We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't Impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Ness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Loch Ness Lodge to your Saves list
Loch Ness Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wasn't Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

From the outside, this hotel looks adorable and rustic. I was really not impressed with the quality inside however. I stayed here with a tour group of 50 people and we were assigned rooms. I was very disheartened to find out that the room my sister and I were assigned was a third of the size of the room our friends were assigned (they even had a bidet!). The moment we walked into our room, we saw a huge brown spider in the bathtub. Not the greatest way to welcome us to the hotel, but I suppose that can't be helped. The room smelled old and a bit musty, just like the rest of the lodge. The wifi was only accessible from the bottom of the stairs. I had to partially block the stairwell in order to write an email home. The food was decent, however we had to wait ages for it to be brought out. Our entire group was eating dinner in the same (very small) room and there was no fan or air conditioning so all the windows steamed up. It was quite unpleasant.

The only thing I liked about this hotel was the proximity to Loch Ness. I know there aren't many hotels in this area so there isn't much to choose from. I don't think the hotel was very perpared to cater to a group of 50 tourists, so the experiences of a small family or couple may be a lot different from the experience we had.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochNessLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Loch Ness Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are sorry that your room felt small, different wings of the hotel have been built at different times and therefore not all rooms are the same. The spider was certainly not invited and we apologise for him.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food served as we pride ourselves on having one of the very best chefs on Loch Ness. The dining room where your group were eating is designed to seat 80 so we assumed there would be enough space for you. It is our usual practice to seat groups together as this is what most groups prefer. The air con would not have been on as we are suffering one of the coldest springs for many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    69
    43
    33
    31
See reviews for
61
77
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took a tour of Scotland and decided to book in advance for the family. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and the staff were happy to accommodate our late dining. Really nice room and a very tasty breakfast. Definitely stay here again in our next trip.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel and discuss your room preferences before booking on a web site - you may get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been here before and have had no complaints but.....we called in last night for something to eat on the way home and were very disappointed. I had a small fish and chips and was glad it was small, the fish itself was nice but the batter was like rock and not very nice and the chips were nothing to write home about. My husband ordered the lasagne special and couldn't eat it, it was so awful, he felt it had been very much over cooked and was quite burnt. He sent it back a being inedible and ordered soup instead which he said was fine but not wonderful. There was no apology for the bad food but they did not charge us for it which was fine but an apology would have been nice. We will not be going back here again that is for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochNessLodge, Front Office Manager at Loch Ness Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment, we like to gain as much feedback as possible so we can improve on our service, and know what we are getting right.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal, however we are some what puzzled as on the date of your visit, our establishment was closed. We are a seasonal hotel in operation between March - October, we also have not had Lasagna on our menu as we pride ourselves to offer Scottish Fayre, we cater for all dietary requirements and have a beautiful vegetarian dish too.
Perhaps you could get in touch with us and confirm that is was our restaurant you ate in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

WE had a lovely two night stay here, although there are no views of Loch Ness it does not detract from the lovely feel and the fact that its only two mins away by car. Short walk into town where there are great little bars. Staff and service were great, as was the food, although service was a bit slower for breakfast (but we were in no hurry). Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here with my partner and had a lovely time, The restaurant food was lovely and all the staff were very friendly. Great location for all the sightseeing around Loch Ness. Short walk into drumnadrochit and was a cosy little place. Would come back with friends just for the nice relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The one night we stayed at this historic hotel that dates from 1740 was one of the highlights of our two-week trip to Scotland. Tartans everywhere (but this is Scotland!) with a dignified gentleman in a kilt making sure everything ran smoothly. Our room was immaculate and the bath, with its old fashioned bidet, charming.

We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, and the food and service were excellent. The table settings could be a bit intimidating to those unaccustomed to formal dining, because there was silverware galore, with utensils for everything from cream soup to dessert. One just has to remember to work from the outside inward toward one's plate, and that the silverware at the top of the plate is for the dessert service.

For those wanting to learn about Loch Ness, tours are easily arranged at a shop next door, where you board a van for a ride to the dock for an hour-long boat ride on the loch. The knowledgeable guide has photos of the creatures that he's taken himself. Locals never speak of the Loch Ness monster or Nessie, but simply speak of the creatures. And there have been and still are many of those creatures, because they've been sighted by many people for centuries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I visited Loch Ness for the first time, we booked it over the phone and they were really nice.
The personal was very nice, but the hotel has tartan everywhere.... all over rooms, hall, stairs, etc.. an overload. The room smelled like damp, it was cold. But i couldn't stand the smell so i had to open the window. Single glassing.. well somehow later it got warm, the heating is way to small for that big room. Next morning the windows were fogged up, we went for breakfast. The room was very dark also the curtains were closed i am guessing to cover up the fogged up windows. They didn't have any vegetarian options, so i ate a few bites from the toast and eggs and i left. The water pressure while taking a shower was crap.. never again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Ness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Lodge

Address: Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Ness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 50 bedroom hotel caters for all clientele, families, couples, singles, friends and groups. We have a restaurant that serves a table d' hote menu three course meal. Our Pibroch Whisky Bar has an extensive choice of whiskys. The Loch Ness Monster Exhibition Centre is on hotel grounds and Nessie Hunter Cruises, hourly cruises on Loch Ness depart from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Ness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Hotel Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Lodge Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Ness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.