We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissappointed with service and food .” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Links Hotel

Golf Links Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golspie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golf Links Hotel
Save
You added Golf Links Hotel to your Saves list
Church Street, Golspie, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Golspie
uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“dissappointed with service and food .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We knew we were going to arrive quite late in the evening, after flying into Inverness .. and we knew we would be too late to for dinner so we emailed in advace to ask if they could put a sandwich in our room .. they refused saying the dinning room closed at 8pm. The owners live next door and the bar was manned until the late hours - serving whiskey - so we thought it was a bit mean that they couldn't have done a sandwich - especially as they provide packed lunches..
The location and the views are lovely - however the bedroom was mediocre and nothing special .We couldn;t work the shower and were made to feel a bit stupid when we asked fro help, The dinner in the dining room was awful pre - packaged and taseless.. Nothing fresh, The breakfast was ok though. The whole tone of the place is not very friendly and I would not reccomend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent a few days in Golspie and haven't noticed this hotel & restaurant until we decided to visit the Pier. It is a little bit off track (from the main road, but very close to the train station, etc) but we were so happy to have discovered this gem!
Beautiful settings with a fantastic view so we decided to go in for a meal. We were welcomed by a very polite person who escorted us to the bar and brought us the menus. The bar was stocked with so many malts that we found it phenomenal, we found there was free wi-fi as well.
After a short while we were shown to our table. This dinning room was spectacular! Beautiful room with nice stonework walls and nice flooring. Huge windows to admire the beautiful view.
The Salmon Supreme was the best salmon I ate in ages! Delicious choice and I recommend it.
After our meal we requested to see the rooms and we were shown two beautiful ensuite rooms and we wished we had booked this hotel instead, it was cheaper and more beautiful. So we will be back in Golspie and will definitely stay at the Golf Links Hotel.

Room Tip: Free wi-fi, no password.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile


Clean, but owner's wife in dirty jumper serving food. Food absolutely disgusting, cheap, pre packed,badly microwaved and overpriced. Would definitely not return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed for one night on business, and was generally very impressed. Great location on the beach with a bright resident's lounge that allows you to enjoy the view despite the unreliable local climate. I'd imagine all the rooms have a view of either the sea or Ben Bhraggie, the hill behind the town. welcome was friendly and the owners always available and helpful.

The room was clean and well decorated with flat screen TV, adequate desk and comfortable bed. Bit cold when I arrived but soon warmed up once the central heating came on, beds have electric blankets which is always a good thing. My room had great water pressure, though the hot water took a few minutes to work through the plumbing.

The bar was well stocked with whisky if a bit pricey. Food was adequate in the evening, breakfast was above average. Highlight was the comfortable resident's lounge with a big collection of DVDs to watch on the big screen or in your room, and a fair assortment of reading materials.

I can't comment on value for money but it is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in recently and would make a good base for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in September 2011 with our 11 month old daughter. We were taken to view the room before we stayed to make sure our travel cot would fit. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The evening meal, was dissapointing, but the breakfast was lovely. The owner has a vast DVD collection which he allows you to select from and take to your room, something i havent come accross before but a nice personal touch! The Hotel is in a great location right on the beach so be sure to take a gander.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Very disappointing, great location and views and very clean, but the room was cold the one small radiator in the room was ineffectual and only every luke warm. The water pressure was very low and it barely trickled from the shower. Breakfast was ok but the evening meal menu was straight from plastic bags from the freezer - poor quality. Did mention the problems with the room on checkout - they were obviously aware of them - to add insult to injury an extra £3.92 was added to the bill because we paid by debit card! At a total of £134.67 we ended up feeling like we'd been mugged! This was by far the most expensive B&B that we stayed in during our trip and we stayed in some really lovely hotels, had great fresh food and warmth!

Room Tip: Don't choose no 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Room okay, but hotel lacks Highland hospitality. Food from microwave., poor menu and bar over priced. Would not go back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Links Hotel

Address: Church Street, Golspie, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Golspie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Golspie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel situated on the sea front with stunning views all 9 rooms are en-suite with tea coffee, tv, dvd, hair drier, we have a lounge bar with over 160 malts and good beers a residents lounge plenty of parking and a large garden if it is relaxation your after this is the place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golf Links Hotel Golspie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Links Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.