We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baking Birds

The Baking Birds
3 Victoria Buildings | IV63 6TU, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
+44 1456 450332
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries, Scottish
Restaurant details
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place is just a delight! They do fantastic home made cakes and their pastry's are just as good. The price is excellent for the quality of the food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    4
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We only bought a couple of sausage rolls and a pastie from here, but they were superb, not your usual mass produced rubbish, and reasonably priced to, would visit again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome cakes and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited baking birds after a trip up Loch Ness. I had read a review about the quality of the pies and was not disappointed. We had our dog with us, and the lady behind the counter brought him a little biscuit and there was a bowl of water for dogs outside. I had a steak pie which was really tasty, and my wife had a mea and bean pie, which she was a bit hesitant about but really enjoyed. She had a chocolate muffin which she couldn't stop raving about and I had a malteser slice which was absolutely delicious, and perfect if you have a sweet tooth. It only came to £6.00 which is a lot cheaper than the touristy cafés littered about, and the lady behind the counter was really friendly, giving the dog another biscuit as we left!
This place is a must if you are passing Drumnadrochit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The world would be a nicer place if this lady knew us all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Spending the week in the village we visited the shop a few times. The cakes are delectable. All home made and local, each is made with the same care and quality. Our wee Westie never left empty handed, every cake we ate he had a biscuit from the lady.

The icing on the cake was provided on the day we left. We loved the westie shortbread jars. They'd ran out on our second from last day. The lady could not be more helpful. She called the baker, had them made and ready for us to collect. We also had some of the best cookies we'd ever tasted for our journey.

Thanks and we'll be in touch

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauder, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cracking wee shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

When we arrived in Drumnadrochit, walking the Great Glen Way, our hotel was at the far end of town. I said I wished there was a bakers handy and, there it was! Needed supplies to continue the walk and, the lady on the counter was one of the friendliest most helpful people I've met. We just wanted some susage rolls, (which were really tasty) but just as we were leaving, she gave us a couple of great big cookies in a bag for free. Not sure if it was sympathy as we were walking in the rain but suspect she's just a really nice person. Pleasure to shop there and food was first class

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baking Birds also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 

Been to The Baking Birds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baking Birds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.