We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dornoch Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dornoch Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Dornoch Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dornoch
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a lovely meal and drinks here one Saturday night recently. The food is excellent - I had the cullen skink to start which is easily the best cullen skink I've ever had. The sea bass after was beautiful too. The hotel has a great atmosphere and the bar is a great place to relax with a few drinks after dinner. My husband enjoyed trying a few whiskies from the excellent selection. Would love to come back to stay a night or two here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    143
    53
    28
    12
See reviews for
65
303
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Superb room with complimentary sherry and choccies. Friendly staff. Warm welcome on a damp grey day. Superb dinner with Scottish flavours. Great breakfast. Parking outside no charges. Lovely town. Met lovely people in the bar which is very well stocked with whiskers.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful. Dinner bed and breakfast rate excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here recently for one night on our way to Orkney. The bar is very atmospheric with a great range of whiskies which staff will advise you on. Dinner was very good. Staff all very nice and helpful throughout. Our room was in the extension rather than the castle, very comfortable and in good condition. Overall, a good hotel to consider for lots of reasons - character, service, food, value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have eaten here a number of times and are always pleased with the service. In the past couple of years the food has really impressed. The menu has a good choice and the dishes look and taste great. The portion sizes are good, allowing for three courses (and who would miss a pudding!) without being overstuffed! The bar is heaven for whisky lovers but has a fine selection for those that are not.
We have not stayed in the rooms for some years.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is one the top hotels I've been to, we had a tower room with a four poster open fire and tray of sherry and whiskey left in the room...fantastic food and the bar man chatted to us all night about whiskey...we keep trying to get back there. Highly rated - this no four seasons but is genuine decent and very well run, perfect for it's location.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked The Old Courtroom as a special treat, due to the review on their website, as I love old buildings and furniture.

The hotel itself is full of charm and the garden area idea for enjoying the sunshine.

Sadly the condition of the room itself was a little disappointing. The open plan bath had a cracked bath panel, the toilet (in a side room) was very small. Overall the room is lovely, but the bathing facilities could really do with being upgraded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just back from a nights stay at the Dornoch Castle Hotel and a most enjoyable nights stay it was. Firstly I must admit that the main reason for my stay was the draw of the Castle's incredible selection of Whiskies available behind the hotel's well-stocked bar. I had heard about the selection on offer from friends and I was not disappointed. Make sure you meet either of the two brothers, Fill and Simon, who run the hotel as they have a real passion for whisky and were on hand to help us choose which Whiskies to order.

Sitting beside the hotel's roaring fire sharing some rare Whiskies with my father was a memorable Whisky moment and won't be forgotten quickly. It really is a World Class Whisky Bar.

Thanks also to Scotty the Barman for making sure our beerglasses were never empty.

Our meal was excellent and my Dornoch Lamb was both cooked perfectly and incredibly tasty. Desserts are all made in-house, always a good sign.

We slept soundly in our very comfortable beds though our sleep may have been aided by the many delicious Whiskies we consumed after dinner.

Would definitely return, you would need a fortnight though to enjoy all the Whiskies on offer.

Did I mention the Whisky?

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is almost certainly on the site of the original Bishop's Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th Century, but it is not known when the oldest surviving part of the present building was put up. In 1557 the Palace was given to the Earl of Sutherland by his brother in law, Bishop Robert Stewart. It is clear that the building was erected before that date and may well be of the late 15th Century. The earliest surviving documentary evidence of the Palace is the Charter of 1557 by which the Bishop Robert appointed the Earl of Sutherland and his heirs to be hereditary Constables for Dornoch "situated in the Irish (Gaelic speaking) Country among the wild, unbridled, untamed and savage Scots". The appointment was made by the Bishop who was alarmed by the progress of the Lutheran doctrines and wished to safeguard the property of the Church by putting it temporarily in the care of his relations. He cannot have visualised that the Church would never own its property again. When the building passed into private hands in 1922 it was considerably modernised. Further extensive work was carried out after it became a hotel in 1947. Great care has been taken, however, to maintain the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable residence. This work continues now with the new owners who took over in June of 2000. They have gone some way to restore some of the former glory to this magnificent and fascinating historic building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dornoch Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.