We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Rowan Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Rowan Guest House
Save
You added Glen Rowan Guest House to your Saves list
West Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
maine
1 review
“Great Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed here in the middle of our tour of Scotland. Alastair and Vanessa were so friendly and the place is so relaxing that we ended up extending for two nights. It was wonderful to get out of the car and walk to the Castle and Go hunting for Nessie. We would definetely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
140
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

We were incredibly lucky that we were the only guests for the 2 nights (midweek, low season) we stayed. It meant that we didn't need to worry about out little cheeky chappie waking up the whole house in the night and, in fact, we were able to put their travel cot in another room to us, so we weren't disturbed either. The owners live downstairs so they weren't bothered by the babe wandering around making a nuisance of himself either. A big bonus for people travelling with little babies, this lovely guest house provides dinner (at a separate cost) which meant that we didn't need to traipse around the place with a grizzly sleepy child. Just put him to bed and sat down to enjoy ourselves. Alistair & Vanessa joined us for dinner one night, which was great as we got a full low down on what to do in the area. Would stay again, but would probably aim for off season so that there was more chance of having a spare room for the little 'un. The guest living room was also a bonus as my husband & I had a lovely afternoon snooze whilst our kid had his - in the sunshine, overlooking the beautiful garden & brook! We were actually looking for a room with a view of the loch, which this guest house doesn't have. but it's just a short walk down the road.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

exellent accomodation, rooms were gorgeous and very comfortable. food was lovely and it had a real homely feel to it , the owners were very helpful and hospitable, they made you feel right at home, would recommend this place to anybody, we are going back in july. When going to scotland i would not stay anywhere else it was absolutly fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

After reading great reviews from trip advisor, we decided to stay at the Glen Rowan Guest House when we stopped in Drumnadrochit to see Loch Ness. Alistair greeted my husband and I like we were family! And after some nerve-racking twists and turns on the way up to the highlands, I must say we were glad to be somewhere that felt so homey. Everything was taken care of -- Alistair booked our dinner at a lovely restaurant -- Cobbs -- and really took care of us. And the full breakfast the next morning was just what we needed to get on our way. We absolutely loved our stay and hope to return!

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing -- it was great
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Glen Rowan is a charming guest house in a great location! The hosts were extraordinarily friendly and inviting, going to far as to offer me complimentary transportation to local attractions! The room in which I stayed (#2, w/ two double beds) was spotless and included very comfy beds and a well-designed restroom. The guest lounge had plentiful information on the lcoal area for tourists, including menus for local restaurants as well as walking paths and hikes. Breafast included plentiful continental items as well as several delicious cooked to order selections. Glen Rowan includes a gorgeous backyard atop a local street over which you can gaze while enjoying breakfast.

The guest house sits just outside of Drumnadrochit proper, and was about a 15-20 minute walk to the bus station, and maybe a 20-30 stroll from the center of town. Here, one can enjoy several exhibits on Loch Ness and its famous monster, book a boat tour on the Loch or take in a bit of shopping. There are numerous and beautiful hikes around the local area, as well as Urquhart Castle, which is ~1.5-2 miles from the city center (about a 30-45 minute walk and well worth seeing).

Given its location, the friendliness of the hosts and the lovely home itself, I hope to one day return to Glen Rowan!

  • Liked — Location, breakfast, friendly hosts!
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

There is nothing much to say about this guest house other than that it's average and a good place to stay. Our room was quite big, the bathroom also. But in the evening we could hear the neighbours in the room next to us talking, and it did not seem they were talking too loudly. Not exactly what you need while on holiday.

The breakfast was plentiful. The owner helped us with restaurant reservations. But the best thing about this place is its backyard - a perfect lawn with a stream in the back. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We enjoyed our stay very much at Glen Rowan where we stayed for two nights over the August bank holiday. The guest house is located on a quiet street with a lovely garden with a stream at the bottom. Alistair is a great host and very friendly. He suggested places to visit and restaurants and even made reservations for us. (By the way Alistair many thanks for my birthday drink it was very much appreciated!).The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. There is an electric kettle to make tea/coffee//chocolate drinks that were supplied with the room. The breakfasts were first class and choice of menu available (including porridge) was excellent. Should we every return we would definitely stay here and would fully recommend Glen Rowan Guest House for anyone visiting the Loch Ness area. We wish we could have stayed longer and hope to return sometime in the future. - a great place!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Rowan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rowan Guest House

Address: West Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish Family Bed and Breakfast, Comfortable Bedrooms, Hearty Scottish Breakfast, Riverside Garden and Guest Lounge. Close to Loch Ness, Urquhart Castle & Loch Meiklie. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Rowan Guest House Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Rowan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.