We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommend this address to any nature and scottish lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shenval Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shenval Bed & Breakfast
Drumnadrochit IV63 6TW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Cernay, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We recommend this address to any nature and scottish lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights by Christiane and Pierre-Marie and did not regret having met this nice couple, who gave us many advices to ease our stay in this area of Scotland : how to avoid the midges invasion, how to make a great walk at the Glen Affric even if the weather is not sure, where having a good dinner...

We also appreciated their kindness and their simple way of life, in a cosy little house, where you feel at your ease....arround a delicious breakfast (with mushrooms picked from the morning!) , a cup of tea or a drop of whisky...

Many thanks to them, who gave us the scottish virus, and the envy to open our B&B in our country.....
We recommend this address to any nature and scottisch lovers !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katonah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We went to Shenval to hike in gorgeous, wild Glen Affric. Pierre and Christiane Lebrun welcomed us like old friends and helped immeasurably to set us on our path. Shenval is a charming, cozy little B&B with the kindest of proprietors.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Pierre-Marie and Christiane were impeccable hosts - warm, welcoming, full to brimming with good advice about walks and helpful statistics about capercaillies! Charming accents, too. They cook lovely, simple meals with the odd special touch here and there. Their B&B sits in a quiet hamlet just off the road from Drumnadrochit to Tomich (avoid the former, visit the latter!) and is a great base for walks, even if (like us) you don't have a car. In case you need another good reason to visit, Pierre-Marie and Christiane are very committed to sustainable living - and offer a nuanced, informed perspective on the ecology of the Highlands. Ask questions!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stayed at Shenval for several nights in November. It was my first visit but from the moment we arrived it felt more like staying with friends than in a B and B. After our walks we were welcomed back with tea and biscuits and our wet clothes were whisked away to be dried overnight. Pierre and Christiane went far beyond the call of duty by patiently allowing me to practise my hesitant French on them! The delicious breakfasts and evening meals were just what we needed before and after our wintry walks.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

looking for somewhere to stay close to Glen Affric,we happen to see this lovely B and B sign on the roadside. we were welcomed as friends and given helpful advice where to find good pub food ( the Steading Pub, 1mile away). Christiane and Pierre-Marie are charming hosts, just on the right side of friendliness. The breakfasts are delicious and the cottage is very cosy. A very affordable price too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

The hospitality of the owners and there knowledge of Highlands will give many opportunities for most interesting sight seeings. Fans of organic food will appreciate
the breakfast before a long walk in one of the glens only a few miles away from Shenval.
Really worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

If you are out exploring the Highlands of Scotland, don't miss Shenval B&B, a quiet place located between Loch Ness and Glen Affric.
I have been staying again this autumn at Shenval B&B (as I do once a year since I first came here long time ago).
The hosts, Christiane and Pierre-Marie Lebrun, are extremely welcoming and friendly. I absolutely love the peaceful and warm atmosphere of their home.
All rooms look out onto the garden and the hills, and you can watch the birds inspecting the currant bushes, or a rabbit taking its morning walk.
Breakfasts are a delight, varied and gorgeous, with fresh homemade bread and jam ; and dinners (if you have chosen to dine) are fabulous.
The nice bedrooms are spotlessly clean and cosy, and the beds so comfortable !
One sleeps well and dreams of the scottish scenery, thanks to the wonderful pictures (made by Pierre-M.) everywhere in the house.
Christiane and Pierre-M are Scotland-lovers and excellent connoisseurs of the area, of its hills and glens, wildlife, history and culture. They offer generously a lot of useful tips to discover the surroundings. Always attentive and caring for their guests, they help me planning my daily outings, and give me good advice to make the best of it.
The only "but" ... is that it is so painful to have to leave at the end of the week and go away...
Happily, I look forward to go back, next spring or autumn

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shenval Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenval Bed & Breakfast

Address: Drumnadrochit IV63 6TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Shenval Bed & Breakfast Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shenval Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shenval Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list