We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smoo Cave

Smoo Cave
Durness, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Attractions in Durness
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Attraction details
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“First Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We walked to the cave from our motorhome campsite. Quite a number of steps down to the cave. There is a chap who will take youon a tour of the cave but at £4 adult £2 child its a bit expensive for what the tour is...in a flimsy dinghy. You can walk a short way intot he cave yourself and see the waterfall inside.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    106
    18
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Took my son there and we had a lovely day and met a man called Colin who runs the wee boat trip further inside the cave which we did not do! my son was a little bit too young and did not want to go in, which was a shame Because Colin was very intresting and had alot of imformation on the area and knew everything about the cave and the history there.
.We did go inside and across the bridge and walk way in to the main cave and saw a wonderful waterful and walked across the top where you can see down into the cave .
We also went to Durness beach and Coco Mountain shop where u can get the best Hot Chocolate

my son and i had a brillant time and is well worth the Visit we will go back again as we did not have enough time to everything we wanted to do in Durness.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An interesting little trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The cave itself was fantastic and we were shown round by a rather ...eh... quirky ... guide. Worth a try.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Smoo the noo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I've been in for a wonder before to Smoo in the summertime when the boat takes you in deeper to the cave from the viewing platform. Great place to visit when it's winter too, and there's lots more water thundering through.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“An impressive cave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We visited in March when the boat trip was unavailable - the place was also deserted which made it a better experience. We were able to hear the noise of the waterfall in the inner cave (and could see it quite clearly from a small platform) and spent some time beachcombing in the pleasant bay in front of the cave. There is a cliff top walk from the bay but this requires another climb uphill on the opposite side from the steps from the carpark. I'm 56 years old and 'well built' and managed the steps with no problem. Tackling the cliff top walk as well would have been too much for me.
If you are interested in Geology this limestone cave in an area of schists, granite and gneiss presents some different features. It was a rewarding conclusion to a fabulous drive along the North coast road.
There is a 'swallow hole' a little way from the car park where the river above disappears into the cave below. This has a viewing platform.

The public toilet block in the car park was locked up (Time of year? though other toilet blocks around Sutherland were open)
The cave is free to enter at all times, but I understand that there is a small charge for the boat ride in season.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoo Cave also viewed

Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Kinlochbervie, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Smoo Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoo Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.