was varied and very tasty. Our hosts Trish and Adrian were always happy to help and give good advice. It is located near the woods, which is great for walks. The twin bed room we had was spotless and lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed one night at this charming B & B and wished we could have stayed longer. The welcome by the owners was first class nothing was too much effort, they treated us like old friends. Breakfast choice is good and well cooked, we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room had recently been decorated and was spotless, bed was very comfortable, the whole cottage was well presented and all decor and furnishings was to a high standard. We certainly will be making another stop at Ferness Cottage and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I was made to feel incredibly welcome in extremely comfortable, warm and friendly atmosphere.
I was very well looked after by Trish and Adrian and the breakfasts were the best and a real treat.
Cannot fault anything, everything was perfect and we throughly enjoyed our stay, will be back again and would recommend the same to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Trish and Adrian gave us a very warm welcome to their B & B and we thoroughly enjoyed our one night in the modern clean room. Breakfast (and the breakfast room) was lovely. Parking was provided and free transport to a lovely restaurant was much appreciated. Unfortunately, despite promises, Nessie did not show!

Peter and Mary George
New Zealand

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferness Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferness Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Drumnadrochit, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ferness Cottage Bed And Breakfast Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferness Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.