We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urquhart Castle

Urquhart Castle
2 mi southeast of Drumnadrochit on A82, Drumnadrochit IV63 6XJ, Scotland
+44 (0)1456 450 551
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Driving, Group tours/bus tour, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An atmospheric ruin overlooking the dark waters of Loch Ness, this dramatic castle has a long and bloody history. Once one of Scotland's mightiest strongholds, Urquhart's strategic location gave it a key role in the Scottish battle for independence. It came under the control of Robert the Bruce before a 150-year power struggle between the Stewart dynasty and the MacDonald Lords of the Isles.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Toowoomba
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014 NEW

We were fortunate enough to visit the castle at a quiet time - just before and during sunrise on 23/12. The staff member at the castle (Stuart) was incredibly friendly and, as we were the only visitors for about half an hour, took the time to tell us about some of the history of the castle and of the site. We were very grateful for his time and enthusiasm - it made our visit to an already incredible ruin even better.

It's a beautiful ruin, and I do recommend you take the time to explore the grounds thoroughly. Some wonderful opportunities for photographs if the weather holds up!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    429
    140
    41
    33
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanshurst
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent and thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW

We are currently holidaying in Scotland and visited the castle yesterday. Our main intention was to visit Loch Ness and we were advised that our best view of the Loch would be to head towards Urquhart Castle.

Firstly, in a day of ever decreasing standards of good politeness, it is a breath of fresh air, to come across the guy on reception duties with such genuine welcoming charm. His manners are impeccable and he is a credit to the Castle staff.

The Castle ruins are well worth the visit, but this is overtaken by the quite stunning views of Loch Ness. We were lucky in that the incessant rain of the past few days had held off and yesterday was clear and bright and sunny. We saw the Loch in all it's splendour from various heights and angles from the Castle viewpoints.

The Castle is set in clean and tidy grounds and the gift shop is as good as we have seen. A wide variety at reasonably good prices. There is also a decent restaurant on site and plenty ofarking spaces. I would imagine it gets very busy during peak summer season.

Well worth the visit and to be recommended if you are in the area.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 NEW

Rainy day when I went unfortunately. Was staying in Drumnadrochit and the buses in January weren't too often. I was walking the great glen way so walking the 3km from town didn't really appeal funnily enough.

Still nice to visit, but if didn't really feel the need to spend more than an hour here. Awesome gift shop.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Castle Ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

The ruins of Urquhart Castle perched on the banks of Loch Ness near the village of Drumnadrochit is one of the most picturesque iconic landmarks in Scotland. My family is lucky enough not to miss this must-see attraction as the visit to Urquhart Castle forms part of Jacobite Cruise Freedom Tour of Loch Ness. Climb up the castle tower for amazing views & good camera shots up the length of Loch Ness. Too bad we did not have a glimpse of the Nessie, the legendary Loch Ness Monster. Ha Ha. Don't miss the Visitor Centre for information & documentary video of the castle plus the Gift Shop for attractive souvenirs of Loch Ness/Urquhart Castle. Our family truly enjoyed the wonderful & breathtaking experience of Urquhart Castle and were glad we did not miss it as this was not originally part of our itinerary. Recommended must-see medieval castle in Scotland.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent guided tour of Urquhart Castle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

I am a member of Historic Scotland and have been to Urquhart Castle on a few occasions. I visited again on the 8th December and had a great tour of the castle by Graham Fraser. Graham's knowledge and professionalism was first class and made up 5th trip even more interesting.

Overall the Historic Scotland staff really do their best to help and provide you with all the information you require.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urquhart Castle also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Urquhart Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urquhart Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.