We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“George Clooney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Rowan Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Rowan Guest House
Save Saved
You added Glen Rowan Guest House to your Saves list
West Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
helensvale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“George Clooney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived at Glen Rowan to be met by Alistair at the door.Soon after met Vanessa his wife.
What a great experience Glen Rowan was for us.Everything we could have wanted.Lovely room,great hosts,wonderful breakfast and attention to detail.Would thoroughly recommend this B and B to anybody.Alistair asked me to be honest and I have two minor critisims.One is the shower is very small (just needs to made 1 foot bigger) and the second is Alistair reckons he looks like George Clooney.Sorry can't see it mate.Maybe the legs when you had you're kilt on.
Thank you for making or visit to your b and b a great one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
136
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Alistair and Vanessa are great hosts made my brother and I feel very welcome. They were very helpful in finding us and the group we were supporting somewhere to eat. Glen Rowan is very comfortable and very clean, the breakfast was top quality. Woud definitely stay again if visiting the area again. Tanks for a great stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have stayed in many excellent B&Bs, but have never found one where there has been such attention to detail as Glen Rowan.

Everything from the craftsmanship in the room, all the little things in the room, the quality of the food and the way that Alistair and Vanessa are so friendly and helpful puts Glen Rowan into a category of it's own. They clearly strive to do everything to the best possible standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Glen Rowan is a welcoming B&B on the Great Glen Way. We were a group of 6 walkers and were welcomed with hot drinks, cake and biscuits by the host, Alistair. The next morning he served breakfast in full Scottish regalia, kilt and all. Good choice for breakfast and caters for vegetarians. A pub / restaurant is just down the road, and the Loch Ness brewery tap is a 15 minute walk away. Clean & comfortable rooms. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We enjoyed Alistair and Vanessa's hospitality for 2 nights. The rooms were immaculate and most importantly for us, very comfortable beds. Breakfast was freshly cooked to perfection and helpings very generous and always with the offer of more. They were most helpful contacting locals and making bookings for us. Alistair's bubbly sense of humour kept us all smiling and couldn't help but be infectious. Thank you, hope to be back again one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed with this lovely B&B on 7th April for 1 night and there were 5 of us.
Alistair & Vanessa are the perfect hosts and Alistair in particular was extremely helpful, accommodating & entertaining. The room is very clean and extremely commendable is when i saw woman towel in the bathroom in case of unforeseen emergency (i rarely see this nowadays) !! Breakfast was excellent ! Alistair even helped us to call up and enquire about the Lochness boat cruises.

I rate this B&B a 10 out of 10 !!

If i ever go back to this area, i would know where to stay :)

Thanks Alistair & Vanessa !

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lokeren(Belgium)
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What more does one want but perfect hosts, a roomy superclean room, an excellently cooked breakfast, a quiet location yet close to the A82? This is the place to be!! If ever we're back in the area, we'll not hesitate where to sleep!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a separate private bathroom, ask for the twin room down the stairs: perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Rowan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rowan Guest House

Address: West Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish Family Bed and Breakfast, Comfortable Bedrooms, Hearty Scottish Breakfast, Riverside Garden and Guest Lounge. Close to Loch Ness, Urquhart Castle & Loch Meiklie. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Rowan Guest House Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Rowan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.