We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"clean but not a lot else"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Orchid Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Orchid Guest House
Save
You added Wild Orchid Guest House to your Saves list
Durness, Durness IV27 4PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Durness B&B and Inns
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"clean but not a lot else"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a small double room and that is what it was "Small" It still cost £70 for one night .The guest sitting room was comfortable . Breakfast in the morning you had to make your own toast and help yourself to coffee from the coffee machine.full English cooked breakfast was average .Sorry but if we were coming back to Scotland we would not stay here .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
49
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a basic guest house. It is dated but very clean.

Breakfasts are quite good.

Showers small but serviceable.

No tv in room.

The bed and pillows were quite good.

Would recommend staying if you can not go higher end.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This guest house has everything necessary for a comfortable stay, with a large guest sitting room and a nice conservatory for breakfast. The standard of accomodation and the breakfast were average. Our room (1) lacked some of the finer points, such as a mirror in the bedroom (there was one in the bathroom) and a bedside table for one bed. The owners were very friendly.

Although I have rated this guest house as average I would be happy to stay there again. ( In my experience guest house and B&B standards in Scotland have risen a lot in recent years, so my expectations are high)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My friend and I only had the chance to stay at this lovely bed and breakfast for one night, but the rooms were very clean and welcoming and the bed was very comfortable. The service from the owners was very good, nothing was too much trouble. Would really love to stay again one day!! Thank you. Oh, and the breakfast, awesome xx

Room Tip: Awesomely recommend tis lovely bed and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A couple of years ago I was driving coaches and one of my last jobs was to drive to Durness from Poole with another driver. After a very drawn out drive with the coach having an alternator fail and traffic delays we were almost up on our driving hours when we got there. We arrived at about 3pm and needed to catch some sleep as we were aiming to be back on the road for the long hike back after our 9 hours rest. The lady who ran the B&B said as we had not go there in time for breakfast and as we were aiming to leave at midnight that she would make us an evening meal. We woke up about 8:30pm and were given what has to be the best homemade steak and ale pie, homemade chips and peas ive ever tasted. It was delicious. And for pudding a homemade bread and butter pudding.The lady and her staff were great hosts and I strongly recommend this b&b if youre up that way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After a long drive we received a really warm welcome. The rooms were first class, everything very clean and the breakfast, which was served in the conservatory was excellent - especially the pancakes! The local pub a short walk away served very good meals but would suggest you go early as it is very busy.
Would certainly go back again and recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed for three days during the marathon and I have never felt more welcome at a guest house.
I always think the best places make you feel like you are at home with friends rather than in someone else's house. Kathy, Jackie and Florie will give you the best welcome and the best humour you could ask for. Everything us runners needed was on tap; even a custom big porridge breakfast on our big day! Room was great, loads of parking and 5 minutes from town.
Thank you all again and see you next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Orchid Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Orchid Guest House

Address: Durness, Durness IV27 4PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Wild Orchid Guest House Durness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Orchid Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.