We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Links Hotel

Golf Links Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golspie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golf Links Hotel
Save
You added Golf Links Hotel to your Saves list
Church Street, Golspie, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Golspie
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very happy place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Since I work all week away from home doing my job I stay in numerous hotels around the country from north and south west and east, this is one of the most quaint little hotels I have stayed in, we travelled up from the north east through the night and the owner was there ready for us at 07:30, we were shown our room which had a absolutely beautiful view of the hills, the room was well equipped with every thing that we needed, we were there for 4 nights and I liked it that much I asked my company to book me there again this week. highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed one night on a tour around Scotland. Location on seafront was excellent. Bedroom was comfortable and adequate, lounge and bar area was also comfortable. The let down was the quality of the food, we had dinner and it was very basic and best decribed as bar food standard. The breakfast was good and had the dinner the previosu evening been of the same standard it would have got a higher rating

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The view from this hotel is amazing. Miles and miles of beach to walk along right at your doorstep. The bar is well stocked with over 200 whisky's to choose from. The hotel itself is okay, the rooms need some updating, especially the bathroom. Water pressure is low but the temperature is not an issue. Breakfast was good, dinner was average and reasonably priced. Linda and Richard (the owners) were quite friendly as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend. The rooms are OK, clean and tidy. The hotel has a beautiful setting and Golspie was very nice.

However, the breakfast was bland, cheap and tasteless. The staff (owners !) were not very friendly and in all honestly the hotel did not represent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had already stayed in 4 small Inns/Hotels before we arrived in Golspie. In comparison the hotel while clean and having a pleasant location was way behind the others in terms of food. There seemed to be no indication that they sourced local products, say 100 mile radius, the eveing meal may have come out of bottles/jars/packets/the microwave and the breakfast menu was limited for example no fresh fish. In the bar while having an extremely large range of whisky there were no local beers say from the Black Isle or closer. Linda and Richard who were welcoming and friendly need to raise their game on this issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Linda and Richard were lovely, really friendly and very helpful. We stayed at the golf links hotel for 2 nights for a weekend in July 2012 for a good friends wedding. Breakfast was great full english with local produce, not greasy just lovely. The rooms were clean and comfortable loads of storage. Had everything you need. Richard was great behind the bar dealing with loads of wedding guest taking over his hotel. Endless whiskey selection. We had an amazing view from our room. Thank you Linda and Richard for looking after us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We knew we were going to arrive quite late in the evening, after flying into Inverness .. and we knew we would be too late to for dinner so we emailed in advace to ask if they could put a sandwich in our room .. they refused saying the dinning room closed at 8pm. The owners live next door and the bar was manned until the late hours - serving whiskey - so we thought it was a bit mean that they couldn't have done a sandwich - especially as they provide packed lunches..
The location and the views are lovely - however the bedroom was mediocre and nothing special .We couldn;t work the shower and were made to feel a bit stupid when we asked fro help, The dinner in the dining room was awful pre - packaged and taseless.. Nothing fresh, The breakfast was ok though. The whole tone of the place is not very friendly and I would not reccomend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Links Hotel

Address: Church Street, Golspie, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Golspie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Golspie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel situated on the sea front with stunning views all 9 rooms are en-suite with tea coffee, tv, dvd, hair drier, we have a lounge bar with over 160 malts and good beers a residents lounge plenty of parking and a large garden if it is relaxation your after this is the place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golf Links Hotel Golspie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Links Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.