We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BCC Loch Ness Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BCC Loch Ness Hostel to your Saves list
BCC Loch Ness Hostel
Glen Urquhart, Drumnadrochit, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Such a good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was awesome: clean, friendly and nice rooms. The host was a genuinely lovely lovely guy who made sure everything was good and that the rooms are looked after. I highly recommend staying here for good value in the Loch Ness area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed in BCC Loch Ness Hostel a couple of long weekends over this summer whilst hiking in the nearby hills. The rooms are clean with a decent size toilet which enables you to get out of any wet gear and pop straight into a hot shower. The beds are comfortable and warm, there is also a wall mounted TV. The kitchen, although not the largest when there are a few in there, is long, very well equipped & has 3 large fridges. There is a large dining hall which has ample tables, chairs & a couple of couches. Donald and his staff are polite, welcoming and eager to help out with any questions, queries or needs. There is a very friendly pub less than 10 mins walk along the road which also offers food. I would definitely recommend a stay here, the prices are great. Once Donald sorts out a drying room this place will be perfect :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My mum and I arrived at the hostel having booked a hobbit for the weekend as a treat for my mum who is recovering from being sick. When we arrived it was a building site, not wanting to moan been British and all I asked nicely if we could possibly have a room in the house at all as my mum wasn't too well and didn't want to be in the midst of all the noise and dirt. We were offered a room in the hostel but asked to give them some time to prepare the room and to go for lunch/shopping in the local town. Upon our return the owner said he had already booked the room out he was really rude and really upset my mum, we had to drive for another two hours to find alternative sleeping arrangements. Really dissapointed with the horrible man.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have booked twin room and was a little disappointed since they didn't look as good as in the pictures. But the room was clean and comfortable. WiFi only in the dinning area which is not very comfortable. Kitchen is huge so several people can cook at the same time.
If you have a car and want to stay near Ness then it's a good hostel. We travel from Isle of Sky so it wasn't very comfortable to reach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've often thought that hostels would be perfect if you could have a room to yourself, and that is just what you get here. The downside is that it costs more than a conventional hostel at about £40 for a double room. For one person that is a bit steep, but reasonable for 2 or more. The owner may allow you to have a room on a shared basis for about £23 subject to availability.
Good points: Private rooms with your own bathroom and TV. Excellent kitchen and dining area with plenty of equipment. Free wi-fi access. Comfortable beds.
Minus points: Kitchen is in a separate building so you might have a dash in the rain. Not much evidence of a drying room (surely essential for a Scottish hostel!). Bedroom units have cold tiled floors (practical yes, cosy no). Heating was turned off whilst I was there so the heated towel rails didn't work and you couldn't dry clothes.
Sorry to seem negative. I really liked this place and with a little more attention to detail it could be one of the best hostels in Britain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in a lot of hostels and this is the best one ever :)
The rooms are modern, clean, warm and the beds are extra comfy, just what we needed after a Ben Nevis hike.
The kitchen and dining room are spacious and well equipped.
Brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights on my own whilst on a recent walking trip. The place consists of a large central building containing a kitchen and dining area with a few comfy chairs for a lounge area and cabins for accommodation. Fortunately when I stayed here, it was fairly quiet and I got a 4 person cabin to myself which was great as the cabin had en suite and even a TV. The kitchen was very well equipped. The other people using the kitchen seemed to make a mess but there was a lady there who seemed to be cleaning constantly to keep the place respectable. The one complaint I have was that the walls of the cabin were very thin and when a noisy group of youngsters moved in next door and partied late into the night, you could hear every word they said and every time they moved a chair. At £22 a night, it's a bit more expensive than I'd usually expect to pay for a hostel but it was definitely above average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BCC Loch Ness Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BCC Loch Ness Hostel

Address: Glen Urquhart, Drumnadrochit, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BCC Loch Ness Hostel is a top quality purpose built hostel with 5 star facilities. All rooms are en-suite, welcoming individuals, families and groups. Close to Loch Ness and in the heart of Glen Affric, one of Scotland's most stunning glens. Escape from the routine of modern life, relax and enjoy the magnificent views.The modern layout of the hostel offers a high degree of flexibility to meet your specific sleeping requirements allowing up to 8 persons per unit - alternatively, single, twin/double and family rooms are also available. All rooms feature your own TV as well as a TV in the main lounge area as well as free wifi internet connection. Fully equipped kitchen with all modern amenities, as well as spacious dining area fitted to high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your BCC Loch Ness Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BCC Loch Ness Hostel Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BCC Loch Ness Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.