We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Rowan Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Rowan Guest House
Save
You added Glen Rowan Guest House to your Saves list
West Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

A smart, clean bungalow with an excellent dining room and very comfortable room. Very nice hospitality tray in the room and small, but well laid-out bathroom with the full requisite of complimentary goodies. Breakfast was excellent (though the option of dining slightly later would have been nice), and superb advice from our hosts re. local restaurants & attractions. Throughly recommended.

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — Nothing
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
140
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

Excellent telephone manner Mr Ferguson(Alistair) private joke!!!!
After a lovely warm welcome from both Alistair and Vanessa and then being shown to our extremely well appointed rooms which had special little touches that even some fairly high class hotels do not offer their guests, we were then offered the choice of a hot drink which could either be taken in the guest lounge or the beautiful garden. We opted for the garden which was such a lovely tranquil setting beside the river.
Alistair even advised us to pre-book our evening meal on the Friday as he realised how busy Drumnadrochit would be, he also provided transport to the local hotel as well as on Saturday morning to the concert venue.
At the last minute on Saturday morning Vanessa provided us with 5 packed lunches which were greatly appreciated as the day wore on.
Overall everything about Glen Rowan was excellent and we highly recommend it. In our opinion 5 star accommodation with such welcoming and friendly hosts. ENJOY!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

Very friendly hosts at this easy to find B&B. Very clean and freshly decorated. We were also impressed with the range of toiletries provided. Room was a little warm (possibly because we were over the owners accommodation?) but not a problem, both radiators and ventilation were easy to control.

Good breakfast, friendly attention complete with tartan trousers. We were also very pleased to be greeted with a fine cup of tea in bone china.

Completely recommended - if you have to stay in Drumnadrochit you won't be disappointed if you stay with Alistair and Vanessa.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

Just got back from the Glen Rowan and i was really impressed at how clean the place was. The bathroom was spotless and the floors looked so clean we tought they were brand new! Beds were comfortable and there was an electric kettle to boil drinking water or make cofee/tea/choc drinks that were supplied with the room. The room was beatiful and so was the house! The host (Alistair) was really friendly and nice.

Cant really think of anything bad about the place, its easy to find ( turn right after the esso petrol station in Drumnadrochit if you're driving from Inverness and go down the road for 100 meters or so and its on the left with signboard in front of the house) and its within walking distance of nearby restaurants.

Overall great and comfortable stay!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wiltshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

A lovely B&B - all the mod cons, clean, well decorated and located in a quiet and picturesque spot. Alistair, the host, looked after our every need even down to booking a table at the nearest good restaurant about 20 minutes walk away. A perfect location for touring loch ness.

  • Liked — well equipped rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

this place had the most friendly of hosts. alistar and vanessa were very friendly and helpful both on the phone for the reservations and when we arrived, he helped us carry in our bags, explained rules and eating places clearly. even made dinner resverations for us since we had come in so late and some places were closed for the winter! VERY accomodating. very 'at-home' feel to this place. the room (room1) was perfect for us. sparkling clean room and bathroom. the bathroom was HUGE compared to other guest houses we stayed in in scotland and toiletries GALORE! they provide all types of everything, BOTTLES of shampoo, soaps (even light sopas for sensitive skin) tampons, pads, shaving stick, on top of all the regular things, hairdryer, etc. the tv only has 1-2 channels but only bc they dont get reception in this area. they even drive you places for a small fee if you dont have a car (we had our own car tho). breakfast was great! cereals, juices, eggs, scottish breakfasts, etc. make sure you call ahead for directions or map it out on something reliable like theaa.com/travel. if you are coming from fort william, pass urquhart castle, and turn left down a residential street just before a gas station. drive about 3/4 of a mile and it will be signposted on the left after the phone booth. (kind of hard to find, bc there are no signs off the main road). beautiful place, would DEFINITELY go back!! we paid 22pounds per person in december, they prefer cash but take credit card. very impressed!

  • Liked — friendliness, cleanliness, facilities provided
  • Disliked — hard to find for foreigners without good directions (we called ahead, so found it right away)
  • Tips/Secrets — get good mapping directions, stay more than one night!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Rowan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rowan Guest House

Address: West Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish Family Bed and Breakfast, Comfortable Bedrooms, Hearty Scottish Breakfast, Riverside Garden and Guest Lounge. Close to Loch Ness, Urquhart Castle & Loch Meiklie. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Rowan Guest House Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Rowan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.