We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sandy beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dornoch Beach

Dornoch Beach
Beach Road, Dornoch, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Dornoch
Attraction details
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice sandy beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went in the fall of 2011 on our honeymoon, so it was too cold to go swimming and we couldn't really judge how busy it would be when warmer, but it was still very nice to walk along it, collect shells and sit to watch/listen to the waves.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dornoch beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have been coming to Dornoch for many years and love the beach. It must've taken a battering over the winter storms and the new dunes are massive. Hopefully it will be returned to it's former glory soon. The beach at the left hand side of the car park is still immaculate

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Simply beautiful, peaceful and ideal for a stroll or for a look through the rock pools. I have been here summer and winter and always loved it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We visited on a perfect late winter day with blue sky, blue sea, snow-capped mountains in the distance, and miles of golden sand. Common scoter and eider swimming just offshore.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great sea and sky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

There are a variety of car parks around the area, depending if you want to walk by the beach, or across the sands to the Dornoch firth side. Easy access from Dornoch, footpath along the side of the golf course if you don't want to walk on the sand or if the tide is in. Big views of sky and sea - can walk along the beach a long way. Sometimes disturbed by the fighters practising bombing practice along the sea and firth

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dornoch Beach also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Golspie, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Golspie, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Dornoch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dornoch Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.