We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and well worth the visit!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Ness Glamping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Ness Glamping
Save
You added Loch Ness Glamping to your Saves list
Drumnadrochit IV63 6XT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic and well worth the visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The facilities are well thought out and in excellent condition and location. At first I thought the pods would be small, cramped and gloomy but were far more than expected. They are bright, airy and well constructed with space for all you bags etc. The site itself allows you to have the freedom to cook indoors and out by use of a bbq hut\chimnea or outdoor fire, relax at night under the stars with a fire pit and small refreshment as well as walks around the surrounding area for stunning views. Owners are very friendly and will accommodate your needs if any. They provide a good range of essentials for each pod including dishes, tea\coffee and very comfy beds. As well as charcoal and wood for the fires. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The armadillas were excellent value for money, warm, spacious and very comfortable. Owners were very friendly and helpful and the summer house with indoor BBQ/fire pit was a really nice touch - BBQs and campfires whatever the weather. The site is very close to lots of designated walks which take in spectacular scenery and the nearby village of Drumnadrochit has a great pub/restaurant which stocks over 400 malt whiskys. Loch Ness is a very short drive from the site. Many of the tourist attractions are within reasonable walking distance and easy cycling distance but taking a car makes things a lot easier. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife just returned from a lovely 3 night break at Loch Ness staying in the armadillas... We have been glamping now for a few years and these are up there with the best we have visited.. They are perfect to unwind and relax and the BBQ hut is just a brilliant idea.. The staff here were first class even helping us with bags from our car.. And at £3 for a bag of charcoal which is cheaper than the local shop you cannot ask for more... All in all cannot recommend this place more it is lovely..

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmiglo, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

just spent two nights glamping in the excellent wooden pods x very cosy and well equipped - myself and my hubby were able to completely unwind and relax. The barbeque hut is a great idea - well thought out and lovely place to meet fellow glampers x I would urge everyone to visit here - just remember to bring matches to light your fire pit xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We've camped for years and seen camping pods before but nothing like this. Everything you needed was provided. Underfloor heating, intimite lighting, Flat screen T.V with freeview, DVD player, ipod docking station, kettle, toaster, microwave indoor and outdoor BQ's with cooking utensils, sun loungers, wash up area, pans, cuttlery, crockery, tea coffee, sugar. All you need to take is food and beverages.
The armadillas are set on a small hilside with beatiful views accross the valley on the site of a small holding where you can see horses, cattle, sheep and baby lambs being born. One of my highlights was getting to hold a one day old lamb, it was so cute! I've already been recommending this to my friends and I recommend it to anyone who reads this comment. Give it a go, you'll love it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

These armadillos are amazing they have all of your home comforts and are so cozy and warm. if you love beautiful countryside, stunning views and wildlife this is the place for you. In our 3 nights stay me and my husband and friends saw a herd of deer, 2 little lambs being born, the owners even let us hold a baby lamb. We all absolutely loved everything about the experience spending all 3 nights in the beautiful fully equipped indoor bbq hut where you could play music while eating/drinking/chatting we simply didn't need to go anywhere else. Fantastic value for money we were provided with tea, sugar, coffee and toilet rolls, towels were changed and rooms cleaned during our stay + owners could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went with my partner and we had a brilliant time!
The Armadillo's are great. They have everything in them you would need and are really cosy...don't think I could ever use a tent again! The farm is lovely and we had horses, highland cows, loads of land to roam and sheep giving birth just a short walk away. The owners are really hospitable too.
On top of that there is a fab BBQ area and if you bring along food and good drink...you can have a brilliant time!
The surrounding area is absolutely stunning and there are some beautiful spots to visit. You can climb mountains, visit castles, spot deer, see dramatic landscape and waterfalls, meet the locals...then cuddle up by a roaring fire and relax.
We highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Ness Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Glamping

Address: Drumnadrochit IV63 6XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamping is glamorous camping. The site is set in Glenurquhart by Loch Ness close to the beautiful Glen Affric. Glamping is the ideal compromise between camping and luxury accommodation. The Accommodation units are called Armadillas and have full en suite facilities, underfloor heating TV, DVD, iPod dock, fridge and a fantastic view. Breakfast is available for those who are not into making it themselves. The area is a haven for walking and cycling. We also hire bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Glamping Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Ness Glamping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.