We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hightly recommend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dornoch Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dornoch Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Dornoch Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dornoch
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hightly recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My sister was getting married on Saturday 30th March and they had booked us in to the Dornoch Castle Hotel. We stayed the Saturday night through to Sunday and cannot fault it at all. The staff where so friendly and could,nt do enought for you (what ever it was). The bedrooms where superb, our bed was nice and comfortable the room was very clean and they left a compliementry (small) cariff os Sherry, along with the tea/coffee/hot chocolate and shortbread biscuits. Down in the restaurant we went for the scallops, absolutly amazing (done to perfection). For main we had the Scottish beef fillet, asked for medium rare and again just perfect and melt in the mouth, just about managed to sqeeze a sweet in which was also 100%. We had an excellent nights sleep followed by a full Scottish breakfast which set us up for the day (as we where travelling back to Luton). I recommend this hotel 100% and would not hesitate to return in the future. EXCELLENT !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Good Evening sukisue55,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review!

We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. The staff always enjoy having a wedding party to cater for and are happy to hear that every aspect of your stay was even better than you had anticipated.

All of the staff work together in a tight knit team to ensure that the service, meals, rooms and overall experience are all that could be expected and more!

We always appreciate feedback from our guests and hope you will return soon.

Kindest Regards,
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    143
    53
    28
    12
See reviews for
65
303
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed using itison voucher for relaxing highland retreat. Room was spacious and clean, liked dressing gown and nice toiletries etc provided. At the evening meal my boyfriend who dislikes fish struugled to find anything on the menu that appealed. A hors d'oeuvre of steak tartare was a bit pretentious and something more 'Scottish' such as Haggis filo parcels would I feel have been more appropriate. The food we ordered was delicious, however. The open fire in the entrance hall was lovely on such a cold night. The rest of the hotel was far too cold, especially the upstairs lounge. We had to put on the additional electric fire on in our bedroom to warm it up. Sadly our experience was marred by 2 experiences of the staff not dealing with our requests with polite courtesy. One when we returned tasteless porridge and secondly when we checked out and the extras bill included many items not purchased, i was trying to resolve this and I was told by the Receptionist : "there is no need to be rude". Dornoch Castle, you so nearly get it right but have to learn how to deal professionally and courteously with customers when they have an issue they need to resolve - we will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and myself spent a great few days in this nice hotel. Excellent food was on offer in the restaurant and most of it was local produce.

The staff were great and very attentive. The hotel has a nice atmosphere which is very relaxed and friendly.

I would have no hesitiation in recomending this classic old Scottish Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Good Evening Andrew,

Thank you for your kind comments from your stay with us at the Dornoch Castle hotel.

We are all extremely pleased that you enjoyed the food we have to offer and that you found the hotel to have a relaxing and friendly atmosphere!

We are delighted that you would recommend us and hope you will return to the Dornoch Castle hotel soon!

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for 1 night while passing through, very charming place lovely friendly staff, clean and comfortable room with bathrobes and lovely toiletries. Breakfast was excellent and very affordable, will definitely return
.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you for leaving us a lovely review of your passing through Dornoch!

We are all delighted that you enjoyed the charm that the Castle holds and that you found the room clean and comfortable!

We hope to see you back at the Dornoch Castle hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for business, never been this far up in Scotland before but after my stay here I will be back. Staff were very professional and very friendly, just right. Dinner was really delicious I was stuffed after the taster, starter and main. I'm going back for the puddings I just couldn't manage one that night but saw the other diners eating theirs and they looked amazing.
You must make the effort see the amazing scenery and enjoy the food delights too. It was snowing while I ate breakfast truly tranquil, but I had to leave for work. It's on the map go and enjoy:-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Stayed one night for business, never been this far up in Scotland before but after my stay here I will be back. Staff were very professional and very friendly, just right. Dinner was really delicious I was stuffed after the taster, starter and main. I'm going back for the puddings I just couldn't manage one that night but saw the other diners eating theirs and they looked amazing.
You must make the effort see the amazing scenery and enjoy the food delights too. It was snowing while I ate breakfast truly tranquil, but I had to leave for work. It's on the map go and enjoy:-)

Good Evening,

Thank you for your lovely review!

We are very pleased that you felt our staffs were very friendly, yet professional! We are also glad to hear that your evening meal was delicious! Our chefs own a rosette and they take a lot of pride in it.

We are also delighted that you will be returning to the Dornoch Castle! All of your comments help us to improve and grow each day. Nothing is too much trouble, and Dornoch as a whole is just beautiful!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Kind Regards
The staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fantastic hotel, wonderful staff and marvellous food! Booked a deal through travelzoo and not disappointed. Log fire in the bar just the tonic on a cold winter day. Rooms full of old fashioned charm. Can't wait for my next visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Good Evening Fiona H,

Thank you very much for your review.

All of your comments are very much appreciated! We all try to make our guests have a relaxing visit to the Dornoch Castle Hotel - and there is nothing better than knowing that our guests have really enjoyed themselves!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Dornoch Castle hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a great stay here on the itison voucher. Room was basic but comfortable, staff were very friendly and dinner was delicious! The barmans knowledge of booze is first class, which led us to get rather boozy sat in front of the roaring coal fire! The staff's honesty is rare and welcomed- when booking I was debating whether to bring my dogs. The receptionist advised that, if she were me, she'd leave the dogs at home as dogs are only permitted in the Garden Rooms and the rooms in the main castle are so much nicer. Having seen the Garden Rooms I have to say I'm glad she offered this advice. Also, at dinner (2 courses were included with the deal) my boyfriend and I were going to order cheeseboards. The waiter told us one board would be fine for 2 of us as there is quite a pile of cheese on it. This is true!! They just gave us one board and a few extra oatcakes. Considering we were on a voucher deal they could've squeezed any extra cash out of us but I found this honesty refreshing. We loved our stay, and dornoch is a beautiful wee village.
Would've happily paid full price for our night there, and if we're ever in the highlands again we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in main castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Good Afternoon Gem,

Thank you very much for your review!

We are all delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us! Especially the friendly staff, the comfort of your room and the dinner!

Your comments on our honesty are very highly valued as this is what we really aim for, and it is something that we all really take pride in too!

We hope that you will return to the Dornoch Castle Hotel soon!

Best Wishes
All of the staff at the Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is almost certainly on the site of the original Bishop's Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th Century, but it is not known when the oldest surviving part of the present building was put up. In 1557 the Palace was given to the Earl of Sutherland by his brother in law, Bishop Robert Stewart. It is clear that the building was erected before that date and may well be of the late 15th Century. The earliest surviving documentary evidence of the Palace is the Charter of 1557 by which the Bishop Robert appointed the Earl of Sutherland and his heirs to be hereditary Constables for Dornoch "situated in the Irish (Gaelic speaking) Country among the wild, unbridled, untamed and savage Scots". The appointment was made by the Bishop who was alarmed by the progress of the Lutheran doctrines and wished to safeguard the property of the Church by putting it temporarily in the care of his relations. He cannot have visualised that the Church would never own its property again. When the building passed into private hands in 1922 it was considerably modernised. Further extensive work was carried out after it became a hotel in 1947. Great care has been taken, however, to maintain the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable residence. This work continues now with the new owners who took over in June of 2000. They have gone some way to restore some of the former glory to this magnificent and fascinating historic building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dornoch Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.