We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blar Mhor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golspie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blar Mhor B&B
Save
You added Blar Mhor B&B to your Saves list
Drummuie Road, Golspie KW10 6SY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Golspie B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Charming Hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed three nights in June at the Blar Mhor in Golspie. George and Eileen (?Sp) the couple who own the B & B are very outgoing and charming hosts. Food is nothing to rave about but will fill you up. We were staying in room no. 1 by the front door. Large, bright room with very high ceiling - beautiful. Were only bothered once (over three days) by noise coming from the main hallway. Most guests were very discreet. Would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
30
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely B&B run by a friendly family.... Highly recommend this if your in the area, great rooms, so quiet at night, wifi and £30 per person..... It's too cheap....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

A warm welcome by Irene & George. Beautiful home with a great view. We had the front left double room and were pleasantly surprised to be able to also use the large lounge room off this with a lovely log fire. Beaut cooked breakfast. Clean and tidy room, smallish bathroom (toilet didn't flush too well) But overall very good value for money.

Room Tip: We had the front left room. It was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

i use alot of hotels/b&bs in my line of work and rarely i find a place worthy enough to review! A good guideline for me is if i would actually return in my own time with my other half. With Blar Mhor i definately would. Rooms very good standard, and excellent value. Extremely nice touches such as mineral water, chocolates, shortbread, ample clean fresh towels daily. My room had amazing sea views. Irene and geordie jack are amazing hosts, Irenes homecooked food is absolutely outstanding. They usualy only do breakfast (which is fantasic) but Irene managed to accomodate 6 evening meals for me and my work colleagues and the food did not disappoint! 5 min walk to pub and shops, amazing scenary, well positioned base to explore this beautiful part of the highlands. A must is the nearby clynelish distillery, fascinated, and one of my favourite single malts. Have a 'nip' on me

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in August 2011. Met at the door by the landlady, Irene, a proper highland lady, warm friendly and informative. Compared with city prices, accommodation was a steal, with a well cooked hearty breakfast. Geordie jack the owner is obviously a musical man, as there were platinum records in the hall, an on the Saturday night we saw his band play in the local fete! Room was clean, well furnished and tastefully decorated ( not a cheesy picture of Castles or highland cows in sight). Can't recommend this b+b enough after staying in what can only be described as a 70s fawlty towers in fortwilliam, and being ripped off to the tune of 120 in oban to stay in what wa effectively a travel lodge without the quality, blarmhor totally rekindled my belief there's still decent, honest accommodation in the highlands.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

we had a lovely stay at the blar mhor b&b, the house was beautiful and a great room , the couple were so welcoming, and who was to know the guy was the singer from the famous highland band the jacks, previously known as colorado, very friendly lovely couple, we would highly recommend this one to anyone

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Me, my family and my partner traveled up to Golspie for some time away between 4th - 7th August 2011. We were making the trip from Leeds to Golspie to visit family and enjoy the annual Golspie Gala. Me and my partner decided to stay in Blar Mhor upon recommendation from a family member who lives in Golspie. We had a brilliant stay and would definitely stay again. Irene and Jack were brilliant hosts and very warm and welcoming. We were greeted by Jack who was extremely friendly and had been expecting us. He promptly showed us to our room which was on the 1st floor of the anexe and accessed by the external metal stair case. This was ideal as we had no worries about waking or disturbing any other guests if we arrived back to the room late at night ( The local hotels and pubs are in full flow during the gala!) The room was clean and fresh with all the usual facilities. The free Wifi is a big bonus as getting a phone signal in the Highlands can be difficult and you have no chance of a 3G connection on your smart phone. A hearty breakfast was cooked up by Irene every morning and she was more than happy to cater for your tastes. There was a fully stocked supply of fresh juice, cereal and preserves every morning as well as cooked breakfast. The couple are very friendly and genuinely interested in looking after you during your stay. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blar Mhor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blar Mhor B&B

Address: Drummuie Road, Golspie KW10 6SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Golspie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Golspie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Blar Mhor B&B Golspie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blar Mhor B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.