We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Loch Ness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Ness Lodge

Save Saved
You added Loch Ness Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Ness Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Drumnadrochit
St. Albert
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One night in Loch Ness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived at the hotel after a long trip down from the Orkneys to be greeted by both friendly and very informative staff. The lounge / bar was both intriguing and comforting. I have yet to see one as comfortable as it any where else in Scotland. We stayed in the old part of the hotel which whiles it does show its age slightly is both clean, comfortable and everything you could want. I would stay here again with out even a second thought. Location wise is very good as well with plenty of parking and a "Nessie" info center just next door.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room in the old part... it was grand and very enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    59
    40
    31
    27
See reviews for
56
69
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived to a welcoming and informative reception. Our room was a good size with plenty of storage space. It was maybe a little dated but clean. A minor observation is that we would have preferred ceramic cups on the welcome tray rather that the disposable paper ones. Also it would be nice to see a guest information pack in the room. Bathroom was clean and good size and well equipped with toiletries. Shower was excellent - plenty of pressure and good temperature control.
We dined in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and found the staff to be very efficient and attentive. We were very impressed with the quality and price of the food. Breakfasts were very good too with plenty of choice and everything freshly cooked.
Very comfortable bar area with lovely open fire and not dominated by large screen tvs. We did however notice several guests who arrived back to the hotel after an evening out, to find the bar closed. Maybe having a late night bar person or night porter would alleviate this situation and allow guests to get a late night dink if required.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just back from a one night stay here. On entering this horrible place you are greeted by a damp musty smell and a dingy looking reception area. While checking in I enquired about having lunch. "We do not do lunch" was the reply. Perhaps a drink afrom the bar then? "The bar doesn't open until 5pm" Nice start after a 3 hour drive!! We were allocated a room in what appears to be an annexe with a dark corridor and creaky floorboards. The room was off a decent size with a small, ancient looking double bed on which was the tiniest of duvets. The bathroom was quite small but looked clean. The room was very cold as the window had been left open. There were no radiators, only an electric heater which took an age to warm up. The heater appeared to be on a timer which I reset to enable it to come on. Their is no double glazing therefore be prepared for noise if you are on the road side like we were. On attempting to freshen up the hot water took ages to come through the tap on the wash hand basin. The shower over the bath was highly dangerous and you run the risk of being scalded if other guests are running cold water!! Gave up trying to shower. Thank god we were only there for one night.
Lay down on the bed and was entertained by a spider spinning a web in one corner of the ceiling which helped to even things up as other corners had the same decoration.
Sleep was almost impossible due to traffic noise, people using toilets and creeping around. Yes the walls are very thin.
The breakfast in the morning is about the only positive I can mention. All items were cooked well and the waiting girls in the dining room were very pleasant.
We will never again return to this Hotel and as a Scot I feel embarrassed that places like this exist. Some people suggest that the Loch Ness Lodge Hotel is "quirky" I would prefer to call it a dump!!!

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel or B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

the hotel is good value, comfortable, friendly and authentic. The food is excellent. We'd go back. The Nessieland is fun. We really enjoyed the open fire and comfortable lounge. The place has great tartan carpets and curtains and book lined walls. It made a great base for Nessie hunting. We were glad to find no tvs in lounge and bar. It is very quirky and Scottish. We would certainly go back. We booked an extra night after our original two and leff feeling refreshed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived at the end of September with our two small children to find the room had been left with the bathroom window open and no heating on. The only heater in the room was an oil filled radiator that you could only switch on for 2 hours at a time! The hotel is very dated.
The dinner in the restaurant was okay but very overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is very smartly turned out with a lot of tartan everywhere, the staff were very friendly and very helpful from helping with your luggage to directing you to stunning locations nearby. The food was very good and plenty of it, with it's log fires the lounge and bar areas were always very cosy.
The boat trip which picks up at the hotel is worth a go as the skipper knows a lot about loch ness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Book in quick and easy.
Room ok in size but not what we booked, it was 2 single beds, made up separately pushed together!! Cobwebs in bedroom and when we want to put our toiletried under the sink in bathroom it was very dirty! Light in toilet above the sink was flashing and the lamp nearest the window was flickering too. The tv didn't work, tried to tune it in and found a very fuzzy channel. Went for breakfast and the waitress seen us to our table and gave us no time to check the menu to see what was on offer so we asked for a minute to check before deciding on our cooked choices and literally a minute later she was back before we had even had our cereal. She then left and told us to help ourselves to cereal and fruit juices which we did and when we returned with them the waitress brought our cooked breakfast so the cooked items were left sitting with us until we finished our cereal. Feeling rushed very much.
After breakfast we decided to go and check out the gift shop next door and when we returned we were going to freshen up in our room and then check out however when we got to our room the towels had been taken away and our beds stripped without even officially checking out!! We were not amused to say the least and the girl and the reception smiled and said "oh right"!!
This was our honeymoon weekend and we intended on doing this every year but in future we will be staying else where.
We are not easy to please but this place takes the biscuit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loch Ness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Lodge

Address: Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Ness Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 50 bedroom hotel caters for all clientele, families, couples, singles, friends and groups. We have a restaurant that serves a table d' hote menu three course meal. Our Pibroch Whisky Bar has an extensive choice of whiskys. The Loch Ness Monster Exhibition Centre is on hotel grounds and Nessie Hunter Cruises, hourly cruises on Loch Ness depart from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Loch Ness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Hotel Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Lodge Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Ness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.