We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC PLACE AND HELPFUL STAFF - LOVED IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Ness Glamping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Ness Glamping
Save
You added Loch Ness Glamping to your Saves list
Drumnadrochit IV63 6XT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PLACE AND HELPFUL STAFF - LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here following a mountain bike race in the nevis range. After two nights in a tent this was a brilliant place to recuperate. The pod was spotless and nice and cosy. It felt more like we were staying in a hotel rather than a eco pod due to the high spec fittings, mood lighting and facilities etc. It is well worth the money. It is also surprisingly roomy with plenty of storage for luggage. The staff were also very accomodating and friendly as they locked up our bikes in their out buildings when we expressed concern that we couldn't see the car where the pod was located. We only stayed for two nights this time but we are looking forward to coming back in the future and staying here as a base for exploring further afield.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    11
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the loch ness glamping Armadilla's in september they are the most amazing things they have everything you could possibly want in them very compact but so well done and thought out , outside is a lovley barbecue and eating area with a fire pit which has a lovley view onto the river , breakfast we collected on a tray from the house kitchen it was wonderfully prepared and was better than you would get in most hotels . All in All we had the most amazing time and would recommend Loch Ness Glamping to anybody its an unforgettable expierience with first class hosts.

Room Tip: All are excellent you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

As the title suggests what a different but awesome way to take a break in whilst travelling a beautiful country. I was lucky enough to book one of these popular pods (which just reminded me of the hobbit houses in Lord of the rings, but don't worry they are definitely not small) during August for me and my girlfriend for 2 nights. And these hobbit houses did not disappoint, would of booked for much longer if i knew what i was coming too-fantastic friendly hosts always willing to assist with any problems (thank you sonia and graham :D), fantastic facilities and a beautiful setting.

The pods are just great for anyone who isn't too fond of camping but wants to get a feel for it as lets be honest its like a proper apartment inside, hot water, underfloor heating, shower, toilet, fridge, tv, wireless and even some mood lighting! What even adds to the experience is the fire pits and barbecues right outside them allowing you to stay outside for as long as you want enjoying the clear skies. Truly an unforgettable experience haven't stayed in anything like these. Book book book, you won't regret it! We will be back next year, no questions asked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I were looking for a weekend away and came across Loch Ness Glamping. It looked so perfect and just what we were looking for. I made our reservation and now we had to wait for our weekend. Shortly after making our reservation we were sent a confirmation email with all details on Loch Ness Glamping and any queries we might of had.

On arriving we entered the reception area within the house and was greeted by Sonia (proprietor) and was made very welcome. As it was after 8pm in the evening and it was dark Sonia took as to our armadilla and showed us everything we needed to know.

I would recommend this lovely place to stay for a short or long break. The armadilla was lovely, very cozy and very much value for your money. We will be returning to stay here in the near future. I will also be recommending Loch Ness Glamping to all my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Loch Ness Glamping Armadilla's in August. We loved the design and
architecture of these little cabins. They layout is very compact but really well
done. Our hosts were wonderful and provided us with breakfast in the morning that
you could pick up at the house and enjoy in front of your cabin. We'd definitely
recommend this to our friends!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

First time experience of 'Glamping' and it was a success. We stayed over a weekend with our 2 dogs and were made to feel welcome. The hosts were helpful but not 'in the way'. The firepit and eating area were a hit as was the gorgeous area which we explored.
The pod was very clean with its own wet room and the underfloor heating was very welcome although we found we didn't actually need it on!
We would recommend Loch Ness Glamping without hesitation and will be staying again in the future! At £50 per night it was fantastic value.
Tracey and Alison

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This review doesn't relate to the actual B&B but the adjacent wooden Armadillas that we had the misfortune to book for a three nights stay with my 4 year old daughter.

As two experienced travellers and professionals in our early thirties, I never for one moment expected to have to have a book of rules read out to me verbatim by the gentlemen owner with a hygiene problem!!

We were treated throughout as second class citizens, and told in no uncertain terms that the facilities were for the use of the B&B, not for us in the cabins. Cost/affordability was in no way an issue for us, it was merely the experience that led us to choose the newly fashionable 'Glamping' experience.

I'm not going to go on and on, my advice is short and simple - avoid this place!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Ness Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Glamping

Address: Drumnadrochit IV63 6XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamping is glamorous camping. The site is set in Glenurquhart by Loch Ness close to the beautiful Glen Affric. Glamping is the ideal compromise between camping and luxury accommodation. The Accommodation units are called Armadillas and have full en suite facilities, underfloor heating TV, DVD, iPod dock, fridge and a fantastic view. Breakfast is available for those who are not into making it themselves. The area is a haven for walking and cycling. We also hire bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Glamping Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Ness Glamping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.