We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Croispol Bookshop, Restaurant & Gallery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Loch Croispol Bookshop, Restaurant & Gallery
2 Balnakeil Craft Village, Durness IV27 4PT, Scotland
(44)1971511777
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very welcoming, friendly atmosphere. Fantastic stock of books, both second hand and new, also featuring work from locals. Food is superb, forget the previous review of 'hunt for the lentil', I had that soup and it was a thoroughly delightful meal! Awesome place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sorry nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It's a second hand bookshop with not much stock or range and the cafe part didn't really do it for us so we went across the road to the Cocoa Mountain.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of england
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Dreadful food and slow service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Not knowing any better (unfortunately) we ended up here for a late lunch. No welcoming atmosphere and untidy surroundings - we really should have left but my other half had driven all morning and was hungry. The owner(?) was very slow at clearing up the few tables that had been used and, after we placed our order, it took an age to arrive. The beef sandwich was a slice of processed indeterminable "meat" and served on stale white sliced processed bread. My vegetable & lentil soup was "hunt the lentil" soup and very watery. The bread roll was rock hard on the bottom where it had obviously been over-defrosted in the microwave. I mentioned that perhaps the lentils had been forgotten when the soup had been made but the owners said that it was the lentils that thickened up the soup...not in this case! I would recommend people to try elsewhere....anywhere in fact as this place is just dreadful with owners and food to match.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best chocolate cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant/bookshop is just amazing, I went here 4 times during my stay in durness, they have new books and second hand but with a great variety, and their food is delicious! Especially the chocolate cake, I had this to die for creation twice and will return for more next year!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family lunch stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fantastic little cafe packed with books and the staff were very friendly indeed. It's pretty typical cafe type food but we were very happy with what we had (I had the veggie breakfast, kids enjoyed the chips). They were very busy when we were there but all the books & the relaxed atmosphere meant it was easy to keep the kids amused. This was the last place we tried for food in Durness (others were a bit too upmarket or closed) and very glad we found it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Croispol Bookshop, Restaurant & Gallery also viewed

Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Croispol Bookshop, Restaurant & Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.