We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BCC Loch Ness Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BCC Loch Ness Hostel to your Saves list
BCC Loch Ness Hostel
Glen Urquhart, Drumnadrochit, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Location
Its located almost in isolation (not in a town or next to any attraction), but because we rented a car, the 15-min drive from the Loch Ness Centre and Exhibition did not bother us.

Room / common area
The room totally makes up its distance from the town. We paid 20 GBP per person per night, and we got a superb room – 4 beds, a small living room with sofa & TV, spacious toilet with bathtub. This was really unexpected. I felt as if I cheated to get such a huge room at such a low price!
The common dining area was huge with sufficient space to lounge and use the internet (there's only internet in the common area but its fast enough to do videos on Skype). The kitchen was also a marvel – huge and spotless. Very rare for a hostel. Thumbs up to the staff.

Staff
The hostel is run by a nice man who makes you feel welcomed when staying at the hostel. He brings you around the hostel and explains things to you; most other hostels just let you figure them out yourself unless you ask them. Perhaps this is what they call Scottish hospitality! :)

Overall, a super value-for-money hostel, with great rooms and common areas. Definitely choose this if you drive!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Very convenient for Glen Affric, Glen Cannich, Glen Strathfarrar hills. The best hostel I have stayed in. Clean, comfortable with everything you could want in a hostel. Donald and wife are very welcoming and friendly. I will have no hesitation in staying here again. ( have already stayed 3 times).

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I spent two nights here whilst doing a 10 day trip around west Scotland. Compared to a lot of hostels this is outstanding. Very clean, good facilities and comfortable rooms. Owners very kind-lent me a hoover to clean out the hire car!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed there 3 nigths during a trip in Scotland in May 2010.

The dorms are very clean and spacious, I stayed in a 4 beds room with an enormous bathroom with shower and bath.

The place is very calm and only 10 minutes from Drumnadrochit and Urquart Castle.

Plus : the host person is very kind and helpful

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The rooms are brand new and spacious with ensuite bathrooms. The kitchen and common room are great and well equipped.

Only thing lacking is the charm of older hostels but is has the best facilities of all the hostels I have ever stayed at.

The location is quite good only 10 min from Drumnadrochit, Uruqhart Castle and Loch Ness.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed in BCC Lochnes Hostel for 2 nights. It has good location (about 8 min drive from Lochness - Drumnadrochin) if you travel by car around North highlands. Also for backpackers to go further to Glen Affric. There is also rare buss connections to Inverness.
The kitchen is well equipped (microwave, plates, spoons, knifes, boils, refrigerator, etc) in the main building, dining room with TV, child playroom, WiFi. Rooms are clean, wide with shower. We were a little cold and our shoes didn`t dried, but possible it was because we didn`t manage to switch on heater and as we arrived late and depart early all days, we had no-one to ask for help.
The prices were cheaper than the similar accommodation close to Lochness.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BCC Loch Ness Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BCC Loch Ness Hostel

Address: Glen Urquhart, Drumnadrochit, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BCC Loch Ness Hostel is a top quality purpose built hostel with 5 star facilities. All rooms are en-suite, welcoming individuals, families and groups. Close to Loch Ness and in the heart of Glen Affric, one of Scotland's most stunning glens. Escape from the routine of modern life, relax and enjoy the magnificent views.The modern layout of the hostel offers a high degree of flexibility to meet your specific sleeping requirements allowing up to 8 persons per unit - alternatively, single, twin/double and family rooms are also available. All rooms feature your own TV as well as a TV in the main lounge area as well as free wifi internet connection. Fully equipped kitchen with all modern amenities, as well as spacious dining area fitted to high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your BCC Loch Ness Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BCC Loch Ness Hostel Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BCC Loch Ness Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.