We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland Magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drumbuie Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drumbuie Farm
Save
You added Drumbuie Farm to your Saves list
Drumbuie, Drumnadrochit IV63 6XP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Highland Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our family of 5 recently spent a week at Drumbuie farm and enjoyed every minute. It is set in a beautiful location with spectacular views over the farm with its Highland Cattle and Loch Ness. The rooms are large and airy, spotlessly clean with excellent ensuite facilities and the beds are so comfortable,
Caroline is a perfect host and immediately made us feel at home. Her breakfast options cater to all tastes and are ample and delicious and her advice on what to see invaluable.
The farm is ideally situated near to Urquhart Castle and just a short walk from Drumnadrochit village centre and only a short drive from Inverness, Fort Augustus, and other picturesque villages. . There are several good restaurants in the locality - do not miss the Loch Ness Inn for it's wonderful food and welcoming atmosphere.
Some of the areas not to miss are stunning Glen Affric, the spectacular Glen Coe and the wonderful scenery en route to Skye. You really are spoilt for choice.
We will definitely return to this gem in the Scottish Highlands.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and very comfortable with excellent facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I were fortunate enough to stay at Drumbuie Farm for a total of eight nights,my first holiday in almost three years.And we couldn't have picked a better or more beautiful setting or a more friendly and delightful host in Caroline,we felt immediately relaxed and at home. The on-suite room was beautifully presented,large and very comfortable with all the necessary creature comforts.I defy anyone to find a B&B with more spectacular views across the valley and over Loch Ness.This view is best appreciated from the breakfast room while tucking into a lovely Scottish breakfast while Highland cattle graze just meters away,a great way to start the day.Caroline offered fantastic breakfast options and great advice on local sites and restaurants.Drumbuie Farm is in an ideal location being barely a ten minute walk from the town centre with other picturesque towns just a short drive away .We were very sad when we eventually had to leave but we are already planning to return next year.Great people and a great place in the Scottish Highlands.

Room Tip: The farm is extremely quiet at night so I imagine all rooms will be quiet and all rooms are en-suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our family of 6 stayed in all three rooms for one night. All rooms are ensuite and very comfortable. We loved meeting Caroline Urquhart and felt right at home here. Caroline is an excellent cook - do not miss her muesli and yogurt or her french toast, all served on square wooden chargers - for a real "square meal." She is very charming and we only wished we could have stayed longer. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hiya, we stayed at this B&B for three times and have always been welcomed and served with a great enthusiasm. This B&B offers a great scenic breakfast room and also an awesome Scottish breakfast. The landlady is an exceptional person always ready to help, Timothy you got to understand that problems always arise and its got to be more understandable when health problems are the concern.

Best regards
Vince, Miriam,Luke & Matthew (Malta)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alva, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We made our reservation for a two night stay at Drumbuie Farm three months in advance, receiving confirmation. Two days before we were due to arrive, while we were on the fly in Scotland, we received an email (not a phone call) from the owner advising that she could not honor our reservation because her son-in-law was ill and she had to fly to South Africa. No referral to another B&B, no nothing.

Fortunately, we are computer literate, were carrying a laptop and had Internet access at reputable B&B's or we would have showed to an empty house.

This apparently is a one horse operation and that "horse" has no sense of responsibility to her guests. Stay here at your own risk.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drumbuie, Owner at Drumbuie Farm, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I was very upset to receive this review,as we had just returned from our daughters partners ffuneral in Johannesburg.I have always thought the charm of Bed & Breakfast was that is was indeed a one horse operation,and ran by families,in this case the family needed to be with my daughter ,as she wwas a long way from home , and had just lost her darling partner.I did refer you to the local tourist office ,who would have found yoy alternative accommodation.I am very happy to say, everyone else contacted was very understanding and supportive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed only one night, but we hope it would had been more!!
Caroline is sooooo charming! Great advice for dinner and Drumnadrochit visit and breakfast was amazing! The farm has remarkable surroundings and astonishing landscapes....
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived on foot, when walking the Great Glen Way, and were made very welcome by Caroline. The room had no views but was quiet and and comfortable with a superb shower room. No evening meal was available, as we knew in advance, but we found food in a rather touristy pub in the centre of town. The breakfast room has fabulous views down to the loch and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Just down the road is a great home-made pie shop - don't miss it. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drumbuie Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumbuie Farm

Address: Drumbuie, Drumnadrochit IV63 6XP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Drumbuie Farm Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drumbuie Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.