We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting insight into the search for Nessie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition

Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition
Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
+44 1456 450573
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Specialty Shops, Specialty Museums, Bodies of Water, Amusement Parks
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a 5 star visitor attraction and retail complex. Loch Ness is already the most famous lake in the world but our aim is to make it better understood. This is achieved through a fully audio visually guided 35 minute tour. The presentation is theatrical in style and integrates the real tools and archive footage from four decades of research. As part of our educational remit, under 6s go free. The facts are objectively explained and whilst keeping the mystery centre stage, we place it in the context of the loch's very unusual properties. Thus we are endorsed by Scottish Natural Heritage as "A portal to the unique natural phenomenon that is Loch Ness". We offer a huge range of retail onsite and boat cruises on Loch Ness in the summer months. There is also a large cafe and restaurant attached to the site.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting insight into the search for Nessie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

A good video story tour of the biology of potential monsters, the geography/geology of the Loch and then the search for Nessie including lots of different examples of hoaxes and unexplained sightings.
It kind of lulls a little towards the end. Maybe a room with a big monster at the end... then the shop.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    202
    174
    78
    52
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This was an interesting place to visit. The self guided tour was not the best. You wander from room to room and watch snippets of videos about Loch Ness. It was not what I had imagined it to be. The gift shop was good if not a bit overpriced for tourists like myself. But we went just because we were near there and we were in Scotland.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Alittle disappointing but informative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Our family traveled to the Loch Ness Centre from North Wales. Once we bought our tickets, we went from room to room watching videos and looking at pictures. At times it was a little bit boring but we did learn about the history behind the Loch Ness. After the walk thru, we ended up in the gift shop and purchased several souvenirs to take home to family and friends. We had our lunch in the cafe on site. I felt the money we spent on both the tickets and cafe was a little much but this is probably the only time we will have a chance to go. As they say "once in a lifetime". The views across the street of the loch are gorgeous and we took several pictures.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It will answer all your questions about Loch Ness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

This was a less than stellar place to visit. The exhibition is mainly composed of videos that discuss various aspects of the loch (history, the monster, etc.). When you purchase your ticket, you are grouped with whoever else has arrived at that same time, and you move from room to room as a group. Some of the rooms have seating, some don't. Even the ones with seating didn't have a lot of seating. The videos did have some interesting bits to them. They explained in detail all of the tremendous efforts to find a monster and why, in the end, there really can't be one in the loch (sorry to break it to you!). Overall I'm not sure it was worth the money, but we did learn a lot.

The more interesting part was a room at the end which had news accounts of monster sightings, headphones with people's accounts of the stories on them, information about other aspects of the Loch's history, etc. This room was quite small--more of a hallway, really--and did not lend itself to long perusing of the information, as everyone else was just trying to get through the hallway and out.

Teen's Opinion: Nice little thing to go see at the end of our trip because it had a bunch of history besides just the Loch Ness monster videos.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day out...entertaining and interesting...highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

It's been a while since we first visited the centre but once again we were extremely entertained and had a great experience. The exhibition is very well presented and there's a huge variety in the gift shop...which my niece loved! Afterwards we enjoyed a relaxing drink in the lovely coffee shop. I particularly enjoyed learning about my family history in the ancestral names shop. Definitely recommend this to others, well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands
 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.